Page 1 of 1

No such node (north)

Posted: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:03 pm
by JohnnyDeee
[SOLVED: viewtopic.php?f=25&t=34433#p215872]

I'm trying to create an entity with

Code: Select all

type = "inserter"
but somehow i get this error on startup and i can't find any documentation on the node (north) on this page https://wiki.factorio.com/index.php?tit ... rm_picture

Here is my entities.lua
Open
And here is the error message i'm getting
Open
And last but not least, my log
Open
If anyone has any idea why this is happening, please tell me on this thread :)

Re: No such node (north)

Posted: Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:13 pm
by Nexela
Could it be related to missing circuit connector definitions?

Re: No such node (north)

Posted: Sun Oct 16, 2016 10:49 pm
by aubergine18
It means it's looking for a `north` property on one of the other properties in the prototype. Difficult to know which property exactly, as the error message doesn't currently state that information. I ran in to similar problem yesterday.

What is the value of `hand_base_picture` btw? It's very likely that if its value is a raw image (which would work for most of the hand pictures), it won't be valid as a sprite sheet (which is what the `platform_picture` expects by default). If the platform_picture doesn't get a sprite sheet, it will try looking for .north, .east, .south and .west properties instead, and that's probably where your error is coming from.

All of the vanilla inserters use a `sheet` property, but I know from experimentations that you can use north/east/south/west properties instead of a sheet. For reference, search for the "inserter" definitions in this data.raw dump and you'll see the different formats of the hand picture tables and the platform_picture table: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/auber ... r/data.raw

Re: No such node (north)

Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2016 8:45 am
by JohnnyDeee
aubergine18 wrote: What is the value of `hand_base_picture` btw? It's very likely that if its value is a raw image (which would work for most of the hand pictures), it won't be valid as a sprite sheet (which is what the `platform_picture` expects by default). If the platform_picture doesn't get a sprite sheet, it will try looking for .north, .east, .south and .west properties instead, and that's probably where your error is coming from.
Apparently trying to shorten my code by using

Code: Select all

property = other property
doesn't work..

So i changed all the pictures and shadows to this

Code: Select all

property = 
{
    filename = "",
    priority = "very-low",
    width = 0,
    height = 0
}
And that seems to work (dealing with other errors atm so i cant test it in game)

Thanks for your reply aubergine18

Re: No such node (north)

Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2016 12:20 pm
by aubergine18
If you ever need empty image, best way I've found is to use "__core__/graphics/empty.png" which is 1x1 pixel transparent image.

Re: No such node (north)

Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2016 6:28 pm
by JohnnyDeee
aubergine18 wrote:If you ever need empty image, best way I've found is to use "__core__/graphics/empty.png" which is 1x1 pixel transparent image.
Thanks! That will be usefull :)