[0.14.5] Crash while game is paused (SOLVED: caused by Raptr overlay)

Bugs that are actually features.
Post Reply
Dave64738
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 10:37 pm
Contact:

[0.14.5] Crash while game is paused (SOLVED: caused by Raptr overlay)

Post by Dave64738 »

Saved game last night before I went to bed (i.e. Esc -> Save game -> Save, then switch monitor off), came to computer this morning about 8am, found Factorio had crashed, log file timestamp 06:41 so well over an hour before I switched the monitor on.

Mods listed in log file but I've also modified equipment-grid.lua 10s to 20s:
name = "large-equipment-grid",
width = 20,
height = 20,

Edit: sorry, savegame uploaded to Dropbox: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/ujo24iqdfrpp ... Lk0aa?dl=0
Attachments
factorio-current.log
(4.3 KiB) Downloaded 106 times

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8078
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: [0.14.5] Crash while game is paused

Post by kovarex »

Can you reproduce the issue? Unfortunately, the stack trace is weird and I have no idea how could I know what to fix based on that.

Dave64738
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.5] Crash while game is paused

Post by Dave64738 »

I do seem to get frequent crashes on pause since 0.14 and have had to load from autosave a few times. I'm off out a bit later, so I'll load up the savegame (i.e. the one I uploaded to DropBox), pause it then see what the state is when I get back.

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5202
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.5] Crash while game is paused

Post by posila »

Exception Code: c00000fd means stack overflow, hence no stack trace ... there was no space on stack left to generate it.
It also seems to crash outside of Factorio code, but since it was stack overflow, addresses might be bogus.

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8078
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: [0.14.5] Crash while game is paused

Post by kovarex »

posila wrote:Exception Code: c00000fd means stack overflow, hence no stack trace ... there was no space on stack left to generate it.
It also seems to crash outside of Factorio code, but since it was stack overflow, addresses might be bogus.
So, what does it mean? Isn't it a hardware issue?

Dave64738
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.5] Crash while game is paused

Post by Dave64738 »

Could just mean memory corruption - something somewhere has stamped all over the memory that someone else was using, maybe due to a buffer overflow, or some duff pointer arithmetic; these are very common problems in C++, and unfortunately very hard to troubleshoot as the symptoms often have absolutely nothing to do with the root cause.

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8078
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: [0.14.5] Crash while game is paused

Post by kovarex »

Dave64738 wrote:Could just mean memory corruption - something somewhere has stamped all over the memory that someone else was using, maybe due to a buffer overflow, or some duff pointer arithmetic; these are very common problems in C++, and unfortunately very hard to troubleshoot as the symptoms often have absolutely nothing to do with the root cause.
Yes, but since there not many reports like this, I suspect hardware/system failure.

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5202
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.5] Crash while game is paused

Post by posila »

kovarex wrote:
posila wrote:Exception Code: c00000fd means stack overflow, hence no stack trace ... there was no space on stack left to generate it.
It also seems to crash outside of Factorio code, but since it was stack overflow, addresses might be bogus.
So, what does it mean? Isn't it a hardware issue?
It might be something that we do (or Allegro does) causes infinite or very deep recursion in some system library or driver. It could be some overlay causing infinite recursion. I don't know ... minidump when this happens, would be helpful.

Dave64738
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.5] Crash while game is paused

Post by Dave64738 »

kovarex wrote:Can you reproduce the issue? Unfortunately, the stack trace is weird and I have no idea how could I know what to fix based on that.
Sort of - yes. Woke up this morning after doing the same; i.e. save the game then leave it in a paused state. This time the crash was at 03:41 (based on the log file timestamp). It's another stack overflow.

Couple of possible causes for a stack overflow: (1) Factorio has grown a lot, maybe the stack size is simply too small? (Although if this is the case then other users should be reporting the same.) In any case, doubling the stack size (as a test) would help rule this out. (2) a runaway process; maybe something in an infinite loop; in your play testing, do you leave Factorio running for days at a time, or do you exit after each play session? Could be that you just need to leave it running long enough; the timestamp of today's crash is 48241.942; yesterday's was 48199.737.

posila mentioned a minidump; how would I enable that?
I've taken a copy of the game state again just in case, but not uploaded it anywhere.
Attachments
factorio-current_Sep15.log
(4.88 KiB) Downloaded 100 times

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5202
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.5] Crash while game is paused

Post by posila »

As far as I know nobody on team leaves Factorio (or any other game ... except for Clicker Heroes that one time) running for days :)

Which of the paused states do you mean? Menu opened by ESC or hard pause invoked by Shift + Space? I'll try to reproduce it tonight.

