How do you check for a mod being enabled in LUA?

Place to get help with not working mods / modding interface.
Vas
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter

How do you check for a mod being enabled in LUA?

Post by Vas »

I've been trying to check for a mod, rather than an item in a mod, but unsuccessfully so far. Something posted somewhere lead me to believe this would be the right way, but it wasn't. Currently, I get "else" every time.

Code: Select all

if game.active_mod["timed_technology"] then
		table.insert(kit,{name="lab",count=1})
	else
		table.insert(kit,{name="science-pack-1",count=50})
		table.insert(kit,{name="science-pack-2",count=50})
		table.insert(kit,{name="science-pack-3",count=50})
	end
You can get my mods by clicking here, and use discussions there or PMs here to suggest or report issues.
Want some blueprints made by me? Click here then!

Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff

Re: How do you check for a mod being enabled in LUA?

Post by Bilka »

I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

Vas
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter

Post by Vas »

Bilka. I'm sorry, but this doesn't help, as I've seen these pages before.

I've found the second link you gave when looking for a way to test for mods, thats how I learnt about active_mods in the first place... The page is very vague on how active_mods works, and doesn't specify anything about how it can be used other than to just generate a list of mods. I don't need a list, I need to know how to check if a mod is enabled.

The first link, I already know about data lifecycle, which has no bearing on this at all.

"dependencies": ["base >= 0.16.0", "? timed_technology"],

elseif ADD_EASY == "Research Equipment" then
	if game.active_mods["timed_technology"] then
	else
		table.insert(kit,{name="science-pack-1",count=50})
		table.insert(kit,{name="science-pack-2",count=50})
		table.insert(kit,{name="science-pack-3",count=50})