Question about hiding technologies in mods.

Place to get help with not working mods / modding interface.
Post Reply
Aubog007
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 6:44 pm
Contact:

Question about hiding technologies in mods.

Post by Aubog007 »

Is there any way when one mod overrides another's (or the base game"s) technology, that any mods that call for it, default to the one that overrode it?

Or else you get situations like this

Image

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Question about hiding technologies in mods.

Post by bobingabout »

That should already be the case... you can force it to overwrite if you specify the other mod as an optional dependency.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

Aubog007
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 6:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Question about hiding technologies in mods.

Post by Aubog007 »

So it's the mod's fault completely? there's coding to prevent this kind of mishap?

Because i want to know which mod is at fault.

User avatar
DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3700
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:06 am
Contact:

Re: Question about hiding technologies in mods.

Post by DaveMcW »

Your mod should:
1. Add the new tech in data.lua

The override mod should:
1. Do the changes in data-updates.lua
2. Loop through data.raw.technology and each prerequisites sub-table to update the prerequisites.

Post Reply

Return to “Modding help”