Page 2 of 2

Re: My "small" sandbox.

Posted: Fri Jul 09, 2021 10:47 am
by TaylorItaly
Awesome.
Why have you disabled comments under the video ?
Savegame , please.

Re: My "small" sandbox.

Posted: Fri Jul 09, 2021 3:21 pm
by azesmbog
TaylorItaly wrote:
Fri Jul 09, 2021 10:47 am
Why have you disabled comments under the video ?
Savegame , please.
Apparently I turned off comments for other videos, and they turned off everywhere. Included.
Link to yesterday's save.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1k1bSz5 ... sp=sharing
This will work on any computer. Game version like 1.1.30

Re: My "small" sandbox.

Posted: Sat Jul 10, 2021 6:38 pm
by MakeItGraphic
Things dreams are made of, gg. I can't wait until the day even basic hardware can run bases at these limits 60 ups no issues. Is why I still love sim city 4, those hard limits on games like Skylines just ruin it. This is a true sandbox, it's just aspirational what the developers have accomplished with this game and it's one that will be around for many decades. And again good going reaching the outer chunks of the map. (Y)

Re: My "small" sandbox.

Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2021 3:28 pm
by TaylorItaly
Awesome.Thank you !!!

Gigantic Sized Structures

Posted: Sun Aug 22, 2021 7:33 pm
by azesmbog
Image
Hopefully one of the biggest logical networks :))
(Note - made in vanilla, by hand and blueprint. Everything that is done with the help of mods - I do not consider. :)

In the center, to assess the scale, I marked out the production base itself.
As I understand it, this is 13,570 roboports.
Arranged in a checkerboard pattern, in a continuous pattern for such an area it would take twice as much.
By area it is 8000 x 8000 = ~ 64000 tiles)
I think a little "order \ reduce" the number of roboports by a quarter :)
And yet, when the network display is turned on, the FPS "sags" very much - up to 20, when turned off it rises to 33. Well, this is so, from observations :)
upd: This is how the "thinned" electrical network will look like (and the logistics one too)
setka2.jpg
setka2.jpg (424.93 KiB) Viewed 1153 times

Re: My "small" sandbox.

Posted: Thu Dec 30, 2021 6:32 pm
by azesmbog
As you all well know, the planet on which our protagonist arrived has a pronounced "stool" shape, with linear dimensions of 2000 x 2000 km, or 2 million x 2 million
conditional cells.
This is what the map of the planet looks like in the Mercator projection (shown in green).
karta.jpg
karta.jpg (15.85 KiB) Viewed 878 times
My current path for three years is marked in red :)
Traveled and driven 3 thousand kilometers (or 3 million cells)
What has been done during this time:
15 thousand hours of playing time (real much more :)
15000.jpg
15000.jpg (52.43 KiB) Viewed 878 times
Many millions of biters and spitters destroyed
kill.jpg
kill.jpg (25.42 KiB) Viewed 878 times
More than 5.4 million pieces of artillery shells were spent on this.
Electricity production and consumption
power.jpg
power.jpg (100.91 KiB) Viewed 878 times
Of the 61GW produced capacity, the lion's share of 55.5GW is spent on defense against all living creatures - 2.3 million laser turrets are constantly turned on)
This time I won't dare to upload the saved game - hardly anyone will dare to download and run it :)
The save file is already exactly 3GB, and it is definitely not loaded onto 32GB of memory. At 64 GB, I think it should load (I already have 96 GB) Oh yes, the screen of the consumed memory:
memory.jpg
memory.jpg (80.58 KiB) Viewed 878 times
Out of 96GB of physical memory, Factorio easily and naturally eats up 70GB (sometimes more :)
Well, taking this opportunity, I want to congratulate all the players and developers of this wonderful Game (with a Capital Letter) Happy New Year !!! Good luck to everyone and a peaceful sky over your head !!!
NY2022.jpg
NY2022.jpg (115.41 KiB) Viewed 878 times
By the way, this inscription was made on the water using soil dumping.
Since I have a vanilla game, and without any mods, and I also did not use the editor - therefore, the creation of this inscription took quite a long time, tk. any mistake in filling - and you have to start over, so there were a lot of saves :)
If someone is interested in the inscription, you can try to make a blueprint :)
And in dynamics!
fact_ny2.gif
fact_ny2.gif (1.86 MiB) Viewed 878 times
upd 20.03.2022
Снимок экрана 2022-03-20 в 16.31.04.png
Снимок экрана 2022-03-20 в 16.31.04.png (325.03 KiB) Viewed 608 times
+300.000
3,2 Gb
16128h
5,0M begemot
2,5M Laser - 61,3 GW
36,2 UPS
67 GW power up
80,54 Gb memory

