[Posila] [0.16.36] Restart regenerates the map layout.

Bugs that are actually features.
redcrate
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2018 7:42 am

[Posila] [0.16.36] Restart regenerates the map layout.

Post by redcrate » Thu Apr 19, 2018 8:10 am

Hello,

After spending a lot of time regenerating maps to find one I like, I began to play, I did not like some of the paths I had chosen and figured why not just restart.

Unfortunately, restarting also regenerated the map instead of just starting me at the beginning of the same map and with starting resources.
I am unsure if this also changed the basic/resource/terrain/advanced settings I had chosen, or just the map layout.

My expected behavior of what restart would do is that it would preserve the map layout and settings and start you with the starting game resources/tech like in campaign play.

This occurs in both new game and scenario play.

Thank you,
Andy

Dominik
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 205
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 9:08 am

Re: [0.16.36] Restart regenerates the map layout.

Post by Dominik » Thu Apr 19, 2018 8:55 am

I agree, it also surprised me.

User avatar
Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1066
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:20 am

Re: [0.16.36] Restart regenerates the map layout.

Post by Bilka » Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:49 am

Restarting does preserve the settings except for the seed, just like clicking regenerate in the map preview.

Opinion ahead: The point of restarting is that you get a new map. Otherwise you cant tell people with island spawns to just click restart. If you want the exact same map, just copy the map exchange string and generate a map with that.
Last edited by Bilka on Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:51 am, edited 2 times in total.
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3281
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm

Re: [0.16.36] Restart regenerates the map layout.

Post by Klonan » Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:50 am

Before the map preview, this was sort of nice behaviour, as you could just hit 'restart' and it would roll another seed

I suppose now it is not necessary to work like this, I would not be against changing this behaviour to restarting the same seed

Zavian
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1127
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:57 am

Re: [0.16.36] Restart regenerates the map layout.

Post by Zavian » Thu Apr 19, 2018 10:23 am

Well even if everything looks good from the map preview, you can still have an unplayable island spawn. eg Image

Jap2.0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1749
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:02 am

Re: [0.16.36] Restart regenerates the map layout.

Post by Jap2.0 » Thu Apr 19, 2018 10:37 am

Why not both :P ?
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2579
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am

Re: [0.16.36] Restart regenerates the map layout.

Post by mrvn » Thu Apr 19, 2018 10:47 am

The restart could open the map preview with the current seed, Then if you didn't like it you click regenrate at the bottom for a new seed. Or you hit "Play again" (relabel the generate button) to play the same map again.

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4681
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm

Re: [0.16.36] Restart regenerates the map layout.

Post by Loewchen » Thu Apr 19, 2018 1:18 pm

I would argue that restarting to get another seed is still way more common than restarting to get another try with the exact same map.

kitcat
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 3:11 pm

Re: [0.16.36] Restart regenerates the map layout.

Post by kitcat » Thu Apr 19, 2018 1:58 pm

Offering the choices “New map”, “Same map” and “Cancel” should be pretty simple, I think.

Aeternus
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 829
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2017 2:10 am

Re: [0.16.36] Restart regenerates the map layout.

Post by Aeternus » Thu Apr 19, 2018 2:29 pm

Roundabout way to solve it but you can view the map seed from any save I believe (at work so can't check). Then enter that seed into he map generator and you -should- get the same map again.

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2579
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am

Re: [0.16.36] Restart regenerates the map layout.

Post by mrvn » Thu Apr 19, 2018 2:35 pm

Aeternus wrote:Roundabout way to solve it but you can view the map seed from any save I believe (at work so can't check). Then enter that seed into he map generator and you -should- get the same map again.
You have to save the current map, quit the map, go to load map, copy the map seed, cancel, go to new game, paste map seed and then generate the map.

Certainly much more work than a "Restart this map" button.

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 2755
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: [Posila] [0.16.36] Restart regenerates the map layout.

Post by posila » Thu Apr 26, 2018 1:41 pm

The thing is, I think generating with new seed is more useful for button in the pause menu, but I acknowledge the label is misleading and the most people will think it will start over the exact same map. Especially since that is what happens in campaign and scenarios with pregenerated map.

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2579
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am

Re: [Posila] [0.16.36] Restart regenerates the map layout.

Post by mrvn » Thu Apr 26, 2018 1:45 pm

I think both cases are valid. But playing the same map again is way harder to do than playing a new map with the same settings. For the later you just quit, new game, generate. Not sure if that needs a shortcut.

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2604
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am

Re: [0.16.36] Restart regenerates the map layout.

Post by eradicator » Thu Apr 26, 2018 2:51 pm

Klonan wrote:Before the map preview, this was sort of nice behaviour, as you could just hit 'restart' and it would roll another seed

I suppose now it is not necessary to work like this, I would not be against changing this behaviour to restarting the same seed
You could make it a setting (possibly hidden in the config) "randomize-map-seed-on-restart=false".

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 7982
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am

Re: [Posila] [0.16.36] Restart regenerates the map layout.

Post by Rseding91 » Tue Oct 02, 2018 8:17 pm

Moved to Not a bug. That's what "Restart" is built to do: re-generate the map with the same settings but a new seed.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on IRC and Discord.

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2579
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am

Re: [Posila] [0.16.36] Restart regenerates the map layout.

Post by mrvn » Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:34 am

We still want a "play this map again" option though.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 7982
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am

Re: [Posila] [0.16.36] Restart regenerates the map layout.

Post by Rseding91 » Mon Oct 08, 2018 7:04 pm

mrvn wrote:
Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:34 am
We still want a "play this map again" option though.
That's what the map exchange string is for.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on IRC and Discord.

epr
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 7:36 pm

Re: [Posila] [0.16.36] Restart regenerates the map layout.

Post by epr » Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:37 pm

Personally, I would prefer the "Restart" option to keep the same map seed with an additional "Regenerate" button.

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2579
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am

Re: [Posila] [0.16.36] Restart regenerates the map layout.

Post by mrvn » Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:00 am

Rseding91 wrote:
Mon Oct 08, 2018 7:04 pm
mrvn wrote:
Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:34 am
We still want a "play this map again" option though.
That's what the map exchange string is for.
That requires saving, quiting, going into the load dialog, copying the map exchange string, going back, starting new game, copy the map exchange string and hitting generate.

Way too complex for something people expect the "restart" button to do in the first place.

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2604
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am

Re: [Posila] [0.16.36] Restart regenerates the map layout.

Post by eradicator » Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:52 am

If the GUI is being updated anyway, why not add an extra option to the already existant confirmation dialoge when restarting?
dialogue.png
dialogue.png (70.3 KiB) Viewed 234 times
Author of: Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Hotkey 2.0
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English

Post Reply

Return to “Not a bug”