pY Raw Ores Discussion

pyanodon's mods are here

Moderator: pyanodon

npuldon
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by npuldon »

Is this what Continuous deployment is like?

https://www.wikiwand.com/en/Continuous_deployment

npuldon
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by npuldon »

FYI your link for raw ores in the mod portal takes you to py fusion instead of this mod

viewtopic.php?f=94&t=51490&sid=f5d85f76 ... 036f829064

Cheers

NekoBaron
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by NekoBaron »

So trying to play a pack of mods with friends and I was getting some bad micro stuttering constantly sort of like chunk gen kind but only few of us suffering, so we sit there and think lets just regen the map that will fix it right? No I still got the wierd micro stuttering if not worse.

So while the rest of them manage to play I decided to load it up in singleplayer and flick a load of mods on and off, eventually I work out its this mod. I even try combos of just all pymod with ores on and ores off, whenever raw ores is disable all the micro stutter is gone so Im sitting here thinking this is ridiculous its just ores right?

Friend then says if its my ram to which Im like, I have 24GB it should be fine but I decide to go ahead open up resource monitor and check it, again everything looks fine but then I notice ram used by factorio is like 6.4 gb and I'm still going yeah this sounds ok, toggle raw ores off load up singleplayer again new map each time and then notice factorio is now using only 4.6 gb's.

Call me crazy but should a mod just to add ores really add 2 more extra gigs of ram used?? Or is there some weird leak or inherent flaw in the way its overiding/rewriting the other mods??


Ps: Love pymod in general, just sad this raw ores mod extension part is giving me trouble.

immortal_sniper1
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by immortal_sniper1 »

here is a small guide /review of the current state and processing of ores:
i will classify ores in 3 groups ( expensive reasonable cheep ) based on the difficulty of getting them and the amount used in general based on my xp:
expensive ores:
all single rock ones only or no mine at all
+nexelite (because the tailings way is very tailings heavy )
+lead ( because the gas needed to mine lead ore is very resource heavy and the slacked lime that you get has very little use )

reasonable ores :
uranium since its not necessary needed that much ant processing it until mid tier is sufficient
limestone
coal
quartz

cheep ores:

stone
fe
cu
chrome
limestone
sand
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

in the case of expensive ores i recommend going down the chains as deep as possible or to the point where we can find the beast ore/plate ratio
even at the expense of cheep metals or other resources
in the case of Zn this is especial especial because the low ore supply and the sorta high remand for zinc in zinc acetate and zinc cloride
another thing to be aware is the " salt balance " getting the sodium sulfate and carbonate is salt heavy 10:1 to be exact so when you decide
the reasonable ore smelting steps down you must keep in mind the amount of salt available after high priority processes used what they needed;
other high priority stuff is ceramics and sorta lard

in the case of reasonable ores i think for coal the best way is tech 2 stage and burn the coarse coal or sinply go all the way down the line because at tech 3 you end up with liquids at the end
for glass would go all the way because of the relatively cheep secondary inputs and because it consumes slacked lime that we get from lead
for 80 glass /s there was 33 /s salt needed and that should be enough for most bases

for cheep ores go with the base recipe or the second one because ore is plentiful

gosensgo86
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by gosensgo86 »

I'll probably end up going all the way for all the ores just for fun. :lol:

immortal_sniper1
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by immortal_sniper1 »

gosensgo86 wrote:
Fri Dec 21, 2018 5:50 pm
I'll probably end up going all the way for all the ores just for fun. :lol:
you will run out of salt fast also through the borax
also some chains use other metals in them so there will be metal cannibalism

User avatar
pyanodon
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1869
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by pyanodon »

NekoBaron wrote:
Fri Dec 21, 2018 4:47 pm
So trying to play a pack of mods with friends and I was getting some bad micro stuttering constantly sort of like chunk gen kind but only few of us suffering, so we sit there and think lets just regen the map that will fix it right? No I still got the wierd micro stuttering if not worse.

So while the rest of them manage to play I decided to load it up in singleplayer and flick a load of mods on and off, eventually I work out its this mod. I even try combos of just all pymod with ores on and ores off, whenever raw ores is disable all the micro stutter is gone so Im sitting here thinking this is ridiculous its just ores right?

Friend then says if its my ram to which Im like, I have 24GB it should be fine but I decide to go ahead open up resource monitor and check it, again everything looks fine but then I notice ram used by factorio is like 6.4 gb and I'm still going yeah this sounds ok, toggle raw ores off load up singleplayer again new map each time and then notice factorio is now using only 4.6 gb's.

Call me crazy but should a mod just to add ores really add 2 more extra gigs of ram used?? Or is there some weird leak or inherent flaw in the way its overiding/rewriting the other mods??


Ps: Love pymod in general, just sad this raw ores mod extension part is giving me trouble.

All mods active here in high res graphics and i never had issues. And i have less ram than you
pY Coal processing mod
Discord: Pyanodon #5791

User avatar
pyanodon
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1869
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by pyanodon »

immortal_sniper1 wrote:
Fri Dec 21, 2018 5:56 pm
you will run out of salt fast also through the borax
also some chains use other metals in them so there will be metal cannibalism
Theres two kinds of people who plays factorio, the ones like you trying to find the correct numbers, having headaches and such and the ones who just want have fun while faces the unknown..


also..how you will run out of salt if thers a lot of salt rocks and each with a mininum of 8000000? Borax is also, intentionally more abundant because the heavy use. The good thing is, pyRO can now be played with RSO where you can always set the values at will.
pY Coal processing mod
Discord: Pyanodon #5791

NekoBaron
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by NekoBaron »

pyanodon wrote:
Fri Dec 21, 2018 6:19 pm
All mods active here in high res graphics and i never had issues. And i have less ram than you
Well the ram thing was all I could think of checking, all I could deduce was the micro stuttering goes away if the raw ores mod is toggled off and noted that the ram usage goes up dramatically when its on which seemed odd for a 90meg mod :/, Ive played pymod in the past fine just not the raw ores part before.

immortal_sniper1
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by immortal_sniper1 »

pyanodon wrote:
Fri Dec 21, 2018 6:25 pm
immortal_sniper1 wrote:
Fri Dec 21, 2018 5:56 pm
you will run out of salt fast also through the borax
also some chains use other metals in them so there will be metal cannibalism
Theres two kinds of people who plays factorio, the ones like you trying to find the correct numbers, having headaches and such and the ones who just want have fun while faces the unknown..


also..how you will run out of salt if thers a lot of salt rocks and each with a mininum of 8000000? Borax is also, intentionally more abundant because the heavy use. The good thing is, pyRO can now be played with RSO where you can always set the values at will.
when i generated the map the min was lower in forst version it was like 300 000 or 3 000 000 i think
the rate of extraction is the bottleneck here not the amount abailable

gosensgo86
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by gosensgo86 »

pyanodon wrote:
Fri Dec 21, 2018 6:25 pm
immortal_sniper1 wrote:
Fri Dec 21, 2018 5:56 pm
you will run out of salt fast also through the borax
also some chains use other metals in them so there will be metal cannibalism
Theres two kinds of people who plays factorio, the ones like you trying to find the correct numbers, having headaches and such and the ones who just want have fun while faces the unknown..


also..how you will run out of salt if thers a lot of salt rocks and each with a mininum of 8000000? Borax is also, intentionally more abundant because the heavy use. The good thing is, pyRO can now be played with RSO where you can always set the values at will.
For me it's more like I have to build the advanced chain at least once just because it's there. You can also challenge yourself by making the "cheap" ores less abundant, making the advanced chains more appealing.

aklesey1
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1838
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by aklesey1 »

NekoBaron wrote:
Fri Dec 21, 2018 4:47 pm
So trying to play a pack of mods with friends and I was getting some bad micro stuttering constantly sort of like chunk gen kind but only few of us suffering, so we sit there and think lets just regen the map that will fix it right? No I still got the wierd micro stuttering if not worse.

So while the rest of them manage to play I decided to load it up in singleplayer and flick a load of mods on and off, eventually I work out its this mod. I even try combos of just all pymod with ores on and ores off, whenever raw ores is disable all the micro stutter is gone so Im sitting here thinking this is ridiculous its just ores right?

Friend then says if its my ram to which Im like, I have 24GB it should be fine but I decide to go ahead open up resource monitor and check it, again everything looks fine but then I notice ram used by factorio is like 6.4 gb and I'm still going yeah this sounds ok, toggle raw ores off load up singleplayer again new map each time and then notice factorio is now using only 4.6 gb's.

Call me crazy but should a mod just to add ores really add 2 more extra gigs of ram used?? Or is there some weird leak or inherent flaw in the way its overiding/rewriting the other mods??


Ps: Love pymod in general, just sad this raw ores mod extension part is giving me trouble.
I have 16 Gb ram and no serious problems even when i have big base and my Firefox browser often enabled with many tabs, don't know what to add... ;)
Nickname on ModPortal - Naron79

User avatar
pyanodon
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1869
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by pyanodon »

gosensgo86 wrote:
Fri Dec 21, 2018 7:19 pm
For me it's more like I have to build the advanced chain at least once just because it's there. You can also challenge yourself by making the "cheap" ores less abundant, making the advanced chains more appealing.

thats the spirit
pY Coal processing mod
Discord: Pyanodon #5791

kingarthur
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1397
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 11:39 am
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by kingarthur »

NekoBaron wrote:
Fri Dec 21, 2018 6:28 pm
pyanodon wrote:
Fri Dec 21, 2018 6:19 pm
All mods active here in high res graphics and i never had issues. And i have less ram than you
Well the ram thing was all I could think of checking, all I could deduce was the micro stuttering goes away if the raw ores mod is toggled off and noted that the ram usage goes up dramatically when its on which seemed odd for a 90meg mod :/, Ive played pymod in the past fine just not the raw ores part before.
Check your vram. Pymods is graphic heavy and could easily push that to the limit

NekoBaron
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by NekoBaron »

I feel like people aren't fully reading what Im typing :/ I can play fine with all of pycoal on fine as long as the raw ores mod is off, I can even play fine with extra other mods enabled as well that add graphics and such, Im just confused to why a small 90 meg mod is adding a huge extra 2gb of system ram overhead.

If you really think its vram then Im just gonna post than I have a 4gb AMD R9 380 which has be fine with modded factorio in the past, sadly the windows resource manager dont track vram so I dont have a nice quick way to check if that is the issue.

User avatar
septemberWaves
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 207
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 7:49 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by septemberWaves »

Something which I recall from playing heavily-modded Minecraft is that it is apparently possible for lag to be caused by having too much RAM allocated (and I have some anecdotal evidence to support this). If Factorio is taking up 6.4gb of RAM try to just allocate 7gb (if that's possible of course; I'm not sure how easy it is to set up how much RAM is dedicated to Factorio specifically).

minno
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2018 3:54 am
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by minno »

septemberWaves wrote:
Sat Dec 22, 2018 1:52 am
Something which I recall from playing heavily-modded Minecraft is that it is apparently possible for lag to be caused by having too much RAM allocated (and I have some anecdotal evidence to support this). If Factorio is taking up 6.4gb of RAM try to just allocate 7gb (if that's possible of course; I'm not sure how easy it is to set up how much RAM is dedicated to Factorio specifically).
Minecraft gets microstutters from high RAM usage because the garbage collector needs to stop everything sometimes for cleanup, and the bigger the RAM pool the longer that takes. Factorio's core code doesn't use GC, and PyRO doesn't appear to have any lua scripting taking up time.

I was getting some microstutters before too, and I'm thinking it might be VRAM. Right now I'm not getting any and it's using 2.9/3.5 GB, so if I was using just a little bit more before that could have been it.

User avatar
jodokus31
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1198
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by jodokus31 »

NekoBaron wrote:
Fri Dec 21, 2018 9:47 pm
I feel like people aren't fully reading what Im typing :/ I can play fine with all of pycoal on fine as long as the raw ores mod is off, I can even play fine with extra other mods enabled as well that add graphics and such, Im just confused to why a small 90 meg mod is adding a huge extra 2gb of system ram overhead.

If you really think its vram then Im just gonna post than I have a 4gb AMD R9 380 which has be fine with modded factorio in the past, sadly the windows resource manager dont track vram so I dont have a nice quick way to check if that is the issue.
I have a 750Ti with 2 GB. While vanilla runs somewhat ok with high res sprites, i get those microstutters with bigger modpacks. After switching to normal resolution sprites, its gone. Maybe, you can try it? I I also switched off decoratives, which had an impact.
I hope, that 0.17 gets better and i can turn up sprites again.

User avatar
cpy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 812
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:34 am
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by cpy »

Now there's your problem! You don't have enough VRAM! Full pysuite uses 8GB VRAM with maxed vram option! So you have to tweak CPU<->GPU usage and RAM<->VRAM usage. Luckily there are options to fine tune the crap out of it.

So yeah it's just about tweaking it all.

silentz0r
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 4:32 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by silentz0r »

Sorry to bother, but there's any tutorial how to install PyMods? Like, what mods do i need at add. Thank you.

I play factorio with a simple laptop core i7, 8gb ram, crappy integrated graphics. Should i avoid this mod or i can play it? Thanks

Post Reply

Return to “PyMods”