pY Alien Life - Discussion

pyanodon's mods are here

Moderator: pyanodon

Post Reply
mrbaggins
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 9:08 am
Contact:

Re: pY Alien Life - Discussion

Post by mrbaggins »

Just tossing up if I want to do something like go all in on something cheap for all the basics, only branching out for stuff like Arqad honey / chitini / milk etc.

kingarthur
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1426
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 11:39 am
Contact:

Re: pY Alien Life - Discussion

Post by kingarthur »

mrbaggins wrote: ↑
Sat Nov 28, 2020 5:49 am
Just tossing up if I want to do something like go all in on something cheap for all the basics, only branching out for stuff like Arqad honey / chitini / milk etc.
if your not worried about going for full math porn then can just pick whichever one you feel gets the job done and go with it. by the time you go thru the effort to maximize every single thing you'd already have what you needed from which ever you start with and theres upgrades to make everything better anyway. as you move along we require the different plants and animals for things that you have to do so your not really getting out of making most of them anyway.

Memoria
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2019 6:49 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Alien Life - Discussion

Post by Memoria »

Heya, just wanted to report a small bug concerning cottonguts stage 4: when unlocking it you unlock advanced recipes for automation, logistic, chemical and py science (so far thats working as expected). The problem is that the recipes for automation science and py science don't have any buildings that can craft them. I assume they should be made in the Research Center? Its probably an easy fix and just the crafting category missing.

Thanks for the great mods and all of the work you put in, anyway!

mrbaggins
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 9:08 am
Contact:

Re: pY Alien Life - Discussion

Post by mrbaggins »

Cheers kingarthur

Unrelated: I seem to be getting stutters when moving quickly around my base. My ticks in the debug info seem perfectly fine, and my cpu load isn't particularly noteworthy. Sitting still completely solves it. Zooming right in does too. I have 16GB RAM, so don't believe it's a paging issue. I suspect it's texture streaming because:

However, my VRAM is capped (or close to). Curious what Graphics settings people playing pymods (and notably PyAL) may have adjusted to to make things work. I'm on a 970, which is 3.5-4GB VRAM. I decided to turn down the rotation sprites because that apparently "makes a drastic difference" in the tooltip.

So yeah, has anyone else seen this? I suspect the PyAL graphics are my problem. Wondering if people have adjusted their texture atlas, streaming or size settings to anything in particular.

Memoria
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2019 6:49 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Alien Life - Discussion

Post by Memoria »

I'm having the same issue (GTX 980 on my end) but didn't find a workaround yet. I sometimes have that problem with other mods too tho (or at least I remember it doing the same thing when playing Space Exploration, which is another rather graphics heavy mod). I'll play around with my graphics settings and let you know if something helps

Cheers Memoria

factoriogame1121
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 6:31 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Alien Life - Discussion

Post by factoriogame1121 »

When you right-click on "Ocula", a fatal error occurs (version of Alien Life 1.9.12). Unfortunately, I didn't figure out how to attach a screenshot.

Memoria
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2019 6:49 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Alien Life - Discussion

Post by Memoria »

Heya,
does anyone know how to tell hellmod to not show recipes that arent unlockable? For example there are several advanced recipes that require chlorinated water. Chlorinated water is not unlocked from the start and there is no technology that unlocks it (in the .lua files it says its unlocked by a technology "moss" which - as per the comment in the code - doesnt exist). Now I started to plan my moss production only to find out that what I wanted to do isnt possible. So can I tell hellmod to not show these recipes (I do realize this is more of a hellmod question, but perhaps somebody else has made the same experience) or is there maybe even going to be update soon where these recipes are going to be accessible?

Thanks a lot
Memoria

mrbaggins
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 9:08 am
Contact:

Re: pY Alien Life - Discussion

Post by mrbaggins »

I've never noticed that in Helmod.

But I run with "show disabled" and "Show hidden" off, as I only want recipes I can *currently* use to show up.

