[MOD] Deadlock's Stacking Beltboxes & Compact Loaders

Topics and discussion about specific mods
User avatar
Deadlock989
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2528
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:41 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] Deadlock's Stacking Beltbox (& Compact Loaders)

Post by Deadlock989 »

dood wrote:Would it be possible to have stacking/unstacking not affect the production statistics?
It kind of falsifies the numbers.
Enabled for the next version.
Image

Arch-kain
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 11:12 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] Deadlock's Stacking Beltbox (& Compact Loaders)

Post by Arch-kain »

Hello o/
I make a minimod to add more stacking for items from another mod (Pyanodon) in my current save

The first time I added a few items in data-final-fixes.lua (with the same tech as "deadlock-stacking-1"). It did not work, so I tried to make a thing I don't understand: I copied the migrations folder and edit it to add my items.
"It work! Yay! /play"

But today, i wanted to add additional items, it didnt work without reset the technology with commands

So, I missed something or I have to learn more modding factorio for this? ^^
(Sorry for my bad english)

User avatar
Deadlock989
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2528
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:41 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] Deadlock's Stacking Beltbox (& Compact Loaders)

Post by Deadlock989 »

Arch-kain wrote:The first time I added a few items in data-final-fixes.lua (with the same tech as "deadlock-stacking-1"). It did not work, so I tried to make a thing I don't understand: I copied the migrations folder and edit it to add my items.
Yikes. No, don't do that.

Did you follow the example in the readme.pdf?

Post your code and I can help.
Image

Arch-kain
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 11:12 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] Deadlock's Stacking Beltbox (& Compact Loaders)

Post by Arch-kain »

That's what I said to myself yeah :D


And yes I think, here my .lua

Code: Select all

-- get DSB to stack additional items
if deadlock_stacking then
	-- first edit : work
	deadlock_stacking.create("log", nil, "deadlock-stacking-1")
	deadlock_stacking.create("soil", nil, "deadlock-stacking-1")
	deadlock_stacking.create("coke", nil, "deadlock-stacking-1")
	
	deadlock_stacking.create("fawogae", nil, "deadlock-stacking-1")
	deadlock_stacking.create("ralesia", nil, "deadlock-stacking-1")
	deadlock_stacking.create("bonemeal", nil, "deadlock-stacking-1")
	deadlock_stacking.create("rich-clay", nil, "deadlock-stacking-1")
	
	deadlock_stacking.create("ash", nil, "deadlock-stacking-1")
	
	deadlock_stacking.create("iron-oxide", nil, "deadlock-stacking-1")
	deadlock_stacking.create("molybdenum-ore", nil, "deadlock-stacking-1")
	deadlock_stacking.create("regolites", nil, "deadlock-stacking-1")
	deadlock_stacking.create("volcanic-pipe", nil, "deadlock-stacking-1")
	deadlock_stacking.create("kimberlite-rock", nil, "deadlock-stacking-1")
	
	-- 2nd edit : not work
	deadlock_stacking.create("crushed-copper", nil, "deadlock-stacking-1")
	deadlock_stacking.create("crushed-iron", nil, "deadlock-stacking-1")
	deadlock_stacking.create("crushed-molybdenite", nil, "deadlock-stacking-1")
	deadlock_stacking.create("crushed-regolite", nil, "deadlock-stacking-1")
	deadlock_stacking.create("crushed-kimberlite", nil, "deadlock-stacking-1")
end

