[MOD 0.17.X] Air Filtering

Topics and discussion about specific mods
toudi
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 5:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by toudi » Sat Aug 15, 2015 10:12 am

It unfortunatly seems that its the way how the game works. According to https://forums.factorio.com/wiki/inde ... #Evolution it calculates the evolution factor based on time, generated pollution and biter bases killed. It looks like it calulates the total sum of pollution being produced (and not the red thing touching enemy bases), so if the grand total of air filters and other machines becomes negative, the evolution will go down (unless you set the game.map_settings.enemy_evolution.pollution_factor to 0). the emission value of 0.5 equals 100 pollution (a fairly upgraded dytech machine). Thats my theory, so I think there is not much to be done here to stop evolution from going down.

Maybe the Devs should look into that so the engative pollution will not decrease evolution or they can think of some other way of calculating evolution factor.

User avatar
Schorty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Schorty » Sat Aug 15, 2015 10:15 am

Thanks for the info! I think, I can't do much about this, too.

I'm working on the mod right now. Maybe I'll try some things.
Tired of not being able to reduce the pollution? Try the Air-Filter-Mod
With this, you are able to use the pollution levels in your circuit network: Pollution detector

User avatar
Schorty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Schorty » Sun Aug 16, 2015 6:13 pm

Rebalanced the pollution reduction. Feedback on this is greatly appreciated :)
Senacharim wrote:Any chance of getting these to burn thru filters at a rate commensurate to the pollution level?

E.G. - In a heavily polluted area, it will use up a filter *very* quickly,
And if placed in an area with no pollution, it'll just not use up the filter at all.
I just released another mod for pollution detection: https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... 93&t=14953
I think one could work with this :)
Tired of not being able to reduce the pollution? Try the Air-Filter-Mod
With this, you are able to use the pollution levels in your circuit network: Pollution detector

User avatar
Devildog
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 8:19 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Devildog » Sun Sep 06, 2015 5:37 am

Nice new update!
Image
Check Out Factorio Mod Madness 2.0 Here : http://bit.ly/1afTDl0
Mod Madness ModPack

Captain NeL
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 6:00 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Captain NeL » Sat Sep 19, 2015 7:34 pm

Yo-ho! Sorry, I forgot about forum. Here is all files, code is broken, sorry, use textures and locale.
Attachments
air-filtering_0.1.2 edited.zip
(921.98 KiB) Downloaded 189 times
Image

User avatar
Schorty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Schorty » Sat Sep 19, 2015 8:08 pm

Ahoi Captain!

Thanks for the files. I already took them and released version 0.3.2! I find it amazing, how kind the factorio community is, with sharing and helping with such things! :)
Tired of not being able to reduce the pollution? Try the Air-Filter-Mod
With this, you are able to use the pollution levels in your circuit network: Pollution detector

Captain NeL
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 6:00 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Captain NeL » Fri Oct 09, 2015 1:07 pm

Yo-ho! I am sorry about locale - twelfth line.
air-filter-recycling=Переработка использованного фильтра
I missed one letter. (this is right version)
Image

User avatar
Schorty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Schorty » Fri Oct 09, 2015 1:09 pm

I'll add this soon. Thanks buddy
Tired of not being able to reduce the pollution? Try the Air-Filter-Mod
With this, you are able to use the pollution levels in your circuit network: Pollution detector

User avatar
Twisted_Code
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 1:15 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Twisted_Code » Fri Oct 16, 2015 5:02 pm

Schorty wrote:
FAQ
you may want to provide a link to the post where you copied that answer from. Without context, any sentence which references the asker's example is likely to cause confusion.
On an unrelated note, what is the recipe for recycling filters? Because if it involves water, I have a rough idea how this mod could be expanded. If it doesn't involve water, maybe it should?
How to report bugs effectively because everyone should know this.
The game's tech tree, a visual reference guide (soon to be depreciated).

