Belt content side swapping

Circuit-free solutions of basic factory-design to achieve optimal item-throughput.
Involving: Belts (balancers, crossings), Inserters, Chests, Furnaces, Assembling Devices ...
Optimized production chains. Compact design.
Please provide blueprints!
Forum rules
Circuit-free solutions of basic factory-design to achieve optimal item-throughput
Post Reply
SkiCarver
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:36 am
Contact:

Belt content side swapping

Post by SkiCarver »

I'm sure this has been done before, but i find it useful on occasion ....

In a line of machines it is useful to swap the content of the output belt to the other side to balance the output. using a splitter can shorten the usual method to only two track segments.

place the splitter and ensure the output priority is set to swap the content side.
beltside.png
beltside.png (2.77 MiB) Viewed 4540 times

User avatar
disentius
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 555
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 3:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Belt content side swapping

Post by disentius »

Setting output priority works fine until the belt backs up, then the other lane gets filled too,
If you want to make sure the second lane stays empty, set a filter on the splitter, or use the classic method.:)

SkiCarver
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:36 am
Contact:

Re: Belt content side swapping

Post by SkiCarver »

disentius wrote:
Sun Jun 16, 2019 11:36 am
Setting output priority works fine until the belt backs up, then the other lane gets filled too,
If you want to make sure the second lane stays empty, set a filter on the splitter, or use the classic method.:)
indeed, but I only use it where space doesn't allow for the classic method.

User avatar
5thHorseman
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1191
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 11:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Belt content side swapping

Post by 5thHorseman »

disentius wrote:
Sun Jun 16, 2019 11:36 am
Setting output priority works fine until the belt backs up, then the other lane gets filled too,
If you want to make sure the second lane stays empty, set a filter on the splitter, or use the classic method.:)
Yeah instead of output priority I always use a "fish filter" for things like these.
Image Image

zOldBulldog
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1111
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 1:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Belt content side swapping

Post by zOldBulldog »

5thHorseman wrote:
Sun Jun 16, 2019 12:29 pm
disentius wrote:
Sun Jun 16, 2019 11:36 am
Setting output priority works fine until the belt backs up, then the other lane gets filled too,
If you want to make sure the second lane stays empty, set a filter on the splitter, or use the classic method.:)
Yeah instead of output priority I always use a "fish filter" for things like these.
I never thought of doing that.

Will the fish filter stop instead of spilling over over too when the belt overflows?

SkiCarver
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:36 am
Contact:

Re: Belt content side swapping

Post by SkiCarver »

To be clear ....

When space is limited I use this on the output of furnace arrays. as the first output set of inserters can ONLY place on the far side of the belt, I cannot happen that the belt is 'overloaded' for that case - at most, the belt has the far side fully compressed. the only downside of this method is the additional resources that are required to produce the splitter.

If it gets to the situation where the system is backed-up, there will be furnaces that are unable to place on the belt when using either design.

User avatar
disentius
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 555
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 3:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Belt content side swapping

Post by disentius »

one item on lane:
Laneswitch with splitter filter.gif
Laneswitch with splitter filter.gif (1004.82 KiB) Viewed 4489 times
Multiple items, (fish filter)
Laneswitch with splitter filter-negative.gif
Laneswitch with splitter filter-negative.gif (1.02 MiB) Viewed 4489 times

User avatar
Optera
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2801
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 6:41 am
Contact:

Re: Belt content side swapping

Post by Optera »

I think splitters use more ups than plain sideloading so I'll stick to the classic 3 long lane change from OP.

For really tight spots you can also side load to UG belts:
2019-06-16-15-39-28-9492247.png
2019-06-16-15-39-28-9492247.png (576.9 KiB) Viewed 4487 times

User avatar
5thHorseman
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1191
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 11:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Belt content side swapping

Post by 5thHorseman »

zOldBulldog wrote:
Sun Jun 16, 2019 1:08 pm
Will the fish filter stop instead of spilling over over too when the belt overflows?
yes, as disentius shows:
disentius wrote:
Sun Jun 16, 2019 1:34 pm
Multiple items, (fish filter)
Image
The nice thing about the fish filter is, you can copy/paste the belts from one setup to another and they just work. No resetting the filter for each item.

Unless you need to sort fish. Then you're on your own :D
Image Image

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 5024
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: Belt content side swapping

Post by eradicator »

If you're spacelimited only in one direction there's also this, which saves a few splitters.
bleh.png
bleh.png (90.88 KiB) Viewed 4479 times
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.

User avatar
disentius
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 555
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 3:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Belt content side swapping

Post by disentius »

inserterlaneswap for very tight spots :mrgreen:
More Bleh
More Bleh
splitter lane switch1.png (179.37 KiB) Viewed 4470 times

User avatar
Ranakastrasz
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2102
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:05 am
Contact:

Re: Belt content side swapping

Post by Ranakastrasz »

That is the first underground belt abuse that didnt make me want to tear my hair out. Plus I have that specific issue often.
Last edited by Ranakastrasz on Wed Feb 05, 2020 3:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My Mods:
Modular Armor Revamp - V16
Large Chests - V16
Agent Orange - V16
Flare - V16
Easy Refineries - V16

Deltasig
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2020 6:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Belt content side swapping

Post by Deltasig »

20 hours in and I finally figured out how to fill both lanes on my own. After seeing the rest of these designs I am in amazement. I could have saved so much time if I had checked the forums.

Olacken
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 1:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Belt content side swapping

Post by Olacken »

Deltasig wrote:
Mon Jan 27, 2020 7:16 pm
20 hours in and I finally figured out how to fill both lanes on my own. After seeing the rest of these designs I am in amazement. I could have saved so much time if I had checked the forums.
Yes but it would have been way less satisfying to find the solution and you would be way less amazed from others design.
So you should ask yourself wouldn't it be sad if you had checked the forum before
Wasn't it worth it after all

Post Reply

Return to “Mechanical Throughput Magic (circuit-free)”