-- get DCM to crate additional items
if deadlock_crating then
	deadlock_crating.create("log", "deadlock-crating-1")
	deadlock_crating.create("soil", "deadlock-crating-1")
	deadlock_crating.create("coke", "deadlock-crating-1")
	
	deadlock_crating.create("fawogae", "deadlock-crating-1")
	deadlock_crating.create("ralesia", "deadlock-crating-1")
	deadlock_crating.create("bonemeal", "deadlock-crating-1")
	deadlock_crating.create("rich-clay", "deadlock-crating-1")
	
	deadlock_crating.create("ash", "deadlock-crating-1")
	
	deadlock_crating.create("iron-oxide", "deadlock-crating-1")
	deadlock_crating.create("molybdenum-ore", "deadlock-crating-1")
	deadlock_crating.create("regolites", "deadlock-crating-1")
	deadlock_crating.create("volcanic-pipe", "deadlock-crating-1")
	deadlock_crating.create("kimberlite-rock", "deadlock-crating-1")
	
	deadlock_crating.create("crushed-copper", "deadlock-crating-1")
	deadlock_crating.create("crushed-iron", "deadlock-crating-1")
	deadlock_crating.create("crushed-molybdenite", "deadlock-crating-1")
	deadlock_crating.create("crushed-regolite", "deadlock-crating-1")
	deadlock_crating.create("crushed-kimberlite", "deadlock-crating-1")
end

I specify that I putted both DeadlockStacking & DeadlockCrating optional (if it changes something else)

Nexela
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1828
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 11:09 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] Deadlock's Stacking Beltbox (& Compact Loaders)

Post by Nexela »

putting it in a migrations/file will only cause it to run once,

you need to put it in the root in data-updates.lua (I think deadlock can confirm)

User avatar
Deadlock989
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2528
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:41 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] Deadlock's Stacking Beltbox (& Compact Loaders)

Post by Deadlock989 »

Nexela wrote:putting it in a migrations/file will only cause it to run once,

you need to put it in the root in data-updates.lua (I think deadlock can confirm)
data-final-fixes.lua
Image

User avatar
Deadlock989
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2528
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:41 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] Deadlock's Stacking Beltbox (& Compact Loaders)

Post by Deadlock989 »

Arch-kain wrote:That's what I said to myself yeah :D

And yes I think, here my .lua

I specify that I putted both DeadlockStacking & DeadlockCrating optional (if it changes something else)
That looks OK to me. Check it's in data-final-fixes.lua, and check that you added the dependencies (step 1 in the readme). If it's still not working then go to the mod settings and from the main menu turn on logging for DSB and DCM, maybe that will give you some help about where the process is failing (you should see messages from the mods saying how far they got with setting up your items - no messages means nothing is getting through to them at all).

You could also put all your Py items into a table and use a for loop to go through it, that way, you don't have to cut and paste for the two mods.

Edited to add: if you are making these changes and then loading a save where the stacking research has already been done, you won't see the changes. Then you do have to get migrations involved. Look at the 1.2.0 migrations file in DSB, the same thing should work. Copy the file and put it in your own migrations folder but rename it so it has the name of your mod followed by the current version of your mod.
Image

Arch-kain
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 11:12 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] Deadlock's Stacking Beltbox (& Compact Loaders)

Post by Arch-kain »

My code is well in data-final-fixes.lua file (I had this and migrations-like things before, I know the difference between json and lua ^^)
Ok I added Pyanodon mods in dependencies (I forgot, silly me), nothing change.

No logs at all (in the game chat? Neither in last lines in factorio-current.log) : nothing happens in logs when I put iron plate or crushed iron in a beltbox? '-' unless "crushed iron cannot be smelted"

Like before "iron-oxide" still work but not crushed iron.
However, both are show in the tech view (like before too)

info.json

Code: Select all

{
	"name": "MoreDeadlockStackCrate-Py",
	"version": "0.1.4",
	"title": "More Deadlock's stack & crate - Py",
	"author": "Arch-kain",
	"contact": "",
	"homepage": "",
	"factorio_version": "0.16",
	"dependencies": ["base >= 0.16.36", "DeadlockStacking", "DeadlockCrating", "pycoalprocessing", "pyfusionenergy", "pyindustry"],
	"description": "Add more stacking recipes from Py mods"
}

User avatar
Xagros
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 4:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] Deadlock's Stacking Beltbox (& Compact Loaders)

Post by Xagros »

I'm trying to contact you with some errors.

