Page 1 of 1

prototype for rotatable dummy with render_layer?

Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2018 8:05 pm
by ownlyme
Hi,
I'm updating the transformers mod, which currently uses splitters for the base entity.
The problem is that splitters have a very low render_layer that can't be changed.
Does anybody know a better prototype?
Specifications:
- Rotatable
- Render layer of a normal building
- Constructable
- No energy consumption
- No pipes / wire connections
- (Optional: no gui that opens when you click it, or at least no configuration gui)

Re: prototype for rotatable dummy with render_layer?

Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2018 8:16 pm
by eradicator
"electric-energy-interface", because the last time i checked transformers still used some horrible boiler/steam/fluid hack :p.
Other than that, what is "simple-entity" missing from that list?

Re: prototype for rotatable dummy with render_layer?

Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2018 8:19 pm
by ownlyme
yeah my new hack still uses boilers+generators, but the only script load comes from refilling the fluid-box which can only hold 1000 water.
I think there is no other way of doing it because it should scale with the load on the target network.
You could use an assembling machine instead of the boiler, but that would make the consumer-side infrequent, jumping up and down in the energy consumption.
i tried simple-entity but couldn't figure out how to make it rotatable...

Re: prototype for rotatable dummy with render_layer?

Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2018 8:21 pm
by eradicator
It should be rotatable if it has pictures for each direction. If it only has one pictures it's not rotatable (as far as i remember).

Re: prototype for rotatable dummy with render_layer?

Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2018 8:22 pm
by ownlyme
this doesn't work:
pictures = {
{
filename = "__Transformers__/graphics/transformer/trafosprites-placer.png",
x = 233,
width = 233,
height = 155,
frame_count = 1,
shift = {2.6, -0.45}
},
{
filename = "__Transformers__/graphics/transformer/trafosprites-placer.png",
width = 233,
height = 155,
frame_count = 1,
shift = {1.5, -1.15}
},
{
filename = "__Transformers__/graphics/transformer/trafosprites-placer.png",
x = 699,
width = 233,
height = 155,
frame_count = 1,
shift = {2.6, -0.45}
},
{
filename = "__Transformers__/graphics/transformer/trafosprites-placer.png",
x = 466,
width = 233,
height = 155,
frame_count = 1,
shift = {1.5, -1.15}
},
},

Re: prototype for rotatable dummy with render_layer?

Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2018 8:23 pm
by eradicator
you're missing north=/south=/east=/west=

Re: prototype for rotatable dummy with render_layer?

Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2018 8:25 pm
by ownlyme
i had to remove those because it said "Key "filename" not found in property tree at ROOT.simple-entity.trafo-1-placer.pictures"

Re: prototype for rotatable dummy with render_layer?

Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2018 8:27 pm
by eradicator
hm......yea, can't find it in base files or wiki. But. You already have a boiler and a generator, right, why not use those?

edit: Also an assembler producing burnable fluid, out of thin air, with a one tick recipe, and forbidden beacon effects...should not produce spikes on the input side.

Re: prototype for rotatable dummy with render_layer?

Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2018 8:28 pm
by ownlyme
it shouldn't show up in the energy grid and not show a warning icon when energy is missing...
maybe i could use alert_icon_scale but it would still show up in the power grid ui...
brb trying something...

Re: prototype for rotatable dummy with render_layer?

Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2018 8:31 pm
by eradicator

Code: Select all

    energy_source =   {
      render_no_power_icon =  false ,
      render_no_network_icon = false,
  }
Though i do think it should show when it's not working. (Also see edit above)

Edit: Why should it not show up in the energy info GUI? My own implementation shows (paraphrased) "transformer input" on the input side, and "transformer output" on the output side.

bblater, eating something ;)

Re: prototype for rotatable dummy with render_layer?

Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2018 8:35 pm
by ownlyme
yeah maybe a burner-boiler with hidden alert icon could work.. trying it now
(but can't that one be opened by clicking?)

Re: prototype for rotatable dummy with render_layer?

Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2018 8:45 pm
by ownlyme
an electrical boiler works, with the flags you gave me there are almost no flaws anymore.
(only that the entire entity shows its boundings when hovering with a pole)
thank you very much.