Page 22 of 23

Re: pY Petroleum Handling

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:21 am
by pyanodon
fixed

Re: pY Petroleum Handling

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 9:29 am
by DarkyPupu
Hi,

Would you consider an option to not have infinite fluids (start or map settings) ?
No need to do it per-fluid as far as i'm concerned, one global option is enough.

If you don't want to bother with that i can do it on separate mod as it doesn't seem difficult, but i think it may add value on your mod directly (afterall people who play Py doesn't exactly seek easy things :lol: )

Re: pY Petroleum Handling

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:18 am
by kingarthur
DarkyPupu wrote:
Wed Sep 11, 2019 9:29 am
Hi,

Would you consider an option to not have infinite fluids (start or map settings) ?
No need to do it per-fluid as far as i'm concerned, one global option is enough.

If you don't want to bother with that i can do it on separate mod as it doesn't seem difficult, but i think it may add value on your mod directly (afterall people who play Py doesn't exactly seek easy things :lol: )
which fluids are you referring to? the oil wells and the like that are spawned on the map. thats shouldnt take to much effort to setup. ill get it put together for when ever py updates pyph next

Re: pY Petroleum Handling

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:24 am
by DarkyPupu
If i'm not mistaken:
  • natural-gas
  • oil-mk01
  • oil-mk02
  • oil-mk03
  • oil-mk04
  • tar-patch
I've just turned infinite=true to infinite=false for each of them directly in the mod (quick & dirty :lol: ) but it'll vanish on next update.

oil-sand shouldn't be a fluid despite the name, and sulfur patch shouldn't be affected either.

EDIT: all in pypetroleumhandling, and yup they're on map generation

Re: pY Petroleum Handling

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:32 am
by kingarthur
DarkyPupu wrote:
Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:24 am

I've just turned infinite=true to infinite=false for each of them directly in the mod (quick & dirty :lol: ) but it'll vanish on next update.
yep. just got to adjust a few bits to make it work with a setting to toggle that. straight forward are pretty simple

Re: pY Petroleum Handling

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:34 am
by DarkyPupu
Many thanks !

Re: pY Petroleum Handling

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 3:31 pm
by immortal_sniper1
tho in vanilla oil is infinite but slow at the end ;
yes in py you can make oul form drill fluid but is is slow and expansive

Re: pY Petroleum Handling

Posted: Fri Sep 13, 2019 8:25 am
by DarkyPupu
immortal_sniper1 wrote:
Wed Sep 11, 2019 3:31 pm
tho in vanilla oil is infinite but slow at the end ;
yes in py you can make oul form drill fluid but is is slow and expansive
You're right, but as a realistic maniac, i prefer to just have it depleted it at all (i use a mod for finite water too :D )
It's nice to have the choice anyway.

Re: pY Petroleum Handling

Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 12:14 am
by drdking
Tholins currently only takes red science to research, but to make the Tholine machines you need Nexelit which requires Red and Logi science. I feel that the first Tholins tech should have Logi science packs as a requirement as well. Though I admit that I might be missing something somewhere.

Re: pY Petroleum Handling

Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 6:56 am
by immortal_sniper1
drdking wrote:
Sat Sep 14, 2019 12:14 am
Tholins currently only takes red science to research, but to make the Tholine machines you need Nexelit which requires Red and Logi science. I feel that the first Tholins tech should have Logi science packs as a requirement as well. Though I admit that I might be missing something somewhere.
cant u get nexelite from tailings then put the nexelite ore into a furnace?

Re: pY Petroleum Handling

Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 1:38 pm
by drdking
immortal_sniper1 wrote:
Sat Sep 14, 2019 6:56 am

cant u get nexelite from tailings then put the nexelite ore into a furnace?
That's locked behind Nexelite processing 1, which requires red and logi science. You could make the argument to make that tech only take red science, but I agree that nexelite should be a Tier 2 (at a minimum) material.

Re: pY Petroleum Handling

Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 2:24 pm
by immortal_sniper1
drdking wrote:
Sat Sep 14, 2019 1:38 pm
immortal_sniper1 wrote:
Sat Sep 14, 2019 6:56 am

cant u get nexelite from tailings then put the nexelite ore into a furnace?
That's locked behind Nexelite processing 1, which requires red and logi science. You could make the argument to make that tech only take red science, but I agree that nexelite should be a Tier 2 (at a minimum) material.
yeas as i remember nexelite was historically in py tech2 or it as in my first py game

Re: pY Petroleum Handling

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 6:22 pm
by Cadde
Remind me again, what's the point in oil sand?
Because currently, anything you get from oil sand you can get from other sources at less cost in both space and energy usage.

In fact, trying to convert oil sand into power generation is a net loss at the moment. Where i think for every MW spent, you should gain six back in such a chain at the very least. And also get some useful byproducts.
Because this is what the free energy syngas combustion chain does. And it provides plenty of useful byproducts.
That is, it uses 12.5 MW and produces 74.4 MW at the moment and consumes nothing but water.

The benefit to going oil sand as an alternative would be less space used. Assuming you actually kept it under the footprint of what...

11 gasifiers, 3 destructive distillation columns, 6 high pressure furnaces and 32 fawogae plantations take.

That or make it so for every MW spent, you'd get ten back... Just something to make a player wanna use oil sand because currently it's pretty useless. And players are better off going elsewhere to get the same kind of products that oil sand gets you.

Re: pY Petroleum Handling

Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2019 3:03 pm
by Nyakko
Hello, awesome mods, plaing with all Py-suit.

Here is the problem. To make Logistic Science Pack i need a Rubber. It produces only in Heavy Oil Refinery, and to make this building i need a Chromium.
But Chromium Ore patches always appears outside of starting zone, and i can't research yet any recipe to make Chromium without Ore.
Also without Logistic Science i can't craft nor car, nor train. It even worse with RSO resourse distribution.

Can you add some starting inefficient recipe for chomite sand, for example?

Re: pY Petroleum Handling

Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2019 3:16 pm
by immortal_sniper1
Nyakko wrote:
Sat Sep 28, 2019 3:03 pm
Hello, awesome mods, plaing with all Py-suit.

Here is the problem. To make Logistic Science Pack i need a Rubber. It produces only in Heavy Oil Refinery, and to make this building i need a Chromium.
But Chromium Ore patches always appears outside of starting zone, and i can't research yet any recipe to make Chromium without Ore.
Also without Logistic Science i can't craft nor car, nor train. It even worse with RSO resourse distribution.

Can you add some starting inefficient recipe for chomite sand, for example?
I use RSO and it is fine for me.
here is a indirect way
iron>stick>rich dust>chrome sand >chrome

not sure tho if sand extractor was tech2 or if that recipe is still enabled

Re: pY Petroleum Handling

Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2019 3:44 pm
by Nyakko
immortal_sniper1 wrote:
Sat Sep 28, 2019 3:16 pm
here is a indirect way
iron>stick>rich dust>chrome sand >chrome

not sure tho if sand extractor was tech2 or if that recipe is still enabled
I checked and discovered i have this recipe only without PY-RO installed.
Wrong topic, sorry. But still, what to do, if i want to play with PY-RO and can't running for miles to chromium patch?

Another suggestion - to delete chromium from Heavy Oil Refinery recipe. This way i could research tech2 and get car or train.

Re: pY Petroleum Handling

Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2019 3:52 pm
by immortal_sniper1
Nyakko wrote:
Sat Sep 28, 2019 3:44 pm
immortal_sniper1 wrote:
Sat Sep 28, 2019 3:16 pm
here is a indirect way
iron>stick>rich dust>chrome sand >chrome

not sure tho if sand extractor was tech2 or if that recipe is still enabled
I checked and discovered i have this recipe only without PY-RO installed.
Wrong topic, sorry. But still, what to do, if i want to play with PY-RO and can't running for miles to chromium patch?

Another suggestion - to delete chromium from Heavy Oil Refinery recipe.
i will talk to py , but for the moment go on foot there mine a full inventary or leave some drills and some power there you only need enough to make a rfinery , maybe a car too

Re: pY Petroleum Handling

Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2019 4:02 pm
by Nyakko
immortal_sniper1 wrote:
Sat Sep 28, 2019 3:52 pm
i will talk to py , but for the moment go on foot there mine a full inventary or leave some drills and some power there you only need enough to make a rfinery , maybe a car too
Thanks a lot for an answer!
By the way, i also need to provide SynGas for drills, not just power. If i lay pipes right from my base... oh well, it's really far away, and no pumps yet (tech2) :)

Re: pY Petroleum Handling

Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2019 4:09 pm
by immortal_sniper1
Nyakko wrote:
Sat Sep 28, 2019 4:02 pm
immortal_sniper1 wrote:
Sat Sep 28, 2019 3:52 pm
i will talk to py , but for the moment go on foot there mine a full inventary or leave some drills and some power there you only need enough to make a rfinery , maybe a car too
Thanks a lot for an answer!
By the way, i also need to provide SynGas for drills, not just power. If i lay pipes right from my base... oh well, it's really far away, and no pumps yet (tech2) :)
barells with tar in inventary

tar>coalgas>syngas at location if u can use oxygen recipe and vent H2

tholens are also a option but that is last resort

Re: pY Petroleum Handling

Posted: Mon Sep 30, 2019 5:14 pm
by Nyakko
Nyakko wrote:
Sat Sep 28, 2019 3:44 pm
delete or change chromium in Heavy Oil Refinery recipe.
Still thinking it's better and very easy way to fix the gap.