Page 1 of 1

delete/disable prototype

Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2015 7:14 am
by Blu3wolf
G'day all!

Im curious as to how I would go about disabling a technology added in the base game. Similarly, a recipe, item, etc.

Ive worked out that I can modify the existing ones, but there are some I want to disable entirely. Is this possible? I tried just setting them to nil but that started giving errors on starting the game.

Cheers!

Re: delete/disable prototype

Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2015 9:32 am
by Choumiko
For recipes you could do sth. like (in data-final-fixes.lua or data-updates.lua)

Code: Select all

data.raw["recipe"]["train-stop"].enabled = false
local unlocks = data.raw["technology"]["automated-rail-transportation"].effects
for i, eff in pairs(effects) do
  if eff.name == "train-stop" then
    table.remove(data.raw["technology"]["automated-rail-transportation"].effects, i)
    break
  end
end
Or try what https://forums.factorio.com/wiki/inde ... ipe#hidden does, discovered it a few days ago
If you disable all recipes for items/entities you don't want there's no way to create them, so it sort of works.
For techs you don't want you could remove all effects/costs/prerequisites, that way they are useless and researched as soon as clicked. Not nice but works

Code: Select all

local makeMeUseless = data.raw["technology"]["automated-rail-transportation"]
makeMeUseless.unit=  {  count = 0,  ingredients =  {  },  time = 0}
makeMeUseless.prerequisites = nil
makeMeUseless.effects = nil

Re: delete/disable prototype

Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 1:23 am
by Blu3wolf
Ive made use of the hidden setting for recipes, but I see that one doesnt work for technologies. I guess Ill have to leave them visible in the tech list and modify the costs/effects as suggested.

Cheers for the help!

Re: delete/disable prototype

Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 4:35 pm
by Rseding91
Blu3wolf wrote:Ive made use of the hidden setting for recipes, but I see that one doesnt work for technologies. I guess Ill have to leave them visible in the tech list and modify the costs/effects as suggested.

Cheers for the help!
https://forums.factorio.com/wiki/inde ... gy#enabled

Re: delete/disable prototype

Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 6:47 pm
by Choumiko
Image
I'll start looking at the wiki first from now on :D

Re: delete/disable prototype

Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 7:05 pm
by ratchetfreak
looking at the return value of the help() usually also helps. There's one for each object.

Re: delete/disable prototype

Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 8:40 pm
by Rseding91
ratchetfreak wrote:looking at the return value of the help() usually also helps. There's one for each object.
The wiki is far more helpful than that output :) it's updated for 0.12 (all except the LuaEntity which i'll be updating shortly here).