Page 1 of 2

[0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Posted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 11:28 pm
by Schmendrick
Made from a smart chest and 4 express splitters, terminal chests can be fed items straight from belts.
terminalchest.jpg
terminalchest.jpg (116.46 KiB) Viewed 20907 times
Of course, with all those complicated mechanics going on inside to support this behavior, there isn't as much room left for storage; the terminal chest only holds 8 stacks of items. But that doesn't matter to you, does it, because your improved stack size inserters are busy unloading from it... right?


Note that like other mods that involve scripted behavior for objects, terminal chests won't work if a construction bot places it: the player must place it manually. Hopefully this will change when the devs give us more mod interfaces. Sorry. :)

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Posted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 4:51 pm
by Attilasensei
Very useful thank you

Image

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 5:30 am
by Lone_Player
I love this Mod, a bit expensiv... but good things, have there price. :D

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 12:02 pm
by Kane
Nice bump. did not notice this one.

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 8:48 pm
by Alexs
very good - thx :D

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 6:55 am
by Netoen
Hey hey, I'm rather new to factorio, trying to write my own mod, question is: under what licence you make your mod? Cause I wanna get some of it, especially since I only getting into control.lua, may I ? Of course with all the links to you and your mod :)

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 8:32 am
by Schmendrick
Netoen wrote:Hey hey, I'm rather new to factorio, trying to write my own mod, question is: under what licence you make your mod? Cause I wanna get some of it, especially since I only getting into control.lua, may I ? Of course with all the links to you and your mod :)
https://forums.factorio.com/wiki/inde ... g_Tutorial is old but still a very good intro to modding. Read that, look at the code in various mods to get a feel for how things are laid out.

I'm not sure what you mean by license, Factorio mods are almost universally made under the "do whatever, just don't be rude" "license." (In other words, no license but don't be a jerk.) If you want to just include someone's stuff in your own mod like as a modpack or whatever, ask them if it's okay. Don't try to pass off another's work as your own. But if you want to look at my code to see how something's done, go ahead. Terminal Chests is pretty simple, really, so I don't know how much you can really learn from it, other than the very basics of a few things.

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 9:01 am
by Netoen
You can't really imagine what one can learn from what other think
Schmendrick wrote:is pretty simple
:) When learning from most scratches both Lua and Factorio your code is a very good example. Thank you for the permission, would it be enough to add info on you in info.json as well as comments inside code itself ? I already added some rows myself, yet I want to people to know who made it possible for this mod to be borned.
And about licence: a lot of mod developers all over the gaming communities include something like "mod distributed under <licence>", for instance GNU GPL - it is basically a not-bad way to tell everyone "Yes, you can take my source code and do whatever you want with it, but as long as you follow rules, for example mentioning me in your job, or not modifying my code. I'm kinda used to it as a user, though first time as a developer and I'm aware of using someone's stuff without proper permission. :)
Oh, and about that link - it was first place I went to. But it's most basic, and had (almost) nothing with moving items, etc.

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 9:32 am
by Schmendrick
Of course recognition is appreciated, but it's not necessary.

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Posted: Tue Sep 30, 2014 8:47 am
by starxplor
Are there any known bugs in the chests not accepting items from dytech belts? Sometimes when I place a chest it will not load any items from a 5th tier dytech belt(green), but sometimes it does. In one case, with Iron Plates, it accepts from one side of a belt but not the other.

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Posted: Tue Sep 30, 2014 3:59 pm
by Rseding91
starxplor wrote:Are there any known bugs in the chests not accepting items from dytech belts? Sometimes when I place a chest it will not load any items from a 5th tier dytech belt(green), but sometimes it does. In one case, with Iron Plates, it accepts from one side of a belt but not the other.
That's going to be an issue with the way items are moved on belts. The dytech 5th tier belts move them so fast (and so far per movement) that the game goes "No, you can't move any closer to the chest - there's a chest in the way" and then the item isn't close enough to the chest for it to be detected and sucked up by the chest. It's the same issue with the underground belts from dytech not working.

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Posted: Wed Oct 01, 2014 9:52 pm
by starxplor
I havent had a chance to try, but would changing the last belt to a 4th teir help, or is that too fast/far as well? It also seems to be random, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't, and sometimes it works for a few pieces then stops. Is there a known number of belt items that must be present to make the last hop line up properly?

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2014 12:17 am
by pdiddy973
hey is their a way to mod the mod for a different recipe and tech? i feel like their should be different teirs of these that go with the different teir belts

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Posted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 4:59 pm
by Boogieman14
As of 0.11.2 it's now possible to make these work when placed by robots. Minor change in control.lua required.

Replace the event handler from line 15 to 25 with the following bit of code:

Code: Select all

function builtEntity(event)
	if event.createdentity.name == "terminal-chest" then
		local p = event.createdentity.position
		
		table.insert(terminal_chest_list,{
				event.createdentity,
				{{p.x-.5,p.y-.5},{p.x+.5,p.y+.5}},
				event.createdentity.getinventory(defines.inventory.chest)
				})
	end
end

game.onevent(defines.events.onbuiltentity, builtEntity)
game.onevent(defines.events.onrobotbuiltentity, builtEntity)

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 1:52 pm
by AlphaRaptor
Is there a Update for This mod ?

I like this Mod and its Cool , please Update it , THANKS :D

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:06 pm
by Neotix
Update isn't needed. Mod is working fine with v0.11.5.

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:12 pm
by AlphaRaptor
Is it Working for MP too ?

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:13 pm
by Neotix
I don't know.

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:14 pm
by AlphaRaptor
Can you try it ? , you can Simply use Evolve for it

Its Free and its Nice :D

Re: [0.10.x] Terminal Chests

Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:38 pm
by starxplor
AlphaRaptor wrote:Can you try it ? , you can Simply use Evolve for it

Its Free and its Nice :D
AlphaRaptor, did it work when you tried the mod in MP?