[1.1.5] Priority splitter "hangs on" to item

Bugs that are actually features.
Post Reply
ronnocerman
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2020 7:54 pm
Contact:

[1.1.5] Priority splitter "hangs on" to item

Post by ronnocerman »

If you load a yellow splitter using a blue belt, then prioritize a lane that is backed up, the next item to reach the splitter will receive an item that the splitter was "holding onto".

Pictures attached, along with save that demonstrates this (and obligatory logs).

I expected the splitter to have already "resolved" the last split, and that the same item that was coming down the lane would be "split" onto the non-prioritized output lane. Instead, the splitter appears to "resolve" the last split when it receives the next item, causing the wrong item type to proceed down the lane.

I've noticed that this doesn't seem to occur with non-compressed belts, but this should be re-verified.

Since I'm trying to develop a system where multiple item types share the same lane (at different time intervals, gated via circuit network), this bug is messing up my attempts at doing so, because if the belt gets compressed at any point, it will cause mis-sorting.

After typing all this up, I decided to see what would happen if I remove the priority on the splitter. When I do, the splitter immediately releases the "held" item onto the (formerly unprioritized) lane. It does this as soon as I click to remove the priority, even with no further items being input to the splitter.
Attachments
factorio-current.log
(248.33 KiB) Downloaded 45 times
BugDemo.zip
Place a solar panel to demonstrate the bug.
(1.22 MiB) Downloaded 42 times
Initial state. Left side has been fully loaded using a compressing, faster belt.
Initial state. Left side has been fully loaded using a compressing, faster belt.
Bug1.png (812.23 KiB) Viewed 1331 times
Copper is placed onto belt.
Copper is placed onto belt.
Bug2.png (1017.08 KiB) Viewed 1331 times
Splitter "releases" iron it was holding onto. Starts holding onto the copper. (Bug)
Splitter "releases" iron it was holding onto. Starts holding onto the copper. (Bug)
Bug3.png (984.88 KiB) Viewed 1331 times
Loading an iron to show that the splitter is "holding onto" the last copper.
Loading an iron to show that the splitter is "holding onto" the last copper.
Bug4.png (1.27 MiB) Viewed 1331 times
Copper appears on the output belt. (Second demonstration of same bug)
Copper appears on the output belt. (Second demonstration of same bug)
Bug5.png (1.32 MiB) Viewed 1331 times

Jap2.0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2338
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:02 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1] Compressed(?), full belt with priority splitter causes splitter to "hang on" to a resource.

Post by Jap2.0 »

I'm fairly certain this is by design (splitters have a small internal buffer), let me look for a reference on that - I know there was some reason it was added.
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.

Jap2.0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2338
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:02 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1.5] Priority splitter "hangs on" to item

Post by Jap2.0 »

56446 is the closest I'm coming up with. I know I've seen something clearer elsewhere, if anyone else wants to jump in feel free.
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.

User avatar
disentius
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 659
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 3:17 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.5] Priority splitter "hangs on" to item

Post by disentius »

81421, 74273, might also be related.

User avatar
NotRexButCaesar
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1082
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 12:47 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1.5] Priority splitter "hangs on" to item

Post by NotRexButCaesar »

whatever the case, this is 100% not intuitive:
Attachments
1.jpg
1.jpg (98.3 KiB) Viewed 1078 times
: Alea jacta est. Think about why you are acting before you act.
Have you ever heard the gospel? Most have not.

Jap2.0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2338
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:02 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1.5] Priority splitter "hangs on" to item

Post by Jap2.0 »

AmericanPatriot wrote:
Wed Jan 06, 2021 5:28 am
whatever the case, this is 100% not intuitive:
I'm not sure what you're trying to get at, but it's not the same thing as this report is about.
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.

User avatar
NotRexButCaesar
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1082
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 12:47 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1.5] Priority splitter "hangs on" to item

Post by NotRexButCaesar »

I was responding to the content of the linked posts
: Alea jacta est. Think about why you are acting before you act.
Have you ever heard the gospel? Most have not.

Jap2.0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2338
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:02 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1.5] Priority splitter "hangs on" to item

Post by Jap2.0 »

AmericanPatriot wrote:
Wed Jan 06, 2021 11:05 pm
I was responding to the content of the linked posts
That is also not the same as any of the linked posts. If you think there's a bug, report it.
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8058
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1.5] Priority splitter "hangs on" to item

Post by kovarex »

A side effect of the tricks done in order to make the splitter work correctly (full compression in all situations etc.)

I consider this to not be a bug.

Post Reply

Return to “Not a bug”