Page 1 of 1

playable Pacman

Posted: Wed Aug 30, 2017 1:34 pm
by arrow in my gluteus
I've recreated pacman in factorio: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_VR_b9Y ... sY&index=1
Although mods were used to speed up development and recording; the game works entirely in vanilla factorio. If your computer is strong enough to run the map at 60fps then you can play in real time. However the map is very CPU intensive. I can only run it at about 0.3 - 0.5 fps so I don't expect anyone to be able to run it at 60fps.
screenshot
screenshot
00657.png (8.9 MiB) Viewed 18574 times
(If you are wondering about the green ghost; factorio doesn't support orange lights)
You can control pacman with the same keys that you use to move around (so probably wasd). There is a big input lag and short key presses won't be picked up, hold the keys for a few frames.

To properly see the entire playing field you'll need to zoom out further than what is normally possible. You can do that by using the following console command

Code: Select all

/c game.player.zoom = 0.10
There is a small bug that can cause you to glitch into a wall. It requires frame perfect input, but when you get less than 1fps frame perfect inputs can be done on accident quite easily. You should be able to just move back to the regular playing field when that happens.

If you want to play for yourself, here is the map:
pacman_release_2_f1.0.zip
(18.11 MiB) Downloaded 529 times
(converted to 1.0 for your convenience)
original save (no longer compatible with latest version of factorio):
pacman_release_2.zip
the map
(23.4 MiB) Downloaded 1887 times
some acknowledgement of resources I've used in the creation of this map:
the creative mode mod: https://mods.factorio.com/mods/Mooncat/creative-mode
Just because gathering all those resources manually would be crazy. Especially with these framerates...
the credo time lapse mod: https://mods.factorio.com/mods/credoman ... meLapseMod
Used for filming. I modified it a bit to allow a screenshot to be taken every tick and to allow the panning and zooming effects.
this input mechanism: http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/f ... =826088745
I modified it a bit to try to lower the latency.
this nuclear power plant: http://imgur.com/gallery/GJjOp
Because I was to lazy to design one for myself. Also modified a bit.
this expandable numerical display: https://www.reddit.com/r/factorio/comme ... n/dhu0v3j/
Because I shouldn't reinvent the wheel.
this pacman start sound:

Code: Select all

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
made with http://miditorio.com/

for the people who want to mess around with the GPU and other stuff to find out how it works, here is an old version of the map (very early in the development) where you will get better fps:
pacman_release_old_1.zip
early version of the map
(8.27 MiB) Downloaded 338 times
pacman_release_old_2.zip
(22.8 MiB) Downloaded 350 times
I've also made some videos explaining how the screen and the GPU work: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dOfWO41 ... vHHZI8YOsY
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O0xsPZZ ... vHHZI8YOsY

Re: playable Pacman

Posted: Wed Aug 30, 2017 2:53 pm
by can00336
Seems like all the UPS is spent in decider combinators. Most of it spent summing networks.

Re: playable Pacman

Posted: Wed Aug 30, 2017 3:06 pm
by arrow in my gluteus
can00336 wrote:Seems like all the UPS is spent in decider combinators. Most of it spent summing networks.
well probably because i have 165k decider combinators.

Re: playable Pacman

Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 10:00 am
by Twinsen
Very nice!

Re: playable Pacman

Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 10:35 am
by dee-
Insane! :shock:

Re: playable Pacman

Posted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 7:17 pm
by paulizleet
can00336 wrote:Seems like all the UPS is spent in decider combinators. Most of it spent summing networks.
What is this monitoring program? It looks really useful.

Re: playable Pacman

Posted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 7:56 pm
by orzelek
paulizleet wrote:
can00336 wrote:Seems like all the UPS is spent in decider combinators. Most of it spent summing networks.
What is this monitoring program? It looks really useful.
Looks like grab from performance profiler in Visual Studio - might be some separate app also.
Since pdb comes with game it can track actual methods nicely.

Re: playable Pacman

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 12:28 am
by bookpublishar
can00336 wrote:Seems like all the UPS is spent in decider combinators. Most of it spent summing networks.
What profiling program are you using?

This PacMan map is amazing BTW!

Re: playable Pacman

Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 6:53 pm
by can00336
paulizleet wrote:What is this monitoring program? It looks really useful.
I'm using the Windows Performance Analyzer. You can get it here:
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/window ... e-analyzer

I use this to take the traces:
https://github.com/google/UIforETW/rele ... ge1.48.zip

Re: playable Pacman

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 5:06 pm
by TeZwo
arrow in my gluteus wrote: this input mechanism: http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/f ... =826088745
I modified it a bit to try to lower the latency.
i'm proud to be a part of your project :D

Re: playable Pacman

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 7:52 pm
by AIucard
wow... next step make factorio in factorio

Re: playable Pacman

Posted: Sat Nov 14, 2020 7:59 pm
by arrow in my gluteus
I've converted the save to 1.0 so it can be loaded on modern factorio versions again: download/file.php?id=64400 (I'm presuming it still works, but I've only tested it for like a minute so it might be that stuff broke during conversion)