[MOD 0.17.X] Air Filtering

Topics and discussion about specific mods
Captain NeL
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 6:00 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15.X] Air Filtering

Post by Captain NeL » Wed May 10, 2017 10:57 am

I can easy make it with 3 default colors (grey, blue, green), but it's looking bad. I mean that the colors do not harmonize.
Image

User avatar
Metamorpher
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15.X] Air Filtering

Post by Metamorpher » Tue May 16, 2017 5:00 am

@Captain NeL

Just play with Lasso Tool and Color Balance in Photoshop. I made this in few minutes, if you use more time you can make it better, and then standard colors will be harmonize.
Attachments
AFM-mk4.png
AFM-mk4.png (547.21 KiB) Viewed 1957 times

aober93
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 9:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15.X] Air Filtering

Post by aober93 » Sat Aug 05, 2017 3:09 pm

So the air filter machine takes a whole stack of filters ,so having them all fed via belts requires the first to be "full" and thus you need to produce hunreds of filters just for a few low lvl machines. Kinda silly bc you only need 1. This is just my opinion that is unintuitive bc 1 filter and 1 recycler facing each other dont have that problem. And 3 filter machines surrounding a recycler might have a race problem with the inserters grabbing filters.

Especially at lower levels the setup of having multiple filter machines against a single recycler becomes logical bc the machines are so slow. But its just then you must be sure to feed all of them with a stack of filters. So at lower levels you need many filters, at higher levels not. Unintuitive imo.

kostermw
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 7:33 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.X] Air Filtering

Post by kostermw » Wed Jan 24, 2018 2:02 pm

Using this mod since 0.13 or so. It really adds something to an already excellent game. Thanks for creating AND maintaining this mod. I owe you a beer!

Got a question about its working: Since these machines use a LOT of energy, I wondered if they stop/pause if the chunk (that it is placed in) is clean?

User avatar
Optera
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2285
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 6:41 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15.X] Air Filtering

Post by Optera » Wed Jan 24, 2018 2:31 pm

They don't.
You can use Pollution Detector for that.

User avatar
Schorty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.17.X] Air Filtering

Post by Schorty » Wed Feb 27, 2019 5:41 pm

Updated to make the mod work with 0.17
Tired of not being able to reduce the pollution? Try the Air-Filter-Mod
With this, you are able to use the pollution levels in your circuit network: Pollution detector

User avatar
Schorty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.17.X] Air Filtering

Post by Schorty » Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:32 pm

Mod has been updated to include technology descriptions. I'm thankful for any translations of the text to other languages (besides german and english). Happy pollution cleaning! :)
Tired of not being able to reduce the pollution? Try the Air-Filter-Mod
With this, you are able to use the pollution levels in your circuit network: Pollution detector

Molay
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 8:01 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.17.X] Air Filtering

Post by Molay » Sun Mar 17, 2019 1:34 pm

Has the mod been updated for the 0.17.12 pollution changes?

Ultros
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2019 4:25 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.17.X] Air Filtering

Post by Ultros » Sat Apr 06, 2019 5:22 am

Molay wrote:
Sun Mar 17, 2019 1:34 pm
Has the mod been updated for the 0.17.12 pollution changes?
I don't know for sure if it has or not, but a level 3 filter was consuming 1 filter item per ~25s and removing 5 pollution units per second (300 absorption/min). For a ~1k spm semi-megabase it took about 120 or so level 3 filters to equal the pollution output, so I think it's reasonably balanced given the current pollution difficulty, since you obviously can't just put all of the filters in one place and call it a day, and have to distribute the filters around the factory to correctly direct the pollution output.

-edit-

After using the mod for a while, there seems to be something strange going on with the pollution absorbed stat. The filters still appear to be displaying as absorbing the max level of pollution even when there is no pollution in the area, and as a result now I have more pollution consumed than created going by the statistics window.

I took a look at the mod code itself and it seems that the filtering is simply accomplished by using a "furnace" which "smelts" unused air filters into used air filters, while producing a negative emissions value. I presume it's an issue with the pollution generation system then. I have filed a bug report viewtopic.php?f=7&t=69164&p=420812#p420812 for this.

User avatar
Schorty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.17.X] Air Filtering

Post by Schorty » Tue Apr 09, 2019 4:12 pm

I can't say for sure, if the recent changes made to the pollution mechanics in the core game are acting wonky because of my mod. I apreciate any observations and will make changes accordingly if neccessary.

As Ultros has stated: The mod works by "producing" negative amounts of pollution and acts like a furnace.
Tired of not being able to reduce the pollution? Try the Air-Filter-Mod
With this, you are able to use the pollution levels in your circuit network: Pollution detector

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users