If you have those enabled, I don't know. If you don't, I don't know how or what you're seeing (and I'm not at home atm to check my game for chlorinated water)

mrbaggins
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 9:08 am
Contact:

Re: pY Alien Life - Discussion

Post by mrbaggins »

Memoria wrote: ↑
Mon Nov 30, 2020 9:37 am
I'm having the same issue (GTX 980 on my end) but didn't find a workaround yet. I sometimes have that problem with other mods too tho (or at least I remember it doing the same thing when playing Space Exploration, which is another rather graphics heavy mod). I'll play around with my graphics settings and let you know if something helps

Cheers Memoria
Fyi, turning off the rotations one (I forget the exact name, but it specifically mentions train rotation sprite animations in the tooltip) massively improved my situation.

Still playing with the others

Memoria
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2019 6:49 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Alien Life - Discussion

Post by Memoria »

mrbaggins wrote: ↑
Wed Dec 02, 2020 2:50 am
Memoria wrote: ↑
Mon Nov 30, 2020 9:37 am
I'm having the same issue (GTX 980 on my end) but didn't find a workaround yet. I sometimes have that problem with other mods too tho (or at least I remember it doing the same thing when playing Space Exploration, which is another rather graphics heavy mod). I'll play around with my graphics settings and let you know if something helps

Cheers Memoria
Fyi, turning off the rotations one (I forget the exact name, but it specifically mentions train rotation sprite animations in the tooltip) massively improved my situation.

Still playing with the others
Alright I did some testing myself and although the rotating thing didnt help for me (Would've been weird considering I dont even have any trains yet) lowering overall graphics settings did the trick (in particular I think it was the size of the sprite Atlases). Seems like my GPU isnt as new as it once was.
mrbaggins wrote: ↑
Mon Nov 30, 2020 11:32 pm
I've never noticed that in Helmod.

But I run with "show disabled" and "Show hidden" off, as I only want recipes I can *currently* use to show up.

If you have those enabled, I don't know. If you don't, I don't know how or what you're seeing (and I'm not at home atm to check my game for chlorinated water)
Well, I wanted to plan ahead, which is why I even looked into hellmod (wanted to see if moss could be done more efficiently on green science). The recipes mentioned are far beyond my reach so its not really a problem (yet, and for a long time), but it'd be nice to know what's the intention for them.

Thanks for all the help anyway!

Lochar
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Alien Life - Discussion

Post by Lochar »

Memoria wrote: ↑
Wed Dec 02, 2020 12:15 pm
mrbaggins wrote: ↑
Wed Dec 02, 2020 2:50 am
Memoria wrote: ↑
Mon Nov 30, 2020 9:37 am
I'm having the same issue (GTX 980 on my end) but didn't find a workaround yet. I sometimes have that problem with other mods too tho (or at least I remember it doing the same thing when playing Space Exploration, which is another rather graphics heavy mod). I'll play around with my graphics settings and let you know if something helps

Cheers Memoria
Fyi, turning off the rotations one (I forget the exact name, but it specifically mentions train rotation sprite animations in the tooltip) massively improved my situation.

Still playing with the others
Alright I did some testing myself and although the rotating thing didnt help for me (Would've been weird considering I dont even have any trains yet) lowering overall graphics settings did the trick (in particular I think it was the size of the sprite Atlases). Seems like my GPU isnt as new as it once was.
I've had two crashes probably due this same issue. You'd think two 980TIs in SLI would be good enough.

It gets worse for me though, if I'm alt-tabbing or Windows throws a notification up.

User avatar
Pridesfall
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 7:18 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Alien Life - Discussion

Post by Pridesfall »

Lochar wrote: ↑
Wed Dec 23, 2020 9:16 pm
Memoria wrote: ↑
Wed Dec 02, 2020 12:15 pm
mrbaggins wrote: ↑
Wed Dec 02, 2020 2:50 am
Memoria wrote: ↑
Mon Nov 30, 2020 9:37 am
I'm having the same issue (GTX 980 on my end) but didn't find a workaround yet. I sometimes have that problem with other mods too tho (or at least I remember it doing the same thing when playing Space Exploration, which is another rather graphics heavy mod). I'll play around with my graphics settings and let you know if something helps

Cheers Memoria
Fyi, turning off the rotations one (I forget the exact name, but it specifically mentions train rotation sprite animations in the tooltip) massively improved my situation.

