Allow changing of default preset for basic_settings in map-gen-presets

Things that we aren't going to implement
Post Reply
Raelf
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 4:01 pm
Contact:

Allow changing of default preset for basic_settings in map-gen-presets

Post by Raelf »

Hello,

I tried to change the basic_settings for alle defines map-gen-presets. My intension for this is that I'm implementing a second planet with different terrains and additional resources.
For changing the default settings I tried this:

Code: Select all

data.raw["map-gen-presets"].default["default"].basic_settings = { autoplace_controls = { ["helium3"] = {size = "none"}, ["moon-sand"] = {size = "none"} } }
I'm getting this error when I starting Factorio now:

Code: Select all

Error while loading map-gen-presets prototype "default": The default preset can't have any settings defined.
I see how this is making sense for nearly all mods, but for me it makes it harder now.

Would there be any posibility to remove that check or adding a setting that I can allow overriding it?
For example something like:

Code: Select all

data.raw["map-gen-presets"].default["default"].allow_basic_settings = true
Thanks for helping and best wishes,
Ralf

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2633
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Allow changing of default preset for basic_settings in map-gen-presets

Post by steinio »

Then it wouldn't be a default anymore.
Image

Transport Belt Repair Man

View unread Posts

Raelf
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 4:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Allow changing of default preset for basic_settings in map-gen-presets

Post by Raelf »

Why not? Sure, it wouldn’t be the Factorio default value anymore.
But it would be nice if I could set the default values for my mod by myself.

To achieve it now, I need to manipulate the presets after starting a game. So it’s already kinda possible to modify the default values. Just that the player is not seeing what’s going on. Additionally the map preview generation will not show the then generated surface.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13198
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: Allow changing of default preset for basic_settings in map-gen-presets

Post by Rseding91 »

Default in the map gen presets is "not changed by anyone or anything".

No one is allowed to change any values on the default preset.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

Raelf
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 4:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Allow changing of default preset for basic_settings in map-gen-presets

Post by Raelf »

Is it somehow possible to add a default value at the resource entity itself.
But then it would be also a change of the default value.
Seems like I need to stay with the update of the surface settings after the game start.
Thank you for answering.

Post Reply

Return to “Won't implement”