[MOD 0.12.x] Force Fields - energy powered walls

Topics and discussion about specific mods
User avatar
Ranakastrasz
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2124
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:05 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Force Fields - energy powered walls

Post by Ranakastrasz »

In the latest version, Accumulators refuse to feed each other, regardless of any priority thinggies I tested.
I am using a modified laser turret to consume power myself.
My Mods:
Modular Armor Revamp - V16
Large Chests - V16
Agent Orange - V16
Flare - V16
Easy Refineries - V16

Fatmice
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 808
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 11:03 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Force Fields - energy powered walls

Post by Fatmice »

Accus is hard coded to be tertiary in priority. Nothing you do will change that. It's recorded in the release notes.
Maintainer and developer of Atomic Power. See here for more information.
Current release: 0.6.6 - Requires 0.14.x
Example build - Requires 0.14.x

User avatar
ZombieMooose
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 289
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Force Fields - energy powered walls

Post by ZombieMooose »

awesome idea, good job
"men will literally learn everything about ancient Rome instead of going to therapy"

CodeRedAlert
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 5:57 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Force Fields - energy powered walls

Post by CodeRedAlert »

Few issues, placed a Forcefield Emitter and got this. Error while running the event handler: __Force Fields__/control.lua:862: attempt to compare nil with number.
Also this one when I use a Force Field Tool on a Force Field Emitter. Error while running the event handler: __Force Fields__/control.lua:1395: LuaGameScript doesn't contain key get_localised_entity_name.
No respect, no heart for nature
led by greed they tear our soil
ripped, the sky, the damage major
the air is at the boil.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13209
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Force Fields - energy powered walls

Post by Rseding91 »

CodeRedAlert wrote:Few issues, placed a Forcefield Emitter and got this. Error while running the event handler: __Force Fields__/control.lua:862: attempt to compare nil with number.
Also this one when I use a Force Field Tool on a Force Field Emitter. Error while running the event handler: __Force Fields__/control.lua:1395: LuaGameScript doesn't contain key get_localised_entity_name.
I'll take a look at them and get them fixed :)
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

User avatar
Ranakastrasz
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2124
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:05 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Force Fields - energy powered walls

Post by Ranakastrasz »

You can use a dummy-laser to drain power without running into priority issues. Suppress it's attack in whichever way you want, set it's capacity really high, and remove the passive drain. I have one in my Modular Armor Revamp mod, which works that way.
My Mods:
Modular Armor Revamp - V16
Large Chests - V16
Agent Orange - V16
Flare - V16
Easy Refineries - V16

AartBluestoke
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 4:50 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Force Fields - energy powered walls

Post by AartBluestoke »

CodeRedAlert wrote:Few issues, placed a Forcefield Emitter and got this. Error while running the event handler: __Force Fields__/control.lua:862: attempt to compare nil with number.
Also this one when I use a Force Field Tool on a Force Field Emitter. Error while running the event handler: __Force Fields__/control.lua:1395: LuaGameScript doesn't contain key get_localised_entity_name.
I'm also seeing this. (running the shadowMegaModpack, latest version), factorio is default english translation

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13209
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Force Fields - energy powered walls

Post by Rseding91 »

AartBluestoke wrote:
CodeRedAlert wrote:Few issues, placed a Forcefield Emitter and got this. Error while running the event handler: __Force Fields__/control.lua:862: attempt to compare nil with number.
Also this one when I use a Force Field Tool on a Force Field Emitter. Error while running the event handler: __Force Fields__/control.lua:1395: LuaGameScript doesn't contain key get_localised_entity_name.
I'm also seeing this. (running the shadowMegaModpack, latest version), factorio is default english translation
I should have a fix out this weekend. I've had finals this past week so I haven't been able to put time towards this.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13209
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Force Fields - energy powered walls

Post by Rseding91 »

Ok, I fixed the error. Let me know if you have any other problems.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

User avatar
aRatNamedSammy
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Force Fields - energy powered walls

Post by aRatNamedSammy »

got a bug , running 12.22, game started on 12.20.
bug force field.png
bug force field.png (441.79 KiB) Viewed 8383 times
mods used
factorio mods.JPG
factorio mods.JPG (54.83 KiB) Viewed 8383 times
Factorio mods.zip
(22.93 MiB) Downloaded 282 times
easy to repeat, just try to change anything on the forcefield, or remove it, it crash the game
Sammy-1220-mods2.zip
(32.8 MiB) Downloaded 320 times
Teeth for Two (so sorry my bad english)

