Page 1 of 2
Error updating mod for Factorio 2.0
Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2024 9:04 am
by Keysivi
There is a mod "The Ruins Mod"
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/AbandonedRuins
Its author has disappeared and cannot be contacted.
I tried to update this mod myself for local use with Factorio 2.0 and Factorio: Space Age
An incomprehensible error occurred:
Code: Select all
0.643 Loading mod settings AbandonedRuins 1.1.6 (settings.lua)
0.646 Loading mod core 0.0.0 (data.lua)
0.668 Loading mod base 2.0.12 (data.lua)
0.888 Loading mod AbandonedRuins 1.1.6 (data.lua)
0.897 Loading mod elevated-rails 2.0.12 (data.lua)
0.926 Loading mod quality 2.0.12 (data.lua)
0.940 Loading mod space-age 2.0.12 (data.lua)
1.232 Loading mod base 2.0.12 (data-updates.lua)
1.247 Loading mod quality 2.0.12 (data-updates.lua)
1.269 Loading mod space-age 2.0.12 (data-updates.lua)
1.429 Checksum for core: 1043092351
1.429 Checksum of base: 3158838524
1.429 Checksum of AbandonedRuins: 1924087029
1.429 Checksum of elevated-rails: 4201662503
1.429 Checksum of quality: 4264147466
1.429 Checksum of space-age: 3246333523
1.681 Error ModManager.cpp:1738: Error while loading item prototype "AbandonedRuins-claim" (selection-tool): Key "select" not found in property tree at ROOT.selection-tool.AbandonedRuins-claim
Modifications: The Ruins Mod
Please tell me - what is this error and how to fix it?
Re: Error updating mod for Factorio 2.0
Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2024 9:37 am
by Xorimuth
https://github.com/tburrows13/factorio- ... ting-guide
Have you looked at the docs for selection tools in 2.0 and compared it to the 1.1 docs?
https://github.com/tburrows13/ModuleIns ... f9d76ad0c8 You might find this helpful.
Re: Error updating mod for Factorio 2.0
Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2024 9:55 am
by Keysivi
Thank you! I looked.
Unfortunately, the mod itself is non-standard... For example, I figured out the recipes myself.
And what is the error in this mod - it is not clear.
It has neither recipes nor images of units
Re: Error updating mod for Factorio 2.0
Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2024 10:00 am
by Keysivi
It complains about
selection-tool
But the only file with this parameter is data.lua
Here is the code:
Code: Select all
local base_util = require("__core__/lualib/util")
data.raw["utility-constants"]["default"].default_other_force_color = base_util.copy(data.raw["utility-constants"]["default"].default_enemy_force_color)
data:extend
{
{
type = "selection-tool",
name = "AbandonedRuins-claim",
icon = "__AbandonedRuins__/graphics/AbandonedRuins-claim.png",
icon_size = 64,
stack_size = 1,
selection_color = {1, 1, 1},
alt_selection_color = {1, 1, 1},
selection_mode = {"buildable-type", "not-same-force", "friend"},
alt_selection_mode = {"any-entity", "not-same-force", "friend"},
selection_cursor_box_type = "train-visualization",
alt_selection_cursor_box_type = "train-visualization",
always_include_tiles = true,
flags = {"only-in-cursor", "spawnable"}
},
{
type = "shortcut",
name = "AbandonedRuins-claim",
action = "spawn-item",
icon =
{
filename = "__AbandonedRuins__/graphics/AbandonedRuins-claim-shortcut.png",
size = 32
},
item_to_spawn = "AbandonedRuins-claim",
associated_control_input = "AbandonedRuins-claim"
},
{
type = "custom-input",
name = "AbandonedRuins-claim",
icon = "__AbandonedRuins__/graphics/AbandonedRuins-claim.png",
icon_size = 64,
key_sequence = "SHIFT + C",
action = "spawn-item",
item_to_spawn = "AbandonedRuins-claim"
}
}
It is not clear where the error is
Re: Error updating mod for Factorio 2.0
Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2024 10:00 am
by Bilka
Re: Error updating mod for Factorio 2.0
Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2024 10:53 am
by Keysivi
Bilka wrote: ↑Wed Nov 13, 2024 10:00 am
Damn, I disappeared?
Hello, Bilka! I'm glad you wrote to me!
It's just that comments on your mod's page are disabled, and there was no response to such a request on github.com..
Your mods are very interesting.... If possible, please update them!!! That would be just great!!!
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/AbandonedRuins
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/ruin-maker
Re: Error updating mod for Factorio 2.0
Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2024 2:47 pm
by Bilka
All there was on github for ruins mod was people pointing out the obvious, that the mods dont work in 2.0.
