[0.12.30] [kovarex] Inserting items on a full belt

Bugs that are actually features.
Post Reply
Djanx
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 11:58 pm
Contact:

[0.12.30] [kovarex] Inserting items on a full belt

Post by Djanx »

Image

In the picture you can see the circled smelters producing, while the rest are idle because they are full of plates. The longhanded inserters from the circled smelters are able to output to the exit portion of the underground belt, even though it's already compressed when passing by them. I've tried replacing both underground belt and inserter, and it produces the same behaviour. Something that seems even more strange to me is the fact that in my copper smelting, all inserters outputting to the underground belt exit are doing as explained, but in my identical iron smelter only a few of them are doing it.

I haven't figured out a good way to determine if the plates are actually put onto the belt, or if they disappear into the void.

Dropbox link of save: https://www.dropbox.com/s/a9dgrruqy32y9 ... t.zip?dl=0

-Djanx

DevilXD
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:47 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.30] Inserting items on a full belt

Post by DevilXD »

It's because the underground belts can compress the belt just like splitters can do.

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5039
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.30] Inserting items on a full belt

Post by Klonan »

Thanks for the report,

Can report this happens with the save you provided at least:

https://gfycat.com/OrderlyGrimyGalapagoshawk

Not sure if its a bug, but i will leave that to someone else to decide :)

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8058
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.30] [kovarex] Inserting items on a full belt

Post by kovarex »

I gave this a thought, and there is kind of deep reason why it is behaving like this, and by changing it, other things would break. So I'm keeping it as it is, as it is questionable whether it is even a bug.

Aru
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:31 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.30] [kovarex] Inserting items on a full belt

Post by Aru »

So, are they disappearing? Or truly being compressed? First is bad, second is awesome.

DevilXD
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:47 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.30] [kovarex] Inserting items on a full belt

Post by DevilXD »

They are being compressed. I saw somewhere on reddit a furnace design that used that technique to make a fully compressed express transport belt without splitters.

Post Reply

Return to “Not a bug”