Shegar
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 11:30 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Force Fields - energy powered walls

Post by Shegar »

aRatNamedSammy wrote:got a bug , running 12.22, game started on 12.20.
easy to repeat, just try to change anything on the forcefield, or remove it, it crash the game
Just fix it by youself, in "control.lua" (s.862) just wrap that compare in two checks:

Code: Select all

if field.health ~= nil then
	if forcefieldTypes[field.name]["maxHealth"] ~= nil then
		if field.health >= forcefieldTypes[field.name]["maxHealth"] then
			  table.remove(emitterTable["generating-fields"], k)
		end
	end
end
There is another bug - purple field will throw an exception when destroyed, but it can be fixed by removing

Code: Select all

deathEntity = "forcefield-death-damage"
in beginning of the same file. That removes main feature of purple fields, but prevent further exceptions.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13209
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Force Fields - energy powered walls

Post by Rseding91 »

Shegar wrote:Just fix it by youself, in "control.lua" (s.862) just wrap that compare in two checks:

Code: Select all

if field.health ~= nil then
	if forcefieldTypes[field.name]["maxHealth"] ~= nil then
		if field.health >= forcefieldTypes[field.name]["maxHealth"] then
			  table.remove(emitterTable["generating-fields"], k)
		end
	end
end
That won't fix the real bug. That just suppresses it.
Shegar wrote: There is another bug - purple field will throw an exception when destroyed, but it can be fixed by removing

Code: Select all

deathEntity = "forcefield-death-damage"
in beginning of the same file. That removes main feature of purple fields, but prevent further exceptions.
I'll look into both of these and get them fixed hopefully tonight.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

Fundevin
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 10:41 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Force Fields - energy powered walls

Post by Fundevin »

Hey guys, since the author hasn't responded yet, I figured out what was causing the simple crashes. He forgot to include the max health value in the tables.

Here is a quick fix version.

Force Fields_1.0.4 crashfix

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13209
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Force Fields - energy powered walls

Post by Rseding91 »

Fundevin wrote:Hey guys, since the author hasn't responded yet, I figured out what was causing the simple crashes. He forgot to include the max health value in the tables.

Here is a quick fix version.

Force Fields_1.0.4 crashfix
They're meant to get populated automatically from the in-game values for those entities. Sorry about not updating this yet - I've been super busy recently.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13209
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Force Fields - energy powered walls

Post by Rseding91 »

Sorry about the long no-update. I fixed all of the outstanding issues.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

vedrit
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 292
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 2:25 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Force Fields - energy powered walls

Post by vedrit »

I'm getting an error in control.lua on line 788, attempting to index a nil value. I'm not entirely sure what's causing this to trigger in-game, as sometimes it'll happen as soon as I put down an emitter, sometime it won't happen for a few minutes afterwards.

douglasg14b
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 8:41 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Force Fields - energy powered walls

Post by douglasg14b »

vedrit wrote:I'm getting an error in control.lua on line 788, attempting to index a nil value. I'm not entirely sure what's causing this to trigger in-game, as sometimes it'll happen as soon as I put down an emitter, sometime it won't happen for a few minutes afterwards.
Same, I'm also noticing that the original post has not been updated since 2014, has the file in the download link been updated?

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13209
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Force Fields - energy powered walls

Post by Rseding91 »

douglasg14b wrote:
vedrit wrote:I'm getting an error in control.lua on line 788, attempting to index a nil value. I'm not entirely sure what's causing this to trigger in-game, as sometimes it'll happen as soon as I put down an emitter, sometime it won't happen for a few minutes afterwards.
Same, I'm also noticing that the original post has not been updated since 2014, has the file in the download link been updated?
It has, I'm not sure why it doesn't show the correct edit date...

I believe I've fixed the error above and I've updated the download and version again.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

Yinan
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 2:40 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Force Fields - energy powered walls

Post by Yinan »

Try changing some text in the first post as well (just add a space or something) in addition to changing the attachment. That should change it to the right date...

daniel34
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2761
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 7:30 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Force Fields - energy powered walls

Post by daniel34 »

Rseding91 wrote:I'm not sure why it doesn't show the correct edit date...
As moderator the edit date is only updated when you also add an edit reason. If you don't want a reason to be displayed, edit the post again and remove the reason.
quick links: log file | graphical issues | wiki

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”