[13.11] Signal Color Priorities / Wrong Signal Color

Bugs that are actually features.
Post Reply
waduk
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:44 pm
Contact:

[13.11] Signal Color Priorities / Wrong Signal Color

Post by waduk »

If color signal were merging on a pole, the lamp showing wrong color.
They use priorities instead ? Red being the 1st priorities, cyan is the last ?
Look at the bottom left, i remove the red, and they show green color instead.
I assume the lamp color behavior should be like the one on the upper right corner even if they were merging on one pole.

So, is this a bug, or did i miss something ? We should separate color into different pole ?
Image

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 8308
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [13.11] Signal Color Priorities / Wrong Signal Color

Post by Loewchen »

Sending more than one colour signal to a lamp does not make sense in general, there is no "good" result.
NaB.

waduk
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [13.11] Signal Color Priorities / Wrong Signal Color

Post by waduk »

Loewchen wrote:Sending more than one colour signal to a lamp does not make sense in general, there is no "good" result.
NaB.
You don't get it,..this is only a simplified sample (for bug report). Not the actual build..d'oh...
Let's say i send color across landscape from/to outpost, each outpost emit different color. So, the electrical pole carries multiple signal.
This is common build, usually user send multiple signal.

So the question still stand, is this a lamp bug or limitation or known issue ?

How come this is not a bug ?

I mean, each lamp has different rule, but they show wrong color.
They lighten-up correctly if the true condition was achieved. Say blue signal->lighting blue lamp.
But the blue lamp show wrong color.

waduk
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [13.11] Signal Color Priorities / Wrong Signal Color

Post by waduk »

Here's a better explanation.
Let's say i want to make a simple notification which outpost is depleted.
So every outpost emit different color.
All that color from various other outpost were carried along inside electric pole, all the way to main base.
So in mainbase, i setup a simple lamp to lighten up if the condition were true [color]>0
Each lamp has different rule.


Although they lighten up correctly according to true condition, but the color they emit were not correct.

In this example below, blue signal were turned off.
The rest of the lamp have different set of rules.
The lamp info was the third lamp, it should lit yellow.
As you can see, they behave correctly when turning on and off, but the color were wrong.
Image

If you take a look at my image at the top of this post, if multiple color signal were exist, alhough the lamp able to read the signal correctly, the color were override by "higher color".
i assume red has priorities, while cyan has the lowest priority.

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 8308
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [13.11] Signal Color Priorities / Wrong Signal Color

Post by Loewchen »

The Enable condition does only that, enable or disable the lamp. The colour of the lamp is defined by the colour signal that reaches the lamp, if more than one colour signal reach the lamp then this is just bad design and not a bug.
If you want a lamp to only emit one colour or be off entirely, use a non colour signal as switch per lamp and a constant combinator for the colour signal directly connected.

waduk
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [13.11] Signal Color Priorities / Wrong Signal Color

Post by waduk »

How come this is not a bug if the lamp itself can distinguish color signal yet unable to show them ?
See ? Internally something went wrong here, and not bad design.
Sure player can use other way to show color, like converting some signal to color. But if it can be simplified, why not ?
It's a feature request then i guess.. :roll:

Bruce
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 2:25 pm
Contact:

Re: [13.11] Signal Color Priorities / Wrong Signal Color

Post by Bruce »

One very simple fix for this would be to use a decider combinator on each light with the for example cyan:
Input: Cyan > 0
Output: Cyan

That way only the Cyan signal is passed through, as a bonus you don't need to set up an enabled/disabled rule on the light.

Post Reply

Return to “Not a bug”