Page 3 of 10

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Landfill (2.1.2)

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 5:10 pm
by AnodeCathode
I did just add the modified version to my own game, but thought others might perhaps be interested if they are using Bob's Mods.

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Landfill (2.1.2)

Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 1:43 am
by Avous
I'm going to request something and its fairly big, would there be a way to detect which ground texture is being used around the water source that you are filling, then set it to a variable and use that to change the texture? I play in a desert and it's pretty weird having grass in the middle of it for no reason.

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Landfill (2.1.2)

Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 3:07 am
by Rseding91
Avous wrote:I'm going to request something and its fairly big, would there be a way to detect which ground texture is being used around the water source that you are filling, then set it to a variable and use that to change the texture? I play in a desert and it's pretty weird having grass in the middle of it for no reason.
I can switch it to not replace non-water with grass. The grass edges around the water are how the base-game works. There's nothing I can do to fix that.

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Landfill (2.1.2)

Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 6:47 pm
by Avous
Rseding91 wrote:
Avous wrote:I'm going to request something and its fairly big, would there be a way to detect which ground texture is being used around the water source that you are filling, then set it to a variable and use that to change the texture? I play in a desert and it's pretty weird having grass in the middle of it for no reason.
I can switch it to not replace non-water with grass. The grass edges around the water are how the base-game works. There's nothing I can do to fix that.
I know but what I'm saying is would it be possible to get coordinates of the body of water you're filling and checking the ground texture to the block past the grass?

What I'm saying roughly is,

Code: Select all

if landfill placed{
  x = landfill axis coordinate
  xStart = landfill axis starting position
  y = landfill axis coordinate
  yStart = landfill axis starting position
  z = block texture
  while (x == water){
    ++x
  }
  ++x
  while (y == water){
    ++y
  }
  ++y
}
if (x texture == y texture){
  z = x texture
  }elseif ((x - xStarting) => (y - yStarting)){
    z = x texture
  }else{
    z = y texture
  }
}
if that helps explain what I mean.

if that is just mad ramblings, detect the shortest edge of the lake +1 from the position the landfill is placed and set the texture to the closest one if they don't match.

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Landfill (2.1.2)

Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 1:11 pm
by Tom_The_Hero1
In every version of factorio my friend just keeps desyncing as soon as he has connected to me when we are using this mod the same happends when i conenct to him and other mods work fine so :?

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Landfill (2.1.2)

Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 10:56 pm
by Rseding91
Tom_The_Hero1 wrote:In every version of factorio my friend just keeps desyncing as soon as he has connected to me when we are using this mod the same happends when i conenct to him and other mods work fine so :?
Turn on F5 and look at Script Update Time. Unless you see Landfill there it's not even running code from the mod.

Are you saying that you can create a new game with this mod, and when someone joins they desync immediately? Are you sure you both have the same version of this mod (2.1.2) with the latest Factorio on a fresh map?

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Landfill (2.1.2)

Posted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 8:46 pm
by Tom_The_Hero1
When we use other mods it is fine but when we wanna play with eachother when landfill is installed we constandly keep getting desyncs i don't even get a chance to open the debug screen

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Landfill (2.1.2)

Posted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 2:43 am
by Rseding91
Tom_The_Hero1 wrote:When we use other mods it is fine but when we wanna play with eachother when landfill is installed we constandly keep getting desyncs i don't even get a chance to open the debug screen

Try this:

1. Remove all mods but Landfill
2. Start a brand new MP game
3. Have your friend connect

Does it desync then?

There are over 1600 downloads of the 2.1.2 version and you're the only one saying it's causing desync so my initial thoughts are some other issue with your game not related to the mod. But, if you can get me a save game where it's desycing with just Landfill 2.1.2 I'll work on getting it fixed.

