BUG - Map revealed when scenario loaded

Bugs that are actually features.
Post Reply
Omarflyjoemacky
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 10:56 pm
Contact:

BUG - Map revealed when scenario loaded

Post by Omarflyjoemacky »

Hello Dev's!

I'm playing with the map editor in .17, but when I go to test the scenario I've made, the explored areas of the map (areas created or explored in the editor) show up as already explored for the player. Verified in .16 that the map shows as unexplored when the scenario is loaded.
"And then Bender ran."

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13171
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: BUG - Map revealed when scenario loaded

Post by Rseding91 »

Thanks for the report however this is working as intended. The map editor is no different than a normal game just you can use the editing tools.

If you want to un-explore the explored area there are Lua commands that can do that.

I might in the future add some editing tools to do it through the GUI but for now there are other things to work on.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

Omarflyjoemacky
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 10:56 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG - Map revealed when scenario loaded

Post by Omarflyjoemacky »

Forgive me - I know you're a busy guy.

Like I mentioned, .16 did this automatically. I know nothing about Lua - can you help?
"And then Bender ran."

Omarflyjoemacky
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 10:56 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG - Map revealed when scenario loaded

Post by Omarflyjoemacky »

Thanks so much for your advice. Found a fix online.

/c local surface = game.player.surface;
game.player.force.cancel_charting(surface);
local chunk_radius = 32;
for chunk in surface.get_chunks() do
if (chunk.x < -chunk_radius or chunk.x > chunk_radius or chunk.y < -chunk_radius or chunk.y > chunk_radius) then
surface.delete_chunk(chunk)
end
end

Enjoy watching you bugfix on Twitch, btw. Thank you, thank you, thank you.
"And then Bender ran."

Omarflyjoemacky
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 10:56 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG - Map revealed when scenario loaded

Post by Omarflyjoemacky »

This command it turns out wipes everything you might have changed in a map. Frustrating.

Any advice? I know you're a busy guy. .16 hid the map automatically, I don't see how this is a feature on the new editor.
"And then Bender ran."

Post Reply

Return to “Not a bug”