[MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Topics and discussion about specific mods
Cadde
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by Cadde » Sun May 26, 2019 5:12 pm

mrvn wrote:
Sun May 26, 2019 2:35 pm
So instead of a 100m belt segment you place a 100m wide chest. Insert at one end and un-insert at the other ende?

Do you use inserters to fill the wide chests of mini-loaders?
Image

Just like that. Only places i use belts are to feed turret defenses.
Since it's a Pyanodon full packed game, there's just so many different items and so much to move around and balance out that using belts would be very impractical in the long term. Especially as far as base area is concerned.

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3520
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by mrvn » Mon May 27, 2019 10:16 am

Cadde wrote:
Sun May 26, 2019 5:12 pm
mrvn wrote:
Sun May 26, 2019 2:35 pm
So instead of a 100m belt segment you place a 100m wide chest. Insert at one end and un-insert at the other ende?

Do you use inserters to fill the wide chests of mini-loaders?
Image

Just like that. Only places i use belts are to feed turret defenses.
Since it's a Pyanodon full packed game, there's just so many different items and so much to move around and balance out that using belts would be very impractical in the long term. Especially as far as base area is concerned.
It's too bad loaders can't have their filter set by circuits.

User avatar
Therax
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 418
Joined: Sun May 21, 2017 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by Therax » Mon May 27, 2019 9:55 pm

But they can? They’re just inserters.
Miniloader — UPS-friendly 1x1 loaders
Bulk Rail Loaders — Rapid train loading and unloading
Beltlayer & Pipelayer — Route items and fluids freely underground

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3520
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by mrvn » Wed May 29, 2019 11:41 am

Therax wrote:
Mon May 27, 2019 9:55 pm
But they can? They’re just inserters.
I was talking about loaders (the vanilla entity), not mini-loaders.

eduran
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by eduran » Fri May 31, 2019 5:15 pm

The latest update resets filters on some of the faster miniloaders (Bob's Turbo and several Ultimate Belts). And they work on any item when no filter is set. When setting the filter again, everything works as expected. I have to do some serious cleanup all across my factory, everything is clogged with all the wrong items :D

User avatar
Therax
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 418
Joined: Sun May 21, 2017 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by Therax » Fri May 31, 2019 5:29 pm

eduran wrote:
Fri May 31, 2019 5:15 pm
The latest update resets filters on some of the faster miniloaders (Bob's Turbo and several Ultimate Belts). And they work on any item when no filter is set. When setting the filter again, everything works as expected. I have to do some serious cleanup all across my factory, everything is clogged with all the wrong items :D
Sorry about that! With the recent belt speed buffs in Bob’s Logistics (15 increase / tier instead of 10), some belts that were <= 60 items/s became 75 and 90, so a code fix in Miniloader means they get all of the Ultimate Belts weaknesses to get them to actually run at full speed. I should have made a note in the change log, but it slipped my mind. (That time when a bug fix breaks all kinds of things. 😅)

For the old behavior, use Express Miniloaders everywhere (60 items/s in Bob’s).

I’ll change the docs to indicate that the section on Ultimate Belts actually applies to any belt faster than 60/s.
Miniloader — UPS-friendly 1x1 loaders
Bulk Rail Loaders — Rapid train loading and unloading
Beltlayer & Pipelayer — Route items and fluids freely underground

Firestronk
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 1:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by Firestronk » Sat Jun 08, 2019 1:02 am

I don;t know what i'm doing wrong, but i can't get miniloaders to unload my train wagons for some reason. I've tried placing them both ways and reversing them but nothing seems to work. Image

User avatar
Therax
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 418
Joined: Sun May 21, 2017 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by Therax » Sat Jun 08, 2019 2:43 am

Firestronk wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2019 1:02 am
I don;t know what i'm doing wrong, but i can't get miniloaders to unload my train wagons for some reason. I've tried placing them both ways and reversing them but nothing seems to work. Image
Loaders go from wagon to belt or belt to wagon. They do not go chest to wagon. You’ll have to use them in pairs, one to transfer from chest to belt, then another to transfer belt to wagon.
Miniloader — UPS-friendly 1x1 loaders
Bulk Rail Loaders — Rapid train loading and unloading
Beltlayer & Pipelayer — Route items and fluids freely underground

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3520
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by mrvn » Sat Jun 08, 2019 8:49 am

Therax wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2019 2:43 am
Firestronk wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2019 1:02 am
I don;t know what i'm doing wrong, but i can't get miniloaders to unload my train wagons for some reason. I've tried placing them both ways and reversing them but nothing seems to work. Image
Loaders go from wagon to belt or belt to wagon. They do not go chest to wagon. You’ll have to use them in pairs, one to transfer from chest to belt, then another to transfer belt to wagon.
One thing I don't get in this: Why is there no ore on the belt of the miniloader? They should take ore out of the cargo wagon and place it on the internal belt and then stop when that is full and the ore should be visible. That's what happens with vanilla loaders and make it far more obvious that you need to pair them.