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Landfill (2.1.2)

Posted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 5:15 pm
by Tom_The_Hero1
i will give you the link to downlaod the savefile in 1 or 2 days :/

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Landfill (2.1.2)

Posted: Sun Feb 08, 2015 3:22 pm
by Tom_The_Hero1
Here is the download link for a map where my friend keeps getting desyncs every few seconds with only landfill installed : https://www.mediafire.com/?p57hi6dyn4d22yt

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Landfill (2.1.2)

Posted: Sun Feb 08, 2015 7:14 pm
by Rseding91
Tom_The_Hero1 wrote:Here is the download link for a map where my friend keeps getting desyncs every few seconds with only landfill installed : https://www.mediafire.com/?p57hi6dyn4d22yt

Do I need to do anything special to make it happen? It seems to work just fine for me: http://i.imgur.com/QMWab2B.jpg

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Landfill (2.1.2)

Posted: Sun Feb 08, 2015 7:18 pm
by Tom_The_Hero1
all the settings where standard

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Landfill (2.1.2)

Posted: Sun Feb 08, 2015 7:50 pm
by Tom_The_Hero1
i wanted to record it and suddenly it started working :o

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Landfill (2.1.2)

Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2015 1:41 am
by Thomasnotused
Welp, found a neat little bug.
If you stand right next to the bomb when it goes off, you go into "god mode"
It's almost like playing freeplay.

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Landfill (2.1.2)

Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2015 4:05 am
by MaxStrategy
I'll be able to test if we desync soon if I can figure out how to get it to launch. My bug is probably something super simple, I get an error on launch something like "Landfill.zip won't work because expecting filename Landfill_2.1.0.zip". Thats not the version I have (using latest) but I try renaming it to that to see if it makes it happy. Then on launch I get the error "Error while loading entity prototype "landfill-fade" (corpse): No such node (width) Modifications: Landfill".

I am using Dytech + Treefarm so I assume there is just some sort of complication with those mods atm. We are impatient so we will probably just give up on trying to figure it out and start a new world without it. I thought I'd let you know though, mod looks pretty cool and nice for making bases more aesthetically pleasing or for bridges (we didn't really plan to use it for OP means).

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Landfill (2.1.2)

Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2015 4:33 am
by FreeER
MaxStrategy wrote:My bug is probably something super simple
yep, the name does need to be changed to name_version format (both specified in the info.json file) and in one of the 11.x version (.6 I think) they changed frame_width and frame_height in animations to just width and height (for consistency with sprite definitions). I think there are a few other changes but the error messages and changelog/release notes should let you find the solutions without much issue.

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Landfill (2.1.2)

Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2015 6:06 am
by Rseding91
MaxStrategy wrote:I'll be able to test if we desync soon if I can figure out how to get it to launch. My bug is probably something super simple, I get an error on launch something like "Landfill.zip won't work because expecting filename Landfill_2.1.0.zip". Thats not the version I have (using latest) but I try renaming it to that to see if it makes it happy. Then on launch I get the error "Error while loading entity prototype "landfill-fade" (corpse): No such node (width) Modifications: Landfill".

I am using Dytech + Treefarm so I assume there is just some sort of complication with those mods atm. We are impatient so we will probably just give up on trying to figure it out and start a new world without it. I thought I'd let you know though, mod looks pretty cool and nice for making bases more aesthetically pleasing or for bridges (we didn't really plan to use it for OP means).
You should be able to just use the 0.11 version and play with the latest 0.11.14/15 experimental without any issues. Are you trying to use a older version with 0.11.14/15?

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Landfill (2.1.2)

Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2015 6:07 am
by Rseding91
SuicidalKid wrote:Welp, found a neat little bug.
If you stand right next to the bomb when it goes off, you go into "god mode"
It's almost like playing freeplay.

Well don't stand next to it :P

Anyway, It should be simple enough to fix.

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Landfill (2.1.2)

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 11:00 pm
by Sutoraika
Hey there, love the mod but i'm wondering if there is any way to increase the radius the water bomb applies? i had a brief look at the code but cant see how its handled with my very limited experience of how mods are programmed.

Alternatively might it be possible to request a recipe for a bigger bomb? crafted out of say 5 regular ones and a processing unit or something similar?

Thanks in advance :)


EDIT: OH! also, the game crashes when you try to fill-o-matic a body of water that stretches out side of the rendered area, not sure thats fixable at all but I figured I should at least report it on the off chance you didn't know of it.

Re: [MOD 0.11.x] Landfill (2.1.2)

Posted: Sat Mar 21, 2015 7:31 pm
by filippe999
Can you create channels? as in pump water in an underlayed area to create a water area? with your mod you can reclaim flooded areas so why not make it possible to pump water into a trench and make it a water area? terraforming FTW