1) The white belt of Bob mod does not change the design.

2) When changing the belt style option, ShinyBob_Graphics mod does not work.

3) When used with ShinyBob_Graphics and ShinyBob_Icons, colors of the 4th and 5th tier are not reversed.


And I fixed the problem you told me yesterday. Thank you.
Attachments
002.PNG
002.PNG (182.08 KiB) Viewed 4485 times
001.PNG
001.PNG (14.14 KiB) Viewed 4485 times
000000.PNG
000000.PNG (580.12 KiB) Viewed 4485 times
ImageImage

User avatar
Deadlock989
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2528
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:41 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] Deadlock's Stacking Beltbox (& Compact Loaders)

Post by Deadlock989 »

Xagros wrote:1) The white belt of Bob mod does not change the design.
Yeah, I'm aware that Bob has reached new heights of grind and gone full Tier 0. The "snail's pace" belt is a problem for me because I never expected belt tiers that would have no underground and no splitter, I would have to add new checks and exceptions just for this. And a 6.67 i/s loader would be pointless. Bob is still tinkering with all that so I'm waiting for him to get bored and stop breaking things before I decide what to do about it.
Xagros wrote:2) When changing the belt style option, ShinyBob_Graphics mod does not work.
Tell ShinyBob.
Xagros wrote:3) When used with ShinyBob_Graphics and ShinyBob_Icons, colors of the 4th and 5th tier are not reversed.
ShinyBob is not supported.
And I fixed the problem you told me yesterday. Thank you.
Thank you.
Last edited by Deadlock989 on Thu Mar 29, 2018 8:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image

User avatar
Deadlock989
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2528
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:41 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] Deadlock's Stacking Beltbox (& Compact Loaders)

Post by Deadlock989 »

Arch-kain wrote:However, both are show in the tech view (like before too)
If they're showing up on the "T" screen tech tree, but not working in game, then it's definitely the migrations issues I described above.
Image

dood
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 360
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] Deadlock's Stacking Beltbox (& Compact Loaders)

Post by dood »

Deadlock989 wrote:
Xagros wrote:1) The white belt of Bob mod does not change the design.
Yeah, I'm aware that Bob has reached new heights of grind and gone full Tier 0. The "snail's pace" belt is a problem for me because I never expected belt tiers that would have no underground and no splitter, I would have to add new checks and exceptions just for this. And a 6.67 i/s loader would be pointless. Bob is still tinkering with all that so I'm waiting for him to get bored and stop breaking things before I decide what to do about it.
Would one beltbox and one loader that is infinitely fast rather than different tiers not solve all this?
At the yellow belts stage, you can and will most likely solve your throughput issues by upgrading to red belt and it is only from that point onward that no comparable jump in throughput can be achieved with belt upgrades alone and this is where stacking starts to come into play.

A slower than yellow belt should be irrelevant to this.

Arch-kain
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 11:12 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] Deadlock's Stacking Beltbox (& Compact Loaders)

Post by Arch-kain »

Ok it work. Thank you : )

So, everytime I want to add more items, can I copy/paste the migrations .lua file (w current version in its name ofc) to actualize the technologie?

User avatar
Deadlock989
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2528
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:41 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] Deadlock's Stacking Beltbox (& Compact Loaders)

Post by Deadlock989 »

Arch-kain wrote:Ok it work. Thank you : )

So, everytime I want to add more items, can I copy/paste the migrations .lua file (w current version in its name ofc) to actualize the technologie?
Pretty much, yes.
Image

User avatar
Deadlock989
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2528
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:41 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] Deadlock's Stacking Beltbox (& Compact Loaders)

Post by Deadlock989 »

dood wrote:Would one beltbox and one loader that is infinitely fast rather than different tiers not solve all this?
Uh?

Solve all what? The tier 0 belts? No, and anyway, it's not really an issue. I will get around to enabling the belt theme for them at some point but there won't be T0 beltboxes or loaders, life is literally too short.

