[0.15.X] Dynamic recipe mods cause issues

Bugs that are actually features.
Post Reply
EmperorZelos
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 5:44 am
Contact:

[0.15.X] Dynamic recipe mods cause issues

Post by EmperorZelos »

My mod Omnimatter has dynamic recipes that can be changed and sometimes with mod settings and such for multiplayer, it says different content but same version number, when they all are equal.

TokMor
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 3:37 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15.X] Dynamic recipe mods cause issues

Post by TokMor »

For example, the attached mod settings file works fine when I host the server, but players are unable to join unless I send them the settings file. Expected result would be that they would download the settings from the server like other mods.
Attachments
omnimatter_1.1.2.zip
(7.99 MiB) Downloaded 67 times
mod-settings.json
(1.19 KiB) Downloaded 79 times
Last edited by TokMor on Thu Jun 01, 2017 4:36 am, edited 2 times in total.

EmperorZelos
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 5:44 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15.X] Dynamic recipe mods cause issues

Post by EmperorZelos »

Image

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 8285
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.X] Dynamic recipe mods cause issues

Post by Loewchen »

If you change a mod in any way, you need to provide the modified mod to the players beforehand or they will not be able to join, there is no way around that.

Nexela
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1828
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 11:09 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15.X] Dynamic recipe mods cause issues

Post by Nexela »

Code: Select all

if settings.startup["omnimatter-infinite"].value then
	require("prototypes.generation.omnite-inf")
end

Because you are doing things like that. Which is a no no. It changes the CRC of the mod which in turns means it won't think it is the same version unless everyone has the exact same settings to begin with.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13178
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15.X] Dynamic recipe mods cause issues

Post by Rseding91 »

Nexela wrote:

Code: Select all

if settings.startup["omnimatter-infinite"].value then
	require("prototypes.generation.omnite-inf")
end

Because you are doing things like that. Which is a no no. It changes the CRC of the mod which in turns means it won't think it is the same version unless everyone has the exact same settings to begin with.
Correct.

"require" all fines at all times and then conditionally add them to data.raw based off the settings.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

Post Reply

Return to “Not a bug”