User avatar
Xterminator
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 970
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 4:49 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Xterminator » Tue Nov 03, 2015 5:22 pm

Can't believe I haven't looked into this mod before now. :o Very cool concept and see!s lie it could have even more potential in the future.
I am definitely doing a mod spotlight on this later today I think, if that is okay with you OP. :)
Image Image Image

User avatar
Schorty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Schorty » Tue Nov 03, 2015 9:48 pm

Of course, I'm okay with that! But please notice, that there is some balancing work to do ;)
Tired of not being able to reduce the pollution? Try the Air-Filter-Mod
With this, you are able to use the pollution levels in your circuit network: Pollution detector

toudi
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 5:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by toudi » Mon Dec 28, 2015 3:08 pm

I'v found an exploit in the "Recycle used air filter" recipe:
It can accept productivity modules and produce additional air filters.
Tested with Bob's mod God modules. I'll have to try it with regular modules.

Kingoftime
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Kingoftime » Sun Feb 28, 2016 4:26 pm

Does anyone have this running on the steam release? id really love to use this mod again!

Kingoftime
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Kingoftime » Mon Feb 29, 2016 9:03 pm

when i try to put an air filter in, i get an error that says the filter cannot be smelted...

User avatar
Schorty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Schorty » Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:45 am

Hi,

I haven't had the time to test it. Might look into it soon™ ;)
Tired of not being able to reduce the pollution? Try the Air-Filter-Mod
With this, you are able to use the pollution levels in your circuit network: Pollution detector

User avatar
Schorty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Schorty » Thu Mar 03, 2016 1:06 pm

Hello again,

just tested and it works just fine. Do you have a savegame for me? The problem might come from converting from an old version of air-filtering. You could try to rebuild the already placed filtering machines. But I'd like to have a look myself, so if you can provide the save file.. ;)

Greetings,
Schorty
Tired of not being able to reduce the pollution? Try the Air-Filter-Mod
With this, you are able to use the pollution levels in your circuit network: Pollution detector

Kingoftime
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Kingoftime » Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:15 pm

Hello again, I tried using it again just for the sake of it and it is working now, it think it didn't work before because I cheated the item in without getting the research first? But using free play mode (which I have just discovered) allowed it to work 100%

Sorry for the bother. But thank you for the response and concern!

User avatar
Schorty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Schorty » Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:18 pm

No worries. I don't know why it hasn't worked. Maybe you added an old machine which should be converted. Who knows :)
Tired of not being able to reduce the pollution? Try the Air-Filter-Mod
With this, you are able to use the pollution levels in your circuit network: Pollution detector

User avatar
jouki
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 11:40 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by jouki » Mon Mar 07, 2016 11:56 pm

I took a look on mod and I'm sorry to say but it's definitely overpowered. I've tried change values to:
Filter values
and still is seems too much. Power usage changed to:
Power usage
Now I'd set the values (these should be balanced):
(these [pollution] numbers are huge to comparing with the rest of values from the game)
Final values
I've change recipes for recycling too because it doesn't seem logical recycling air filters by using a coal. :lol:
Recipes
I've improved graphics little bit but core image is taken from printeres so it's probably under license (I think) :cry: so I guess it's only for personal use: prntscr . com/aciakb (I know, it's not accurate)
After these changes the game is smoothly playable with this mod imo :P
Now you have to think if you want to filter the air like "yes you can but you gonna need some space for these machines" and These machines are not imb4-Filters that can clear the air in a splitsecond.
Last edited by jouki on Tue Mar 08, 2016 7:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

Yinan
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 2:40 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Air Filtering

Post by Yinan » Tue Mar 08, 2016 6:29 am

jouki wrote:I've change recipes for recycling too because it doesn't seem logical recycling air filters by using a coal. :lol:
Ever heard of Carbon Filters?
And Coals main component is carbon. So you're basically changing the main filter-part (the carbon) when you recycle air filters. So using coal there is very logical.

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users