It's possible to update the mods, but over the years (among other things) the rude and occasionally demanding behaviour of the users of my mods has placed maintaining them pretty low on my priority list.
Re: Error updating mod for Factorio 2.0
Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2024 3:50 pm
by Keysivi
Bilka wrote: ↑Wed Nov 13, 2024 2:47 pm
All there was on github for ruins mod was people pointing out the obvious, that the mods dont work in 2.0.
It's possible to update the mods, but over the years (among other things) the rude and occasionally demanding behaviour of the users of my mods has placed maintaining them pretty low on my priority list.
Unfortunately, haters are the bane of any more or less popular product. And the more popular the product, the more haters there are among users...
It's just sad when a good mod dies because of the inadequate behavior of individual commentators.
Re: Error updating mod for Factorio 2.0
Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2024 7:52 pm
by Keysivi
I poked around a bit with your links and made a couple of corrections:
was:
Code: Select all
selection_color = {1, 1, 1},
selection_cursor_box_type = "train-visualization",
selection_mode = {"buildable-type", "not-same-force", "friend"},
alt_selection_color = {1, 1, 1},
alt_selection_cursor_box_type = "train-visualization",
alt_selection_mode = {"any-entity", "not-same-force", "friend"},
became:
Code: Select all
select = {
border_color = { r = 1, g = 1, b = 1 },
cursor_box_type = "train-visualization", -- Green
mode = {"buildable-type", "not-same-force", "friend"},
entity_type_filters = {},
},
alt_select = {
border_color = { r = 1, g = 1, b = 1 },
cursor_box_type = "train-visualization", -- Red
mode = {"any-entity", "not-same-force", "friend"},
entity_type_filters = {},
},
The only thing is, it's not clear what exactly to specify in the entity_type_filters parameter? Since there is no such parameter in the original mod
However, another error immediately popped up:
Code: Select all
14.549 Error ModManager.cpp:1738: Error while loading shortcut prototype "AbandonedRuins-claim" (shortcut): Value must be a string in property tree at ROOT.shortcut.AbandonedRuins-claim.icon
Modifications: The Ruins Mod
As I understand it, I should specify the location of the icons:
subgroup = "", order = "" ... But I have no idea at all - how to write this...
Re: Error updating mod for Factorio 2.0
Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2024 11:45 pm
by Xorimuth
Keysivi wrote: ↑Wed Nov 13, 2024 7:52 pm
I poked around a bit with your links and made a couple of corrections:
was:
Code: Select all
selection_color = {1, 1, 1},
selection_cursor_box_type = "train-visualization",
selection_mode = {"buildable-type", "not-same-force", "friend"},
alt_selection_color = {1, 1, 1},
alt_selection_cursor_box_type = "train-visualization",
alt_selection_mode = {"any-entity", "not-same-force", "friend"},
became:
Code: Select all
select = {
border_color = { r = 1, g = 1, b = 1 },
cursor_box_type = "train-visualization", -- Green
mode = {"buildable-type", "not-same-force", "friend"},
entity_type_filters = {},
},
alt_select = {
border_color = { r = 1, g = 1, b = 1 },
cursor_box_type = "train-visualization", -- Red
mode = {"any-entity", "not-same-force", "friend"},
entity_type_filters = {},
},
The only thing is, it's not clear what exactly to specify in the entity_type_filters parameter? Since there is no such parameter in the original mod
However, another error immediately popped up:
Code: Select all
14.549 Error ModManager.cpp:1738: Error while loading shortcut prototype "AbandonedRuins-claim" (shortcut): Value must be a string in property tree at ROOT.shortcut.AbandonedRuins-claim.icon
Modifications: The Ruins Mod
As I understand it, I should specify the location of the icons:
subgroup = "", order = "" ... But I have no idea at all - how to write this...
It’s all explained in the docs page for SelectionToolPrototype and ShortcutPrototype. The docs are linked in the “Important links” part of the 2.0 porting guide I sent you.
For quicker feedback you may also appreciate joining the #mod-dev-help channel in the official discord.
Re: Error updating mod for Factorio 2.0
Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2024 2:02 am
by Keysivi
Xorimuth wrote: ↑Wed Nov 13, 2024 11:45 pm
It’s all explained in the docs page for SelectionToolPrototype and ShortcutPrototype. The docs are linked in the “Important links” part of the 2.0 porting guide I sent you.
For quicker feedback you may also appreciate joining the #mod-dev-help channel in the official discord.
Thanks for the tips! I honestly tried to understand all this documentation, but it turned out to be too complicated for me...
I'm not a programmer... I just understand the code a little...
Let's hope that the author of this mod will update his mod...
Sorry for bothering me...