Still playing with the others
Alright I did some testing myself and although the rotating thing didnt help for me (Would've been weird considering I dont even have any trains yet) lowering overall graphics settings did the trick (in particular I think it was the size of the sprite Atlases). Seems like my GPU isnt as new as it once was.
I've had two crashes probably due this same issue. You'd think two 980TIs in SLI would be good enough.

It gets worse for me though, if I'm alt-tabbing or Windows throws a notification up.
Just an fyi, I'm using a Vega 56 with 8 GB VRAM and task manager shows me at 82% VRAM usage. So if your cards only have 6 GB then they could be a bottleneck.

kingarthur
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1426
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 11:39 am
Contact:

Re: pY Alien Life - Discussion

Post by kingarthur »

alright so there an update to pyal. 1.10.0 is are last planned content release to pyal at this time. we will continue to do bug fixing as needed otherwise we are going to be starting development on the next mod and you can expect more when that one is ready.

Pygman
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 10:33 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Alien Life - Discussion

Post by Pygman »

Is there any explanation what the TURD does out there? Saw it in the changelog and am able to open it, but it's empty. Also no recipes or items with that name.

User avatar
Pridesfall
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 7:18 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Alien Life - Discussion

Post by Pridesfall »

kingarthur wrote: ↑
Sun Dec 27, 2020 7:06 am
alright so there an update to pyal. 1.10.0 is are last planned content release to pyal at this time. we will continue to do bug fixing as needed otherwise we are going to be starting development on the next mod and you can expect more when that one is ready.
Super exciting. Thanks for the hard work. It shows.

Able to give us a teaser? From previous votes there was Py Alternative Energy and Py Industry Upgrades left. Are you guys doing one of those or something different?

User avatar
pyanodon
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1900
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Alien Life - Discussion

Post by pyanodon »

Pridesfall wrote: ↑
Thu Dec 31, 2020 12:25 am

Super exciting. Thanks for the hard work. It shows.

Able to give us a teaser? From previous votes there was Py Alternative Energy and Py Industry Upgrades left. Are you guys doing one of those or something different?
pyAE
pY Coal processing mod
Discord: Pyanodon #5791

Shooshpanius
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2021 4:52 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Alien Life - Discussion

Post by Shooshpanius »

Image

After updating pyalienlife from 1.10.6 to 1.11.0, newly installed Auog Paddock MK01 stopped working. Installed and filled with resources before the update - work.
Attachments
a.png
a.png (654.59 KiB) Viewed 2305 times

kingarthur
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1426
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 11:39 am
Contact:

Re: pY Alien Life - Discussion

Post by kingarthur »

Shooshpanius wrote: ↑
Thu Jan 07, 2021 4:58 pm
Image

After updating pyalienlife from 1.10.6 to 1.11.0, newly installed Auog Paddock MK01 stopped working. Installed and filled with resources before the update - work.
yes you need auogs in the aoug farm for it to work. the fact that it was working before was a bug that got fixed.

Shooshpanius
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2021 4:52 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Alien Life - Discussion

Post by Shooshpanius »

kingarthur wrote: ↑
Thu Jan 07, 2021 10:48 pm
Shooshpanius wrote: ↑
Thu Jan 07, 2021 4:58 pm
Image

After updating pyalienlife from 1.10.6 to 1.11.0, newly installed Auog Paddock MK01 stopped working. Installed and filled with resources before the update - work.
yes you need auogs in the aoug farm for it to work. the fact that it was working before was a bug that got fixed.
thank you :)

polle
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 10:28 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Alien Life - Discussion

Post by polle »

Hi
I unlocked most red science and now I am working on green science but i am stuck with Ralesia i need cDNA but i cant figure out how to get Nexelite.
The recipe to get Nexelit from tailings is locked behind green science Coal Processing 2.
What I am missing?

Post Reply

Return to β€œPyMods”