[0.15.36] Deconstruction planner behavior

Bugs that are actually features.

[0.15.36] Deconstruction planner behavior

Postby daniel34 » Tue Oct 10, 2017 6:10 pm

Steps to replicate:
  • Cut a tree and harvest fish
  • Press B (or open the blueprint menu) and get a deconstruction planner
  • Right-click the deconstruction planner
You can now drag-and-drop* items that should be filtered. However when trying to drag-and-drop wood or fish then the selection dialog pops up.

Expected result: Wood and Fish should work as filters, since they both occur as visible items.

(*) in this case drag-and-drop means clicking the source item, then clicking the target place.
daniel34
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2720
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 7:30 am
Location: Austria

Re: [0.15.36] Deconstruction planner behavior

Postby Rseding91 » Tue Oct 10, 2017 6:35 pm

Thanks for the report however this is working as intended. The wood item and fish item don't build wood or fish so the game has no way to know that's what you want to filter. Multiple types of trees produce the same wood and multiple types of fish can produce the same fish item (should multiple fish exist).

The "select by the item in the cursor" mechanic works off the thing the item builds and in those two instances they don't build anything so they don't select anything.

You have to use the normal pop-up GUI to select the corresponding entities you want selected.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on IRC and Discord.
Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 6333
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am

Re: [0.15.36] Deconstruction planner behavior

Postby quyxkh » Tue Oct 10, 2017 7:49 pm

Would adding any entities that produce the item as a `minable.result` (as well as any entity with the item's name) cause a problem?
quyxkh
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 9:01 am
Location: California

Re: [0.15.36] Deconstruction planner behavior

Postby Rseding91 » Tue Oct 10, 2017 8:39 pm

quyxkh wrote:Would adding any entities that produce the item as a `minable.result` (as well as any entity with the item's name) cause a problem?


There are already entities that produce the items as a minable.result - that's how you get the items now :)
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on IRC and Discord.
Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 6333
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am

Re: [0.15.36] Deconstruction planner behavior

Postby quyxkh » Tue Oct 10, 2017 8:51 pm

Sorry, I meant to say when you drop an item on the decon-planner gui it adds filters not just for entities that item constructs to but also entities that deconstruct to it when mined, so dropping raw-wood adds all the trees to the decon filter because their minable.result is raw-wood, stone adds the big rocks whatever they're called, etc.
quyxkh
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 9:01 am
Location: California

Re: [0.15.36] Deconstruction planner behavior

Postby fractalman » Wed Oct 11, 2017 7:35 am

Y'know, in principle, it SHOULD be possible to make it work that way-when (ab)using the upgrade planner mod, if you tell it to replace "wood" with "deconstruction planner", it successfully deletes all trees highlighted, and sends the wood to your inventory.
fractalman
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2016 10:07 pm

Re: [0.15.36] Deconstruction planner behavior

Postby starxplor » Wed Nov 22, 2017 7:30 am

Rseding91 wrote:Thanks for the report however this is working as intended. The wood item and fish item don't build wood or fish so the game has no way to know that's what you want to filter. Multiple types of trees produce the same wood and multiple types of fish can produce the same fish item (should multiple fish exist).

The "select by the item in the cursor" mechanic works off the thing the item builds and in those two instances they don't build anything so they don't select anything.

You have to use the normal pop-up GUI to select the corresponding entities you want selected.


Scenario:
1) Have full inventory.
2) Assembly machine has a full stack of one component needed for crafting operation (like iron gears).
3) Click the button to change what the machine crafts.
4) Watch ground get covered with items, some 'hidden' under the edge of various machines.
5) Pull out trusty deconstruction planner to tell your bots to pick up the mess
6) Find out you cannot put iron gears as a filter on the planner even though area selection allows marking items on the ground for collection.

Any chance this will be fixed? With mods, the 'stack' of items can become literally thousands of items, which are a problem in an array of assembly machines.
starxplor
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 11:25 pm

Re: [0.15.36] Deconstruction planner behavior

Postby Rseding91 » Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:15 am

starxplor wrote:Any chance this will be fixed? With mods, the 'stack' of items can become literally thousands of items, which are a problem in an array of assembly machines.


No, item-on-ground is the entity type which exists as a filter you can select under the "other" category. The item the entity holds has no baring on the deconstruction planner filters.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on IRC and Discord.
Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
 
Posts: 6333
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am

Re: [0.15.36] Deconstruction planner behavior

Postby starxplor » Thu Nov 23, 2017 4:37 am

Edit: I see, there is a catch all for item on ground. Thanks.
starxplor
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 11:25 pm


Return to Not a bug

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests