Page 1 of 1

FastFurnaces - More throughput in less space

Posted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:16 pm
by Reika
Mod Info:
If you have ever found yourself in a situation where you cannot expand due to space limitations (such as deep water, a mountain, or far too many enemy bases) or want to pack more productivity into a smaller area, FastFurnaces may have what you seek. The name refers to the first things added, but at this point the mod also contains faster versions of most other processing machinery as well, plus a handful of other production boosters like fast long inserters and higher-tier modules.

As this entire mod is one that could be seen as overpowered, every single feature has an option to disable it.

If you have Bob's mods installed, FastFurnaces will add little new material, as Bob's Mk3/4/etc tier machinery/modules/etc is largely the same idea.
Screenshots/Video:
A field of improved mining drills, which are cleaner and more efficient:
Image

An accelerated furnace steel production area:
Image

A tier-3 beacon loaded with 12 Tier-5 productivity modules:
Image

Producing things faster with a fast long inserter:
Image

Re: FastFurnaces - More throughput in less space

Posted: Sat Jul 03, 2021 1:35 pm
by gnbrotz
I've just installed this mod, and immediately received the following message:

Image

Interestingly, the error also mentions a Recycling mod, which I have been using for quite some time without an issue.

Re: FastFurnaces - More throughput in less space

Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2022 3:45 pm
by tmas
+1. Get the same error but without ZRecycling with just fast furnaces and dragon industries.

Re: FastFurnaces - More throughput in less space

Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2022 5:20 am
by themogul504
+1 Author needs to update the mod. Sad I can't figure out how to fix it.

Re: FastFurnaces - More throughput in less space

Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2022 6:33 am
by Pi-C
gnbrotz wrote:
Sat Jul 03, 2021 1:35 pm
I've just installed this mod, and immediately received the following message:

Image
FastFurnaces tries to load images from the vanilla game. Following the path "data/base/graphics/technology/", there is no file "effectivity-module.png" in the latest version of the game. Instead, there are three files effectivity-module-x.png (x: 1, 2, or 3). Factorio 1.0 has the same files, but additionally, there is the un-tiered file effectivity-module.png, which seems to look very similar to effectivity-module-1.png (from 1.0), but quite different than effectivity-module-1.png from 1.1:
effectivity-module-1.png (Factorio 1.0)
effectivity-module-1.png (Factorio 1.0)
effectivity-module-1.png (30.33 KiB) Viewed 147 times
effectivity-module-1.png (Factorio 1.1)
effectivity-module-1.png (Factorio 1.1)
effectivity-module-1.png (103.95 KiB) Viewed 147 times
FastFurnaces should add its own graphics for the new techs (the same problem will occur with productivity and speed modules). I guess as a quick'n'dirty hotfix you could go into data/base/graphics/technology/ and copy (on Linux, a symbolic link should work as well) effectivity-module-1.png to effectivity-module.png (repeat for the other module types). Perhaps that won't look as expected, but at least, a file will be found and the game should load. :-)

EDIT: It totally doesn't look as expected! The icon is too big, so you'd have to fix the technology prototypes by adding the scale property. But what can you expect from a quick'n'dirty hack? :lol: