[MOD 0.12.x] Compression Chests: virtually unlimited storage

Topics and discussion about specific mods
Boogieman14
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 769
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 12:59 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Compression Chests: virtually unlimited storage

Post by Boogieman14 »

Would it be possible to output the chest's contents to a circuit connection? That would open up some interesting possibilities, I think :)
I don't have OCD, I have CDO. It's the same, but with the letters in the correct order.

joon
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 7:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Compression Chests: virtually unlimited storage

Post by joon »

Downloaded the mod, did the load, save, load thing but they won't show in the crafting menu or in an assembly. The research worked as you can see at the screenshot.

Screen:
Image

Log:
latest log with mods
Save:
Dytech2.40.zip

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 10258
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Compression Chests: virtually unlimited storage

Post by Rseding91 »

Hmm, it looks like at some point I forgot to include the file that's meant to fix that issue :)

You can run this in the console to fix it until I upload the fixed version:

/c game.local_player.force.recipes["compression-chest"].enabled = true
/c game.local_player.force.recipes["compression-power-pole"].enabled = true
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

joon
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 7:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Compression Chests: virtually unlimited storage

Post by joon »

No worries :) thanks

codewarrior
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 7:31 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Compression Chests: virtually unlimited storage

Post by codewarrior »

Compression Chests worked fine in 0.12.12. Upon upgrading to 0.12.13 and loading a 0.12.12 save, I get this error:
null field.png
null field.png (305.31 KiB) Viewed 4852 times

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 10258
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Compression Chests: virtually unlimited storage

Post by Rseding91 »

codewarrior wrote:Compression Chests worked fine in 0.12.12. Upon upgrading to 0.12.13 and loading a 0.12.12 save, I get this error:
null field.png
0.12.13 is completely broken when it comes to mod data: https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... =7&t=17275

You'll want to stick to 0.12.12 or stop using all mods until 0.12.14.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

Rivaryn
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2015 5:14 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Compression Chests: virtually unlimited storage

Post by Rivaryn »

I'm running a MP server (headless linux) and I've upgraded it to 0.12.16.

I try loading it up and it gives the following:
12:05:23 [Error] Util.cpp:47: Error while running the event handler: __Compression Chests__/control.lua:968: attempt to index field '?' (a nil value)
Is this related to the issue with 0.12.13 that was mentioned previously?

EDIT:
Not sure it matters, but here is some additional information from the log file:
6.127 Info Scenario.cpp:123: Map version 0.12.13-0
7.065 Error MultiplayerManager.cpp:105: MultiplayerManager failed: "Deserialisation mismatch. No inventory for given inventory index."
7.065 Info MultiplayerManager.cpp:869: networkTick(0) mapTick(-1) changing state from(CreatingGame) to(InitializationFailed)
7.065 Error Main.cpp:266: Couldn't load the game for MP: Deserialisation mismatch. No inventory for given inventory index.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 10258
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Compression Chests: virtually unlimited storage

Post by Rseding91 »

Rivaryn wrote:I'm running a MP server (headless linux) and I've upgraded it to 0.12.16.

I try loading it up and it gives the following:
12:05:23 [Error] Util.cpp:47: Error while running the event handler: __Compression Chests__/control.lua:968: attempt to index field '?' (a nil value)
Is this related to the issue with 0.12.13 that was mentioned previously?

EDIT:
Not sure it matters, but here is some additional information from the log file:
6.127 Info Scenario.cpp:123: Map version 0.12.13-0
7.065 Error MultiplayerManager.cpp:105: MultiplayerManager failed: "Deserialisation mismatch. No inventory for given inventory index."
7.065 Info MultiplayerManager.cpp:869: networkTick(0) mapTick(-1) changing state from(CreatingGame) to(InitializationFailed)
7.065 Error Main.cpp:266: Couldn't load the game for MP: Deserialisation mismatch. No inventory for given inventory index.
Yes. By saving it under 0.12.13 all of the mod data was broken. You'll need to remove all of the mods, load and save the game in 0.12.16 and then you can add them back.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

User avatar
Kadaban
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:30 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Compression Chests: virtually unlimited storage

Post by Kadaban »

I just found a weird behaviour with the compression chest when running exclusively on capacitors at night:
They simply stop working as their power poles don't draw any energy from capacitors.
As soon as the sun comes up and the solar panels get back to producing power everything is slowly back to normal.

I'm using 5dims and bobs mods as well as your compression chests obviously.
After finding out about the power pole problem I tried using different capacitors, even the vanilla ones. Sadly nothing changed that behaviour.
It would be inconvenient if I had to build a steam power backup just for the compression chests :(

Boogieman14
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 769
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 12:59 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Compression Chests: virtually unlimited storage

Post by Boogieman14 »

The problem there is that the power poles are in effect accumulators themselves, and the way the game works is that accumulators never take charge from other accumulators. Either build more compression power poles around each compression chest, or disable the power requirement altogether.
I don't have OCD, I have CDO. It's the same, but with the letters in the correct order.

BlackWyvern
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 12:00 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Compression Chests: virtually unlimited storage

Post by BlackWyvern »

Is it possible to accelerate the rate at which the chests can accept items? Right now they're the only bottleneck on my entire system.

Thundernite
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 1:02 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Compression Chests: virtually unlimited storage

Post by Thundernite »

Hi using windows 10 x64
and factorio 0.12.20

How to move chest? It moves only one tile. Or is it not possible to put it in inventory?

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 10258
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Compression Chests: virtually unlimited storage

Post by Rseding91 »

BlackWyvern wrote:Is it possible to accelerate the rate at which the chests can accept items? Right now they're the only bottleneck on my entire system.
You can build more chests. It's an intended part of the mod that they have limitations since you're storing an unlimited amount of items in one tile.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 10258
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Compression Chests: virtually unlimited storage

Post by Rseding91 »

Thundernite wrote:Hi using windows 10 x64
and factorio 0.12.20

How to move chest? It moves only one tile. Or is it not possible to put it in inventory?
That's what the mover does. If you empty the chest you can pick it up otherwise it only moves 1 tile at a time by design.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

Just Don't Mind Me
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 12:42 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Compression Chests: virtually unlimited storage

Post by Just Don't Mind Me »

I'm new and for some reason the Compression Power Pole doesn't have energy, it's connected to a power source and Electric demand satisfaction is green.

-Thanks


EDIT: I got it working just had to get the panels working.

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3652
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Compression Chests: virtually unlimited storage

Post by orzelek »

Those poles are finicky.
They sometimes work only on solar power - any other power source won't load them.

Just Don't Mind Me
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 12:42 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Compression Chests: virtually unlimited storage

Post by Just Don't Mind Me »

orzelek wrote:Those poles are finicky.
They sometimes work only on solar power - any other power source won't load them.
Thanks, I was using steam engines.

Just Don't Mind Me
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 12:42 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Compression Chests: virtually unlimited storage

Post by Just Don't Mind Me »

I there a mod like this but with storage tanks?

-Thanks.

GameCharmer
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 2:34 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Compression Chests: virtually unlimited storage

Post by GameCharmer »

Just Don't Mind Me wrote:I there a mod like this but with storage tanks?

-Thanks.
There's a mod that'll let you put all vanilla liquids into barrels, which can then be stored in a compression chest. It's not ideal, but works in a pinch.

Just Don't Mind Me
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 12:42 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Compression Chests: virtually unlimited storage

Post by Just Don't Mind Me »

GameCharmer wrote:
Just Don't Mind Me wrote:I there a mod like this but with storage tanks?

-Thanks.
There's a mod that'll let you put all vanilla liquids into barrels, which can then be stored in a compression chest. It's not ideal, but works in a pinch.
Thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alienwombat