Rail Bridges experiments

Smart setups of railway stations, intelligent routing, solutions to complex train-routing problems.
Please provide - only if it makes sense of course - a blueprint of your creation.
Post Reply
mmmPI
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 6:10 pm
Contact:

Rail Bridges experiments

Post by mmmPI » Tue Jun 18, 2019 1:46 am

https://mods.factorio.com/mod/rail-bridge

20190618023237_1.jpg
20190618023237_1.jpg (533.61 KiB) Viewed 927 times
No spacing between rail + road design looks fine to my eyes what do you think ?
20190618023300_1.jpg
20190618023300_1.jpg (505.07 KiB) Viewed 927 times
some love for the mod :)
20190618023353_1.jpg
20190618023353_1.jpg (535.85 KiB) Viewed 927 times
The 1/4
20190618024119_1.jpg
20190618024119_1.jpg (405.24 KiB) Viewed 927 times
Act like a U-turn

20190618030115_1.jpg
20190618030115_1.jpg (532.95 KiB) Viewed 927 times
Looks like it.


I haven't tested in depth all of them, i've prepared my set of blueprint to replace my older design in my actual map, i would correct if i miss something tell me !

“In any field, the Establishment is seldom in pursuit of the truth, because it is composed of those who sincerely believe that they are already in possession of it.”
— Edwin Thompson Jaynes

zOldBulldog
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1105
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 1:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Rail Bridges experiments

Post by zOldBulldog » Tue Jun 18, 2019 12:04 pm

Bridges... awesome concept that needs to be in the core game.

And now that there is a mod for it there is finally a chance that it might happen.

One more mod to add to my wish list.

FredHp
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2016 1:59 am
Contact:

Re: Rail Bridges experiments

Post by FredHp » Tue Jun 18, 2019 2:32 pm

zOldBulldog wrote:
Tue Jun 18, 2019 12:04 pm
Bridges... awesome concept that needs to be in the core game.

And now that there is a mod for it there is finally a chance that it might happen.

One more mod to add to my wish list.
+1 for the "Must Have" mods!
The funny thing is, in factorio, the character is an engineer that knows how to build trains, rails, massive automated industries, can even turn oceans in continents....... but dont know how to build a bridge!

eduran
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Rail Bridges experiments

Post by eduran » Wed Jun 19, 2019 6:59 am

zOldBulldog wrote:
Tue Jun 18, 2019 12:04 pm
Bridges... awesome concept that needs to be in the core game.

And now that there is a mod for it there is finally a chance that it might happen.
The problem is and always has been: how to render bridges properly in Factorio's 2D engine? For a mod it is perfectly OK to just not care and show trains passing trough each other. But releasing that as part of vanilla is a different story and would require proper visualization.

mmmPI
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 6:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Rail Bridges experiments

Post by mmmPI » Wed Jun 19, 2019 10:01 am

I have noticed a mistake in the second picture on a signal, but it is not in the blueprint it seems.

Those have worked fine so far with my LC train, the signaling should work for LCC train but not very long trains for that you would need to replace some signal to prevent a train colliding with itself when it is both above and under the bridge.

the bridges are very to use and allow you to make a network with only merger junction and no crossing without too much planning.

I'm also using a mod to speed the train very fast and i had not notice the visual rendering problem but i have read about it,i also play with lower graphics settings , 42 fps on a 40hz monitor, so the screenshot are not representative, they look even better i guess :)
“In any field, the Establishment is seldom in pursuit of the truth, because it is composed of those who sincerely believe that they are already in possession of it.”
— Edwin Thompson Jaynes

eduran
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Rail Bridges experiments

Post by eduran » Wed Jun 19, 2019 11:23 am

overlap.jpg
overlap.jpg (79.68 KiB) Viewed 767 times
That is what I meant. By no means a criticism of the mod (it's aweseome and I use it myself), but Wube could not release it like that for vanilla. So they'd have to come up with a way to hide the train going below the bridge that does look good. Pretty difficult imo with Factorio's engine and art style.

mmmPI
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 6:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Rail Bridges experiments

Post by mmmPI » Wed Jun 19, 2019 11:48 am

I see better now, i knew train were drawn above the tunnel even if they go under but if you have only 1 train, it just hide the tunnel as if there was a regular crossing and it doesn't pop out to the eye, only if you happen to have train at the same time above and under the tunnel does this happen, which shouldn't happen as you don't station on a bridge or a tunnel it's dangerous !
“In any field, the Establishment is seldom in pursuit of the truth, because it is composed of those who sincerely believe that they are already in possession of it.”
— Edwin Thompson Jaynes

User avatar
Ranger_Aurelien
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 1:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Rail Bridges experiments

Post by Ranger_Aurelien » Wed Jun 19, 2019 6:58 pm

mmmPI wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 11:48 am
I see better now, i knew train were drawn above the tunnel even if they go under but if you have only 1 train, it just hide the tunnel as if there was a regular crossing and it doesn't pop out to the eye, only if you happen to have train at the same time above and under the tunnel does this happen, which shouldn't happen as you don't station on a bridge or a tunnel it's dangerous !
I agree with this! If there's one train "below", then hide it -- otherwise if two are passing, leave as above as it should be visually adequate since the locos should be passing quickly (Since you need Log3 for this the fuel should be high tech!)
-
Ranger Aurelien
"Knowledge Brings Fear" -- Motto of Mars University, Futurama

Post Reply

Return to “Railway Setups”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users