Firestronk
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 1:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by Firestronk » Sat Jun 08, 2019 10:30 am

Therax wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2019 2:43 am
Firestronk wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2019 1:02 am
I don;t know what i'm doing wrong, but i can't get miniloaders to unload my train wagons for some reason. I've tried placing them both ways and reversing them but nothing seems to work. Image
Loaders go from wagon to belt or belt to wagon. They do not go chest to wagon. You’ll have to use them in pairs, one to transfer from chest to belt, then another to transfer belt to wagon.
I have tried placing belts after them but the ore still doesn't get taken off the train.

eduran
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by eduran » Sat Jun 08, 2019 10:37 am

Firestronk wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2019 10:30 am
I have tried placing belts after them but the ore still doesn't get taken off the train.
From the looks of it, the train is not properly parked at a station. If it were, the cargo wagons should be open. Check if the train is in manual mode.
mrvn wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2019 8:49 am
One thing I don't get in this: Why is there no ore on the belt of the miniloader? They should take ore out of the cargo wagon and place it on the internal belt and then stop when that is full and the ore should be visible. That's what happens with vanilla loaders and make it far more obvious that you need to pair them.
Also answers this.

Cadde
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by Cadde » Sat Jun 08, 2019 7:00 pm

Indeed the train is in "automatic" mode and not currently stopped at a station waiting to load.
This can happen if you use temporary stops as once the stop times out and there are no other orders, the train closes.

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3520
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by mrvn » Sun Jun 09, 2019 10:23 am

eduran wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2019 10:37 am
Firestronk wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2019 10:30 am
I have tried placing belts after them but the ore still doesn't get taken off the train.
From the looks of it, the train is not properly parked at a station. If it were, the cargo wagons should be open. Check if the train is in manual mode.
mrvn wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2019 8:49 am
One thing I don't get in this: Why is there no ore on the belt of the miniloader? They should take ore out of the cargo wagon and place it on the internal belt and then stop when that is full and the ore should be visible. That's what happens with vanilla loaders and make it far more obvious that you need to pair them.
Also answers this.
Doh. Right, missed that too. The cargo wagons are closed so nothing can be taken off it.

Bizobinator
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by Bizobinator » Sun Jun 09, 2019 3:24 pm

eradicator wrote:
Thu May 23, 2019 3:14 pm
Bizobinator wrote:
Thu May 23, 2019 2:52 pm
Is there any way to have a miniloader that loads straight from one chest into another?
If the other chest is only one tile away why not use a long chest instead?
Well, this would be for something like loading ingots (Angel's mods) from one production building to another :P

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3250
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by eradicator » Sun Jun 09, 2019 4:59 pm

Bizobinator wrote:
Sun Jun 09, 2019 3:24 pm
eradicator wrote:
Thu May 23, 2019 3:14 pm
Bizobinator wrote:
Thu May 23, 2019 2:52 pm
Is there any way to have a miniloader that loads straight from one chest into another?
If the other chest is only one tile away why not use a long chest instead?
Well, this would be for something like loading ingots (Angel's mods) from one production building to another :P
Build them further apart then :p.
Author of: Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Hotkey 2.0
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.

ZombieZilla
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by ZombieZilla » Mon Jun 10, 2019 5:12 am

Hey, do you know if you can add space miniloaders for the mod space exploration?

User avatar
Wakaba-chan
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon May 30, 2016 6:39 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by Wakaba-chan » Tue Jun 11, 2019 6:08 pm

Hello,
Seems like last release of this mod have some bug: when you place any blueprint having Medium electric pole (you can slap just that pole alone with Ctrl+V), "on_placed_blueprint" message being displayed with according sound:
Image

I've turned all other mods but "base" one and experience this issue; "base" mod alone doesn't have it. So something is happened exactly with this mod. My Factorio is 0.17.48, Miniloader mod 1.7.10.

User avatar
Therax
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 418
Joined: Sun May 21, 2017 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by Therax » Wed Jun 12, 2019 10:13 pm

ZombieZilla wrote:
Mon Jun 10, 2019 5:12 am
Hey, do you know if you can add space miniloaders for the mod space exploration?
I've been meaning to have a look at Space Exploration, but haven't gotten around to it yet.
Wakaba-chan wrote:
Tue Jun 11, 2019 6:08 pm
Hello,
Seems like last release of this mod have some bug: when you place any blueprint having Medium electric pole (you can slap just that pole alone with Ctrl+V), "on_placed_blueprint" message being displayed with according sound
Thanks for the report! This should be fixed in 1.7.11.
Miniloader — UPS-friendly 1x1 loaders
Bulk Rail Loaders — Rapid train loading and unloading
Beltlayer & Pipelayer — Route items and fluids freely underground

User avatar
Wakaba-chan
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon May 30, 2016 6:39 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by Wakaba-chan » Thu Jun 13, 2019 1:33 pm

Yes, everything fine now, thank you!

slippycheeze
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 482
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2019 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by slippycheeze » Sat Jul 13, 2019 5:39 pm

For a little while now (sorry, hashtag lazy) miniloader inserters have been showing some UI elements when Bob's loader mod is installed. I'm not sure what, exactly, is making them visible, and it could be an interaction with a third mod. I have not taken the time to fully debug it down to the minimum possible, simply because it is so reproducible for me.

I believe that is unintended, and there is some code to try and, well, not do that. Seems maybe not working with latest v17 Factorio, bob's inserters, and your mod. All updated as of this very second via the mod portal.

If you can't repo please let me know and I'll dig down into what, exactly, is happening to break things. I'd just rather be lazy and avoid the half hour or hour digging around more item prototypes and entities in-game to figure it out, or bisecting down mods to find the exact combination. Factory needs to grow. :)

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users