upd 22.05.2022
+300.000 (600.000 all)
3,3 Gb
16900h
5,1M begemot
2,7M Laser - 66,8 GW
33,4 UPS
75 GW power up
97,09 Gb memory (sometimes 102 happens, memory leak(:

Posted: Sun Jun 26, 2022 2:20 pm
by azesmbog
Intermediate "final"

It is sad to say this, but alas, with the current configuration of my equipment, I have approached the final of its capabilities)
FPS\UPS fluctuates around the 30 mark, and this is if I stand still without moving. With heavy movement / construction / battle, UPS drops to 25-27 :(
Of course, there are many examples that someone plays with 12-18 UPS,
but for me this is definitely unacceptable and the number 30 is the limit below which I consider this game "unplayable" for myself :)
So, the "intermediate" (final?) results:

upd 26.06.2022
+200.000 (3 800 000 all)
3,4 Gb
17322h
5,2M begemot
2,9M Laser - 70,6 GW
30,7 UPS
78 GW power up
101 Gb memory
karta2.jpg
karta2.jpg (13.29 KiB) Viewed 412 times
My current path for almost 4 years of the year is marked in red :)
Walked and drove 3.8 thousand km (or 3,800,000 cells)
Of course, I would like to stop at least at the mark of 4,000,000 cells, there are some 200 km left, but what is, is.
It's not very comfortable to play.
What I want to do to make my dream come true (idiot :):
1. I don’t really hope for game optimization by developers,
they have done their best. But I'll try to change the version of the game to the latest one (now I have version 1.1.50)
2. Try to "overclock" my computer.
It's more difficult. If you add memory, but you must immediately add 64GB of RAM (this is very, very expensive :)
Try to "overclock" the memory and processor a little more.
This is also difficult, and so it worked to the maximum, the processor at a frequency of 4900 MHz. Even + 100 MHz - nothing good happened.
The memory also runs at 3470 MHz with the lowest possible timings.
At 3600 MHz, it definitely refused to work))
But I have nothing to lose, why not overclock again, if I still can’t play anymore :))
3. Try to stop ALL production and launch of missiles.
Leave only the production of shells.
My productivity level just went up. And I don’t know why :) At the edge of the Universe, mineral deposits are inexhaustible (I remind you, I have a vanilla game and everything was originally by default)
Now the production productivity is 532 units :)
It is possible that some of these factors, or in combination, will give me another 2-3 UPS and I will be able to play my favorite game for some time)
Of course, the best option would be to replace the processor with a modern AMD 5800X3D, but this is a huge cost with an unknown result. But I think it would be possible to count on UPS \ FPS at least 40 :)
fine_260622.jpg
fine_260622.jpg (279.79 KiB) Viewed 412 times
I don’t know if the save recording control mode is enabled by default, but with further “overclocking” of my hardware, I will definitely need it.
It somehow cunningly turns on from the main menu, I read about it for a long time, but I don’t remember verbatim :( I’ll have to search for a long time.
Thank you for your attention. And for a good game! :)
upd: enable-tile-data-validation-on-saving I have included. Well, good. Might be useful too :)

Re: My "small" sandbox.

Posted: Mon Jun 27, 2022 6:23 am
by aka13
I love your save, and always follow with your updates. Don't give up!