[MOD 0.16] Realistic Reactors

Topics and discussion about specific mods
hatifur
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 8:45 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16] Realistic Reactors

Post by hatifur » Tue Oct 16, 2018 8:47 pm

Hi,

I get the following error when I insert fuel into a reactor:

Code: Select all

Error while running event RealisticReactors::on_tick (ID 0)
__RealisticReactors__/control.lua:898: bad argument #-1 to 'insert' (string expected, got table)
Is there a way to fix this myself? :)
(I'm totally not a coder...)

- Hati

Mortico
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2018 5:41 am

Re: [MOD 0.16] Realistic Reactors

Post by Mortico » Wed Oct 17, 2018 3:41 am

Also ran into an issue when deconstructing some uranium miner blueprint I had placed.
Screenshot 2018-10-16 23.37.05.png
Screenshot 2018-10-16 23.37.05.png (2.65 MiB) Viewed 370 times

User avatar
Light
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 6:19 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16] Realistic Reactors

Post by Light » Thu Oct 18, 2018 6:54 pm

Mortico wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 1:54 am
My only real issues are now that the reactor doesn't have reliable auxiliary power, need to figure out how many solar panels it needs to be self-sufficient. Also, the power levels tend to dip from time to time as the reactor is cooled below the 100 mark. Trying to find ways to smooth it out, but it's been challenging.

That was a fun puzzle to solve, if just a bit frustrating.
Despite my old design working fine, upon reading this I've decided to do a redesign for a smoother system, plus bots instead of belts to minimize the footprint further.

Auxiliary power is definitely a problem with the new change, especially with reactors now consuming a great deal of power upon startup (3.7 MW each) and when cooling (1.1 MW each + tower). Solar power alone seems to be too costly and ineffective, with steam engines being my preferred pick.

New Steam Auxiliary Power

The 16 reactors require 60.7 MW for startup which is well beyond 6x Mk4 steam engines, so that phase does require tapping into the main grid. The cooling of all reactors consumes 21.3 MW out of the 21.5 MW provided by the steam engines both day and night as required. The perfect number.

Finished Design

I could make it a bit smaller, but I tend to run through it often so gaps are needed. It's at 1.7 GW as before, but with a beefy combustion core keeping it stable and more compact than solar ever could. With rare bursts of pollution easily absorbed by the trees while still providing a sink for solid fuel, I'm quite satisfied with the decision.

User avatar
IngoKnieto
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:29 am

Re: [MOD 0.16] Realistic Reactors

Post by IngoKnieto » Fri Oct 19, 2018 9:42 pm

hatifur wrote:
Tue Oct 16, 2018 8:47 pm
I get the following error when I insert fuel into a reactor:

Code: Select all

Error while running event RealisticReactors::on_tick (ID 0)
__RealisticReactors__/control.lua:898: bad argument #-1 to 'insert' (string expected, got table)
Mortico wrote:
Wed Oct 17, 2018 3:41 am
Also ran into an issue when deconstructing some uranium miner blueprint I had placed.

Screenshot 2018-10-16 23.37.05.png
Both should be fixed in version 2.0.3. Thanks for reporting...

User avatar
Light
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 6:19 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16] Realistic Reactors

Post by Light » Sat Oct 20, 2018 10:47 pm

When attempting to use the deconstruction planner on a reactor ghost:

Image

User avatar
septemberWaves
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 7:49 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16] Realistic Reactors

Post by septemberWaves » Tue Nov 20, 2018 12:07 am

Sorry if this has already been asked, but is this mod compatible with other mods that introduce new reactor fuels? Specifically, I'm wondering if it's compatible with MadClown's nuclear mods.

User avatar
Light
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 6:19 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16] Realistic Reactors

Post by Light » Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:55 am

septemberWaves wrote:
Tue Nov 20, 2018 12:07 am
Sorry if this has already been asked, but is this mod compatible with other mods that introduce new reactor fuels? Specifically, I'm wondering if it's compatible with MadClown's nuclear mods.
The dynamic fuel type formula isn't compatible with MadClown's (Which I also use), so you'll be forced to use Ingo's formula for full efficiency of all the fuel types for the time being. Otherwise the thorium fuel doesn't burn hotter than typical uranium.

I've tried adding it manually but I ended up getting a bug now and then, so hopefully official support will come soon.

Tintenkobold
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2018 11:38 am

Re: [MOD 0.16] Realistic Reactors

Post by Tintenkobold » Sat Dec 01, 2018 11:41 am

Hi! First things first: Thanks for the great mod! I really enjoy playing around and optimizing the new stuff.

When it comes to producing energy I run into a bug with crash:

When I place a heat pipe next to the reactor I get the following error message and the game crashes: https://imgur.com/xuuK0To
Attachments
heat.png
heat.png (86.78 KiB) Viewed 213 times

lachesis
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 9:01 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16] Realistic Reactors

Post by lachesis » Sun Dec 23, 2018 9:09 pm

I've just finished a 4-reactor build with a steam buffer, using Bob's highest level turbines and heat exchangers. These do not begin producing power until 765C, which helps with the reactor startup, but also requires me to run pretty hot (~840C) before all of my heat exchangers reach the 765C minimum required for them to produce steam. However, I've noticed that with a single cooling tower per reactor, ECCS is unable to cool the machines at full power output with no steam demand. The slowly creep up towards 1000C even with a Mk3 pump forcing cold water in and drawing hot water out. Is this expected? Do I need two cooling towers per reactor to allow for passive safety? I have temporarily worked around this by adding some additional cooling towers to the steam system which will draw from the buffer if it goes above 720K steam. I also configured the reactors to scram at 715K steam and start at 30K steam. I will post some pictures of my setup once I fix a bug or two with the steam buffer combinators.

Edit: blueprint of my reactor design


screenshots:
quad-reactor-overview.jpg
quad-reactor-overview.jpg (586.52 KiB) Viewed 151 times
quad-reactor.jpg
quad-reactor.jpg (1.68 MiB) Viewed 151 times

roze
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2016 10:31 am

Re: [MOD 0.16] Realistic Reactors

Post by roze » Mon Dec 24, 2018 9:49 pm

Light wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 6:54 pm
Finished Design
No blueprint string? :)

xeln4g4
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2016 2:42 pm

Re: [MOD 0.16] Realistic Reactors

Post by xeln4g4 » Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:09 pm

Tintenkobold wrote:
Sat Dec 01, 2018 11:41 am
Hi! First things first: Thanks for the great mod! I really enjoy playing around and optimizing the new stuff.

When it comes to producing energy I run into a bug with crash:

When I place a heat pipe next to the reactor I get the following error message and the game crashes: https://imgur.com/xuuK0To
Same mistake here, can you solve this please, it's game breaking bug, it happens when you click to open reactor control panel

EDIT: It tends to happen when i use bluprint to put down reactor and various connections, if i place down reactor and connected pipes manually it seems to work fine.
reactorbug.jpg
reactorbug.jpg (968.87 KiB) Viewed 113 times

glee8e
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 7:26 am

Re: [MOD 0.16] Realistic Reactors

Post by glee8e » Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:54 pm

xeln4g4 wrote:
Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:09 pm
Same mistake here, can you solve this please, it's game breaking bug, it happens when you click to open reactor control panel

EDIT: It tends to happen when i use bluprint to put down reactor and various connections, if i place down reactor and connected pipes manually it seems to work fine.

reactorbug.jpg
I tried sandbox and blowed up a quad-linked reactor. The moment the explosion took place the game crashed with the same error message. Quite epic though :D, as the explosion power is so great that it shaked the basic laws of the game, crashing it as a result

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”