Re: Error updating mod for Factorio 2.0
Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2024 6:36 am
by Keysivi
Xorimuth wrote: ↑Wed Nov 13, 2024 11:45 pm
It’s all explained in the docs page for SelectionToolPrototype and ShortcutPrototype. The docs are linked in the “Important links” part of the 2.0 porting guide I sent you.
For quicker feedback you may also appreciate joining the #mod-dev-help channel in the official discord.
I was able to figure out the shortcut...
was:
Code: Select all
{
type = "shortcut",
name = "AbandonedRuins-claim",
action = "spawn-item",
icon =
{
filename = "__AbandonedRuins__/graphics/AbandonedRuins-claim-shortcut.png",
size = 32
},
item_to_spawn = "AbandonedRuins-claim",
associated_control_input = "AbandonedRuins-claim"
},
became:
Code: Select all
{
type = "shortcut",
name = "AbandonedRuins-claim",
order = "b[blueprints]-d[AbandonedRuins-claim]",
action = "spawn-item",
item_to_spawn = "AbandonedRuins-claim",
-- localised_name = {"shortcut.AbandonedRuins-claim"},
associated_control_input = "AbandonedRuins-claim"
icon = "__AbandonedRuins__/graphics/AbandonedRuins-claim-shortcut.png",
icon_size = 32,
},
But a new error appeared:
Code: Select all
262.848 Error AppManagerStates.cpp:2653: Мод The Ruins Mod (1.1.6) caused a fatal error.
Please report this error to the mod author.
Error while running event AbandonedRuins::on_init()
__AbandonedRuins__/utilities.lua:112: attempt to index global 'global' (a nil value)
stack traceback:
__AbandonedRuins__/utilities.lua:112: in function 'get_enemy_force'
__AbandonedRuins__/control.lua:25: in function <__AbandonedRuins__/control.lua:24>
It complains about this code:
Code: Select all
utilities.lua
----------------------------------------------------------
81 -- Set cease_fire status for all forces.
82 util.set_enemy_force_cease_fire = function(enemy_force, cease_fire)
83 for _, force in pairs(game.forces) do
84 if force ~= enemy_force then
85 force.set_cease_fire(enemy_force, cease_fire)
86 enemy_force.set_cease_fire(force, cease_fire)
87 end
88 end
89 end
90
91 -- Set cease_fire status for all forces and friend = true for all biter forces.
92 util.set_enemy_force_diplomacy = function(enemy_force, cease_fire)
93 for _, force in pairs(game.forces) do
94 if force.ai_controllable then
95 force.set_friend(enemy_force, true)
96 enemy_force.set_friend(force, true)
97 end
98 end
99 util.set_enemy_force_cease_fire(enemy_force, cease_fire)
100 end
101
102 local function setup_enemy_force()
103 local enemy_force = game.forces["AbandonedRuins:enemy"] or game.create_force("AbandonedRuins:enemy")
104
105 util.set_enemy_force_diplomacy(enemy_force, false)
106
107 global.enemy_force = enemy_force
108 return enemy_force
109 end
110
111 util.get_enemy_force = function()
112 if (global.enemy_force and global.enemy_force.valid) then
113 return global.enemy_force
114 end
115 return setup_enemy_force()
116 end
Specifically:
Code: Select all
112 if (global.enemy_force and global.enemy_force.valid) then
And about this code:
Code: Select all
control.lua
----------------------------------------------------------
24 local function init()
25 util.set_enemy_force_cease_fire(util.get_enemy_force(), not settings.global["AbandonedRuins-enemy-not-cease-fire"].value)
26 spawn_chances()
27 if global.spawn_ruins == nil then
28 global.spawn_ruins = true
29 end
30 global.ruin_queue = global.ruin_queue or {}
31 if not global.excluded_surfaces then
32 global.excluded_surfaces = {
33 ["beltlayer"] = true,
34 ["pipelayer"] = true,
35 ["Factory floor"] = true, -- factorissimo
36 ["ControlRoom"] = true -- mobile factory
37 }
38 end
39 end
Specifically:
Code: Select all
24 local function init()
25 util.set_enemy_force_cease_fire(util.get_enemy_force(), not settings.global["AbandonedRuins-enemy-not-cease-fire"].value)
This is a real disaster...
Re: Error updating mod for Factorio 2.0
Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2024 6:55 am
by Pi-C
Keysivi wrote: ↑Thu Nov 14, 2024 6:36 am
But a new error appeared:
Code: Select all
262.848 Error AppManagerStates.cpp:2653: Мод The Ruins Mod (1.1.6) caused a fatal error.
Please report this error to the mod author.