Besides, there's little in the way of support for infinite-speed anything in Factorio, probably because it doesn't make sense. There is a hard limit of one crafting process per tick, I can't be bothered to do the maths for all the implications, but you're looking at an upper limit of 60 stacks per second in the stacking direction, or 1.5 blue belts worth. All this would do is effectively make beltboxes cost no electricity to run because they'd be idle at least two thirds of the time, or result in wild spikes of power that you'd need to smooth out with batteries somehow, sounds like a pain in the arse to me. There are no infinite speed belts (even though, bizarrely, people have actually asked for them) and therefore there are no infinite loaders. I (like most other right-thinking people) think loaders should have a power cost as well, but they don't, so we live with it. Many other things come in tiers in Factorio, modded Factorio even more so. Having one magic tier would just mean they'd have to be cheap to make because no ingredient variation etc. etc. Sorry but overall this seems like a terrible idea, I'm not changing everyone's saved games under their noses without a very good reason.
Image

dood
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 360
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] Deadlock's Stacking Beltbox (& Compact Loaders)

Post by dood »

Deadlock989 wrote:
dood wrote:Would one beltbox and one loader that is infinitely fast rather than different tiers not solve all this?
Solve all what? The tier 0 belts?
Different speed belts in general, I mean.
One size fits all and all that.
Deadlock989 wrote:There is a hard limit of one crafting process per tick, I can't be bothered to do the maths for all the implications, but you're looking at an upper limit of 60 stacks per second in the stacking direction, or 1.5 blue belts worth.
Well you could always fiddle with that by outputting more than 1 stack.
The hardcap would be 120 items/s if they ate 10 and output 2 stacks, etc.
Don't you do that for green bobs belts already? They run at a pesky 66 items/s if I remember correctly.
Deadlock989 wrote:All this would do is effectively make beltboxes cost no electricity to run because they'd be idle at least two thirds of the time, or result in wild spikes of power that you'd need to smooth out with batteries somehow, sounds like a pain in the arse to me.
Well now that you mention it, they spike a lot already if your belts don't run at full tilt.
If you want to smooth that out for good, perhaps you could make them always drain a static amount of power regardless of activity.
Or would items that are all drain 0 consumption cause problems?
Deadlock989 wrote:Having one magic tier would just mean they'd have to be cheap to make because no ingredient variation etc. etc. Sorry but overall this seems like a terrible idea, I'm not changing everyone's saved games under their noses without a very good reason.
Why cheap?
Like I said, I think those things are mid to late game items so just have the most expensive variant.
If this kind of belt stacking ever gets vanillafied, I would want it to be a post blue belt thing that only has 1 entity because there's nothing "low tech early game" about this.

User avatar
Deadlock989
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2528
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:41 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] Deadlock's Stacking Beltbox (& Compact Loaders)

Post by Deadlock989 »

Remember that thing I said about not changing people's saves under their noses without a good reason?

That.
Image

Arch-kain
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 11:12 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] Deadlock's Stacking Beltbox (& Compact Loaders)

Post by Arch-kain »

Can we limit items stack too much in input of a beltbox?

I tried with a miniloader, it work fine. But not with your compact loader

User avatar
Deadlock989
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2528
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:41 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] Deadlock's Stacking Beltbox (& Compact Loaders)

Post by Deadlock989 »

Arch-kain wrote:Can we limit items stack too much in input of a beltbox?

I tried with a miniloader, it work fine. But not with your compact loader
Sorry, don't quite understand the question - do you mean how many items the loader puts into the input inventory of the beltbox? Not sure what "too much" means but I can't control that, it is vanilla loader behaviour. Miniloaders are not really loaders, they are hidden inserters.
Image

User avatar
Deadlock989
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2528
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:41 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16.x] Deadlock's Stacking Beltbox (& Compact Loaders)

Post by Deadlock989 »

I'm aware that Bob just broke literally everything again. Working on it.
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”