[0.16.51] Logistic robots "stuck" in delivering goods

Bugs that are actually features.
Post Reply
Moppymoppy
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 7:52 pm
Contact:

[0.16.51] Logistic robots "stuck" in delivering goods

Post by Moppymoppy » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:20 pm

Your logistic robots can get stuck in the delivery process of items from a chest to your own inventory.

Descovered on version 0.16.51 (win64) build 36654.

Prerequisites:
1. Have a chest with 50 coal in it

Steps to reproduce this issue:
1. Request 50 coal
2. Before the robots deliver these goods to you, you pick up the 50 coal from the chest
3. (Also before the robots deliver the goods) You leave the 'delivery'-zone of your roboport.
4. You will now see a yellow warning regarding network capacity is not sufficient.
5. Re-enter the 'delivery'-zone of your roboport

Expected results:
Robots en-route will continue to deliver the goods

Actual results:
Robots stop moving and hover on the same location as where they were when you left the 'delivery'-zone of the roboport.
When their battery is out, they will fly to a roboport to recharge and remain there indefinetly.
You can fix this issue by increasing your "Request" or removing the coal from your inventory.

(I used coal as an example, but it can be reproduced with other matherials aswell).

Please let me know if you need further information :)

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4740
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Logistic robots "stuck" in delivering goods

Post by Loewchen » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:56 pm

They are not stuck simply because you left the logistic zone, they only get stuck because you have no logistic storage for the bots available to drop their items in, which the game even warns you about, if you have logistic storage available as you need to for the logistic system to work properly they will drop it off and return to the port without problem. NaB.

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3304
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Logistic robots "stuck" in delivering goods

Post by orzelek » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:57 pm

Or add a storage chest so robots have space to put the coal back and can happily go back to roboport after that.

Feldreal
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 4:07 am
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Logistic robots "stuck" in delivering goods

Post by Feldreal » Sat Jan 26, 2019 4:10 am

NO. They are stuck, not because i dont have enough storage chest. How do i know this?

Because i have a 50 empty storage chests besides the damn roboport.

Zavian
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1281
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Logistic robots "stuck" in delivering goods

Post by Zavian » Sat Jan 26, 2019 4:40 am

Upload a vanilla save that demonstrates the bots being stuck. (With empty storage chests).

Feldreal
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 4:07 am
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Logistic robots "stuck" in delivering goods

Post by Feldreal » Sat Jan 26, 2019 9:16 am

Please enlighten my stupid ass. rather frustrated on this

User avatar
Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1156
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:20 am
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Logistic robots "stuck" in delivering goods

Post by Bilka » Sat Jan 26, 2019 9:29 am

Your save seems completely normal to me. You have a lot of robots that are charging, but they all have a task that they are going for, meaning that they are not stuck.
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

Feldreal
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 4:07 am
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Logistic robots "stuck" in delivering goods

Post by Feldreal » Sat Jan 26, 2019 10:35 am

yeah you are correct they do have task on hand. but do they suppose to just hover around the robot port for a while?. like on this [https://imgur.com/tatWlef. the robot only wait in circle around the roboport and they have 0 battery. i thought they suppose to drop their items and go another task immediately.


edit: thank you for the swift responses ever.

User avatar
Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1156
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:20 am
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Logistic robots "stuck" in delivering goods

Post by Bilka » Sat Jan 26, 2019 10:39 am

A roboport can only charge 4 robots at once, so the rest of the robots are waiting for their turn.
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

Post Reply

Return to “Not a bug”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests