[0.15.12] Large performance issue

Bugs that are actually features.
Post Reply
Fank
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 5:50 pm
Contact:

[0.15.12] Large performance issue

Post by Fank »

I'm and some friends are unable to join, or join very slow.
I can't speak for my friends, don't know what OS or hardware they have.
For me:
Image

What happens if i join on "catching up", while bar moves backward:
Image

I opened it so they devs may can take a look and find out what causes this performance issues, because 1 thread uses up to 100% is not normal.
I opened a issue about it before viewtopic.php?f=23&t=46851 but the issue increases, with playtime a lot.
Now it reached a point were it should be taken a look into it.

I only notice this issue on server, running in single player works fine.

Server config:

Code: Select all

# cat config/server-settings.json 
{
  "name": "Name of the game as it will appear in the game listing",
  "description": "Description of the game that will appear in the listing",
  "tags": ["game", "tags"],

  "_comment_max_players": "Maximum number of players allowed, admins can join even a full server. 0 means unlimited.",
  "max_players": 0,

  "_comment_visibility": ["public: Game will be published on the official Factorio matching server",
                          "lan: Game will be broadcast on LAN"],
  "visibility":
  {
    "public": false,
    "lan": false
  },

  "_comment_credentials": "Your factorio.com login credentials. Required for games with visibility public",
  "username": "",
  "password": "",

  "_comment_token": "Authentication token. May be used instead of 'password' above.",
  "token": "",

  "game_password": "",

  "_comment_require_user_verification": "When set to true, the server will only allow clients that have a valid Factorio.com account",
  "require_user_verification": false,

  "_comment_max_upload_in_kilobytes_per_second" : "optional, default value is 0. 0 means unlimited.",
  "max_upload_in_kilobytes_per_second": 0,

  "_comment_minimum_latency_in_ticks": "optional one tick is 16ms in default speed, default value is 0. 0 means no minimum.",
  "minimum_latency_in_ticks": 10,

  "_comment_ignore_player_limit_for_returning_players": "Players that played on this map already can join even when the max player limit was reached.",
  "ignore_player_limit_for_returning_players": false,

  "_comment_allow_commands": "possible values are, true, false and admins-only",
  "allow_commands": "admins-only",

  "_comment_autosave_interval": "Autosave interval in minutes",
  "autosave_interval": 10,

  "_comment_autosave_slots": "server autosave slots, it is cycled through when the server autosaves.",
  "autosave_slots": 50,

  "_comment_afk_autokick_interval": "How many minutes until someone is kicked when doing nothing, 0 for never.",
  "afk_autokick_interval": 0,

  "_comment_auto_pause": "Whether should the server be paused when no players are present.",
  "auto_pause": false,

  "only_admins_can_pause_the_game": false,

  "_comment_autosave_only_on_server": "Whether autosaves should be saved only on server or also on all connected clients. Default is true.",
  "autosave_only_on_server": true,

  "_comment_admins": "List of case insensitive usernames, that will be promoted immediately",
  "admins": ["Fank"]
}
Attachments
_autosave24.zip
(57.19 MiB) Downloaded 110 times
Last edited by Fank on Mon May 22, 2017 6:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 8301
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.12] Large performance issue

Post by Loewchen »

What are your FPS/UPS when running the map in single player?

Fank
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.12] Large performance issue

Post by Fank »

Singleplayer:
avg 49 min 40 max 55
Image

Both values are always the same.

Multiplayer:
With "game.speed = 0.8"

Image

UPS is always high, only fps drops extemly.

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 8301
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.12] Large performance issue

Post by Loewchen »

I am afraid I do not see anything suggesting a bug, when I run it in windows with a comparable CPU I get similar values, this map is simply too demanding to run it at 60 UPS on your machine (most hardware would not cope).

Fank
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.12] Large performance issue

Post by Fank »

Ok to reproduce try to join our server: fankserver.com
And tell me your UPS/FPS, because its only affected in multiplayer

Fank
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.12] Large performance issue

Post by Fank »

Here are some testings i did with nvidia linux graphic debugger to track the fps:
1. pic is small resolution (645x382)
2. pic is large resolution (1855x1056)

Code: Select all

game.speed = 0.7
Image
Image

Code: Select all

game.speed = 0.75
Image
Image

Code: Select all

game.speed = 0.8
Image
Image

So for what i noticed it that i have such smoother fps with lower resolution, i know that is a stupid sentence but. FPS drops and graphic card is not under load.
Currently i only have factorio version 0.15.12, need a binary for graphic debugging. and i only have the steam version which i can not debug. So need to wait until i can download 0.15.13 somewhere, for more up2date info.

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8078
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15.12] Large performance issue

Post by kovarex »

1) Make sure you don't use any debug options, they slow down the game a lot
2) Most of the time that slows down render is the preparation step of data gathering, which is CPU only. And even after that most of the work is done on CPU not GPU
3) Test it in singleplayer not multiplayer.

Fank
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.12] Large performance issue

Post by Fank »

1. All debug options are disabled.
2. ok
3. This issue only appears in multiplayer, singleplayer works fine everytime. Is it possible to do debugging in multiplayer, to determine where this issue came from?

Singleplayer with "game.speed = 1.0"
Image

Fank
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.12] Large performance issue

Post by Fank »

And the real problem is 0.85 and up

Code: Select all

game.speed = 0.85
Large is same as small
Image
The high peak was a save interval

Twinsen
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1330
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 7:10 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15.12] Large performance issue

Post by Twinsen »

Your base is simply too big and the CPU can't keep up.

Factorio entity update is single threaded so the server CPU has worse performance than your average Intel i7.
Using one thread and thus one core is normal for this type of application and it's normal to see one core at 100% when the savegame is too large. This is not a web server.

It's just about optimizing the game and there is no bug here.


I attached the performance benchmark for your savegame.
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (110.56 KiB) Viewed 5006 times

Fank
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.12] Large performance issue

Post by Fank »

@Twinsen thanks for the detailed information. Is it possible go do such performance breakdown on our own (your tree image), so we can better analyse our base and eliminate performance issues? If yes we also could share some data, if you want to. Because as is see the thread there are lot of views, so maybe other people are affectes which performance issues too.

nuhll
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 922
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 9:48 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.12] Large performance issue

Post by nuhll »

YOu can try to remove all enemys, it will help against lag.

Fank
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.12] Large performance issue

Post by Fank »

I know what to do, its just for debbing later.

Twinsen
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1330
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 7:10 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15.12] Large performance issue

Post by Twinsen »

That's done with the performance profiler inside Visual Studio. It might be possible to use it without the full source code since we provide the pdb with all the symbols, but I'm not sure.

Post Reply

Return to “Not a bug”