Create update tool for old maps

Bugs that are actually features.
Post Reply
rasmh
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 1:45 pm
Contact:

Create update tool for old maps

Post by rasmh »

Hi,

A separate tool for updating maps before 0.18 to the new version would be appreciated.

I know you should get an old version of factorio and then update the map to 0.18, but i find the not user friendly.
How does that work with licensing ?

Regards,
Robert

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 4944
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Create update tool for old maps

Post by Klonan »

I guess you can use the headless server download to accomplish this, just need some wrapper script to load and save the games

rasmh
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 1:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Create update tool for old maps

Post by rasmh »

Thanks for the reply.

The headless server has a upgrade parameter --apply-upgrade.

My 0.18 version says it can upgrade from map version 0.16.0-0 (i think):
#~/Downloads/factorio$ ./bin/x64/factorio --version
Version: 0.18.47 (build 54412, linux64, headless)
Binary version: 64
Map input version: 0.16.0-0
Map output version: 0.18.47-0

But i get an error:
#/opt/factorio$ ./bin/x64/factorio --apply-update ./saves/mijnsave.zip
0.000 2020-12-12 10:44:09; Factorio 0.18.47 (build 54412, linux64, headless)
0.111 Operating system: Linux (Ubuntu 18.04)
0.111 Program arguments: "./bin/x64/factorio" "--start-server" "./saves/mijnsave.zip"
0.111 Read data path: /opt/factorio/data
0.111 Write data path: /opt/factorio [57316/100278MB]
0.111 Binaries path: /opt/factorio/bin
0.129 System info: [CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4440 CPU @ 3.10GHz, 3 cores, RAM: 3944 MB]
0.129 Environment: DISPLAY=:0 WAYLAND_DISPLAY=<unset> DESKTOP_SESSION=ubuntu XDG_SESSION_DESKTOP=ubuntu XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP=ubuntu:GNOME __GL_FSAA_MODE=<unset> __GL_LOG_MAX_ANISO=<unset> __GL_SYNC_TO_VBLANK=<unset> __GL_SORT_FBCONFIGS=<unset> __GL_YIELD=<unset>
0.129 Running in headless mode
0.131 Error Util.cpp:83: Cannot load base mod version 0.16.51 with game version 0.18.47. Update probably failed, please download the game again.

Am i doing something wrong ?

Regards

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12273
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Create update tool for old maps

Post by ssilk »

moved from suggestions to bugs -- ssilk
Sorry, it looked like a bug, I haven't tested it. :)
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

User avatar
invisus
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 5:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Create update tool for old maps

Post by invisus »

I have a load of old 0.17/0.18 saves and need (read: want) to get them updated. I went looking for parameters to load an older save, and possibly to have it resave... I'm probably missing something silly as I'm unfamiliar with running a factorio server, but I wasn't finding anything that caused the game to save the game after loading the old map.

https://wiki.factorio.com/Command_line_parameters

Anyone have any hints on what could be used?

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5076
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Create update tool for old maps

Post by posila »

--apply-update is for applying patch package to the game, not for migrating save files.

Also you can't just take 0.18.47 executable and put it to 0.16.51 folder and expect it to run ... thus "Cannot load base mod version 0.16.51 with game version 0.18.47"

Post Reply

Return to “Not a bug”