Dave64738
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.5] Crash while game is paused

Post by Dave64738 »

It's the menu immediately after saving the game. Here's a screenshot.

BTW I'm also getting a very repeatable stack overflow about 2 minutes (timestamps: 122.116 121.529 118.537 120.708 121.746) into Factorio starting, if it is not the current application. So I click Start, then Factorio, then when the window appears, instead of waiting I click on Chrome and continue with email or whatever. Could be a different issue; shall I post it in a new thread? Log file attached.
Attachments
screenshot.png
screenshot.png (1.1 MiB) Viewed 5243 times
factorio-current_2min_stackoverflow.log
(3.73 KiB) Downloaded 108 times

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8078
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: [0.14.5] Crash while game is paused

Post by kovarex »

Dave64738 wrote: BTW I'm also getting a very repeatable stack overflow about 2 minutes (timestamps: 122.116 121.529 118.537 120.708 121.746) into Factorio starting, if it is not the current application. So I click Start, then Factorio, then when the window appears, instead of waiting I click on Chrome and continue with email or whatever. Could be a different issue; shall I post it in a new thread? Log file attached.
I guess that it is the same thing.

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5202
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.5] Crash while game is paused

Post by posila »

Yes, it is probably the same thing.
Can you open %APPDATA%\Factorio\config\config.ini and change force-opengl=true to

Code: Select all

force-opengl=false
I want to just rule out it is something in OpenGL codepath.

Dave64738
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.5] Crash while game is paused

Post by Dave64738 »

Still crashed at 120.416 with force-opengl=false.

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5202
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.5] Crash while game is paused

Post by posila »

Thanks. I am sceptical about being able to fix it on our side. If you feel like it, you can generate the minidump using tool procdump: https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sys ... 96900.aspx

Copy procdump64.exe to C:\Program Files\Factorio\bin\x64\ next to Factorio.exe.
Hit Win + R, and execute cmd to open command prompt.
use following commands

Code: Select all

cd "C:\Program Files\Factorio\bin\x64\"
procdump64 -t -x %APPDATA%\Factorio factorio.exe
it will lauch Factorio (procdump will ask you to agree with its EULA on the first run) and will make a minidump when it crashes. So make it crash.
Then the minidump will be located at %APPDATA%\Factorio ... it will be named something like factorio-run.exe_160915_205124.dmp (the number will be different, as it is date and time). Zip it and post it here, please.

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8078
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: [0.14.5] Crash while game is paused

Post by kovarex »

I would also advice to try to update all the drivers (mainly graphics card, video card and motherboard).

Dave64738
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.5] Crash while game is paused

Post by Dave64738 »

Oh well if this doesn't reproduce for you at all then there must be something wrong with my computer, if you've run it in the background for well over 2 minutes and it hasn't crashed. Anyway, minidump attached. Everything is fully up to date as far as I'm aware.
Attachments
factorio.exe_160915_220950.zip
(2.16 MiB) Downloaded 81 times

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5202
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.5] Crash while game is paused

Post by posila »

Thank you for the dump, I can finally see that it crashes in C:\Program Files (x86)\Raptr Inc\PlaysTV\ltc_game64-116096.dll which is a DLL that AMD Gaming Evolved injects into games to show its overlay.
The crashes should be fixed by simply disabling Raptr overlay https://steamcommunity.com/app/206190/d ... 931005910/

Dave64738
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.14.5] Crash while game is paused (SOLVED: caused by Raptr overlay)

Post by Dave64738 »

Thanks, that appears to have fixed the problem, in that it hasn't crashed for several days now foreground or background.
For anyone else's benefit who might experience this, there was a bit more to it; disabling Raptr wasn't enough on its own as Factorio was still loading the DLL.
Had to delete the DLL before the problem would stop.

Post Reply

Return to “Not a bug”