Page 1 of 1

a way to put custom data in blueprints?

Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 4:08 pm
by coltonj96
I have a mod that I need to have support for blueprints but I need to store custom data in the blueprint without using signals as the storage. Is there such a solution to my problem?

Re: a way to put custom data in blueprints?

Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 9:17 pm
by DaveMcW
constant-combinator signals are the best way. You can increase the number of slots if 18 is not enough.

Re: a way to put custom data in blueprints?

Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 9:19 pm
by coltonj96
DaveMcW wrote:constant-combinator signals are the best way. You can increase the number of slots if 18 is not enough.
That's the problem... My mod is UsefulCombinators, I need only enough for outputs and I use GUIs to input data. The mod itself uses Constant Combinators as a base entity

Re: a way to put custom data in blueprints?

Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 9:22 pm
by DaveMcW
So add a second constant-combinator for data storage.

Re: a way to put custom data in blueprints?

Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 9:30 pm
by coltonj96
DaveMcW wrote:So add a second constant-combinator for data storage.
What do you mean?

Re: a way to put custom data in blueprints?

Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 9:58 pm
by DaveMcW
Your data combinator must:
1. Be invisible
2. Be auto-built every time your UsefulCombinator is built

Then every time a UsefulCombinator is placed, it looks for a nearby data combinator and reads the settings.

See https://mods.factorio.com/mods/NiftyManiac/StickyNotes for an example of how to do it.

Re: a way to put custom data in blueprints?

Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 10:58 pm
by coltonj96
DaveMcW wrote:Your data combinator must:
1. Be invisible
2. Be auto-built every time your UsefulCombinator is built

Then every time a UsefulCombinator is placed, it looks for a nearby data combinator and reads the settings.

See https://mods.factorio.com/mods/NiftyManiac/StickyNotes for an example of how to do it.
But my mod adds 20 or so different combinators and making each one a separate storage for data is not very efficient

Re: a way to put custom data in blueprints?

Posted: Wed Jul 12, 2017 7:37 am
by darkfrei
coltonj96 wrote: But my mod adds 20 or so different combinators and making each one a separate storage for data is not very efficient
Which data do you need to store?

Re: a way to put custom data in blueprints?

Posted: Wed Jul 12, 2017 12:29 pm
by coltonj96
darkfrei wrote:
coltonj96 wrote: But my mod adds 20 or so different combinators and making each one a separate storage for data is not very efficient
Which data do you need to store?
I need to be able to store my custom table data in an entity/blueprint so that my mod has blueprint support