Error while running event AbandonedRuins::on_init()
__AbandonedRuins__/utilities.lua:112: attempt to index global 'global' (a nil value)
stack traceback:
__AbandonedRuins__/utilities.lua:112: in function 'get_enemy_force'
__AbandonedRuins__/control.lua:25: in function <__AbandonedRuins__/control.lua:24>
'global' has been renamed to 'storage'. You may want to check the
changelog for 2.0.7 (section 'Modding') and especially
the post covering 'Scripting', which covers quite a lot of things that have changed between Factorio 1.1 and 2.0.
Re: Error updating mod for Factorio 2.0
Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2024 10:53 am
by Keysivi
Pi-C wrote: ↑Thu Nov 14, 2024 6:55 am
'global' has been renamed to 'storage'. You may want to check the
changelog for 2.0.7 (section 'Modding') and especially
the post covering 'Scripting', which covers quite a lot of things that have changed between Factorio 1.1 and 2.0.
Thank you!
It seems that for me, resuscitation of this mod is a fight with "windmills"...
I can't program... As long as it concerned substituting data into ready-made tables, I still understood something.
But editing user scripts is already a "dark forest" for me... The further, the scarier it becomes...
I substituted 'storage' instead of 'global'. Now another error has appeared...
I think it's time to finish... I'm a bad "Don Quixote"...
Re: Error updating mod for Factorio 2.0
Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2024 11:34 am
by BlueTemplar
Xorimuth wrote: ↑Wed Nov 13, 2024 11:45 pm
[...]
For quicker feedback you may also appreciate joining the #mod-dev-help channel in the official discord.
Please don't do that (and don't suggest that), aside from using Discord being unethical (especially if you're a developer !), this guarantees that any help that could have been provided is black-holed in the Deep Web, unable to be found on the Open Web by other people (notably, by those using search engines, and by The Internet Archive bots),
and will disappear sooner or later.
P.S.: It's also isn't the official Discord (thankfully), and the way they have just decreed themselves to be «the» Factorio Discord chatroom (rather than «[insert group's name here]'s Discord chatroom» or something) is unseemly.
(I heard the founders are the moderators of «the» Factorio subreddit ? — same issue here BTW.)
Re: Error updating mod for Factorio 2.0
Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2024 11:40 am
by Xorimuth
BlueTemplar wrote: ↑Thu Nov 14, 2024 11:34 am
Xorimuth wrote: ↑Wed Nov 13, 2024 11:45 pm
[...]
For quicker feedback you may also appreciate joining the #mod-dev-help channel in the official discord.
Please don't do that (and don't suggest that), aside from using Discord being unethical (especially if you're a developer !), this guarantees that any help that could have been provided is black-holed in the Deep Web, unable to be found on the Open Web by other people (notably, by those using search engines, and by The Internet Archive bots),
and will disappear sooner or later.
Well… sure… but the level of handholding this user would need to get this mod ported is so great that I can’t see anyone willing to do it over this forum interface, whereas if they join the discord they stand an actual chance of getting the help that they need.
I don’t see this as a case of information locked behind discord (though there certainly _is_ plenty, both in and outside of factorio) - pretty much every piece of info you need is in the excellent modding docs, and for 2.0 specifically I put a lot of time into the public 2.0 porting guide I linked earlier which collates all the info you need in one place.
Re: Error updating mod for Factorio 2.0
Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2024 11:46 am
by BlueTemplar
That would be the «lore» part being blackholed, rather than (in this case) the «knowledge» part. (That shopkeeper metaphor seems to be also relevant here...)
Re: Error updating mod for Factorio 2.0
Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2024 11:49 am
by Xorimuth
BlueTemplar wrote: ↑Thu Nov 14, 2024 11:46 am
That would be the «lore» part being blackholed, rather than (in this case) the «knowledge» part.
Well I don’t exactly know what you mean about “lore” and I’m not sure I care. I guess we’ll have to agree to disagree. Not everything has to be available in perpetuity. And for something like porting mods from 1.1 to 2.0, I don’t think anyone will care to trawl through some handholding on this topic in 5 years time…
Re: Error updating mod for Factorio 2.0
Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2024 12:08 pm
by BlueTemplar
It's in the link, quite well written.
You can't possibly know what will be useful later, we all have blind spots, some things that might be obvious today (and therefore not said), might only be guessed later from additional clues (present in lore but not knowledge)...
Re: Error updating mod for Factorio 2.0
Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2024 4:33 pm
by Keysivi
I think there is no point in arguing about the discord. Since I am not the developer of this mod.
When I raised this issue, I did not expect that the amount of adjustments would be so significant.
Unfortunately, my level of competence does not allow me to work with scripts. And forcing someone to do the work for me would be unethical. I am closing the topic.
I apologize to everyone for the inconvenience.