[MOD 0.14] AAI Vehicles: Miner

Topics and discussion about specific mods
SereneRebel
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 2:26 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Vehicles: Miner

Post by SereneRebel » Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:51 am

Earendel wrote:I can't recreate the problem, and also the code that I thought might be causing issues can only run when a path is incomplete.
Maybe the miners is trying to get somewhere but the pathfinding is failing (maybe the destination is blocked by another miner?).
Or maybe another controller somewhere is interrupting the command?
You're welcome to have the save file to play with but from the sounds there may be another mod conflicting with it, if i was to take a wild stab in the dark i'd say rampant would be a contender due to modifying the AI (i may be comepltely wrong)

If you did want the save let me know and i can send it to you
Modlist

User avatar
Earendel
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 543
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 11:57 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Vehicles: Miner

Post by Earendel » Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:26 am

SereneRebel wrote: If you did want the save let me know and i can send it to you
Yes please.

SereneRebel
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 2:26 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Vehicles: Miner

Post by SereneRebel » Fri Mar 02, 2018 1:30 pm

PM'd you the links and i think ive found where the problem may lie
as i said in the pm the pathing seems to reset when it starts burning a new bit of fuel.

Ironhair
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 5:39 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Vehicles: Miner

Post by Ironhair » Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:11 am

This mod causes a massive fps drop from 60 to less than 20.
You can replicate it when a mk5 miner is completely full, but continues to mine, while inserters are taking out ore (but at a slower speed than the mining rate).

labmonkey42
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 3:33 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Vehicles: Miner

Post by labmonkey42 » Wed Mar 21, 2018 3:36 am

I also get this horrible performance hit.

There are 27 miners and 27 haulers in this base, but only 3-4 of each are actively doing anything right now.

Image

User avatar
Earendel
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 543
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 11:57 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Vehicles: Miner

Post by Earendel » Thu Mar 22, 2018 1:16 am

I'm uploading version 0.3.3 now. The problem was difficult to track down, it turned out to be that in some situations when the miner gets nearly full, so it can insert some resources to the inventory but not all of them from a mining cycle, the excess were dropped to the ground. If this happened repeatedly then placing new dropped resources over other stacks caused some slowdown, but meant that more were detected by the item pickup script, which would also be unable to insert items. The problem could continue making a gradually increasing problem. The fix is that resources are not dropped to the ground now, they go into lua storage and other functions stop until that storage is empty. If you use inventory filters you might need to clear a few slots to get things working again.

bentamago
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 8:07 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Vehicles: Miner

Post by bentamago » Mon Mar 26, 2018 8:10 am

Hello all,

I have an issue with the miners :


1. My miner is mining iron
2. It runs out of fuel
3. so i set up a coal way to supply the miner in coal
BUT instead of putting coal only in the fuel place, it puts it also in the stocking place of the miner, therefore, resulting in arms taking out of the miner also coal...

Is there a way of putting coal ONLY in the minner fuel place ?

Thanks for your help !

wimplaw
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 12:03 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Vehicles: Miner

Post by wimplaw » Sun Apr 01, 2018 11:17 pm

wimplaw wrote:Just tested out 0.3.1 and i got this when i place a miner down. the same happened with the mk1.

i figured xanders mod was the one doing this and mod got no errors when removing xanders mod.

What i know is that Xanders mod disables the use of crude coal in vehicles and some processes not sure if this is whats causing this?

Also installed all the other AAI vehicles and no error when placing them down and driving them with xanders mod activated.

Error while running event aai-vehicles-miner::on_built_entity (ID 6)
Can't set currently burning to an item without a fuel value
stack traceback:
__aai-vehicles-miner__/control.lua:119: in function 'new'
__aai-vehicles-miner__/control.lua:629: in function <__aai-vehicles-miner__/control.lua:629>
just tested to see if this bug was still present with the newest xanders mod and miner versions and this bug is still present.

Ironhair
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 5:39 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Vehicles: Miner

Post by Ironhair » Thu Apr 05, 2018 2:11 pm

Earendel wrote:I'm uploading version 0.3.3 now. The problem was difficult to track down, it turned out to be that in some situations when the miner gets nearly full, so it can insert some resources to the inventory but not all of them from a mining cycle, the excess were dropped to the ground. If this happened repeatedly then placing new dropped resources over other stacks caused some slowdown, but meant that more were detected by the item pickup script, which would also be unable to insert items. The problem could continue making a gradually increasing problem. The fix is that resources are not dropped to the ground now, they go into lua storage and other functions stop until that storage is empty. If you use inventory filters you might need to clear a few slots to get things working again.
Thank you. Just in time for me to resume playing factorio again!! :D

Ironhair
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 5:39 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Vehicles: Miner

Post by Ironhair » Thu Apr 05, 2018 2:31 pm

bentamago wrote:Hello all,

I have an issue with the miners :


1. My miner is mining iron
2. It runs out of fuel
3. so i set up a coal way to supply the miner in coal
BUT instead of putting coal only in the fuel place, it puts it also in the stocking place of the miner, therefore, resulting in arms taking out of the miner also coal...

Is there a way of putting coal ONLY in the minner fuel place ?

Thanks for your help !
Use inventory sensor and put limits on the inserter.
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/Inventory%20Sensor
miner refuel.PNG
miner refuel.PNG (218.23 KiB) Viewed 948 times
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

dood
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 314
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 8:36 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Vehicles: Miner

Post by dood » Sat Apr 07, 2018 11:48 am

Toxomania wrote:Alright, I actually did some testing now in regard of mining productivity by spawning a 1x1 patch with 100 ore. I'm at mining productivity 117 so I have a bonus of +234%.

With an MK 1 miner I got 334 ore (+234%), which is the same as a vanilla mining drill, and with an MK 5 Miner I got 494 ore (+394%), so it's even more with the higher tier miners, neat!
Did that bug get fixed in the meantime?
AAI is a bit too derpy for my likings but I'm considering keeping one of those things in my pants to scrub away tiny, ugly specks of ore.
Not interested in ore duping tho.

aka13
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 1:18 pm

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Vehicles: Miner

Post by aka13 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:06 pm

Hey, using the latest version, barrels get doubled when used in a miner. Input 100 barrels worth of sulfuric into mk5 miner, got 199 empty barrels out. Seems consistent. Am I doing something wrong?

edit
It's *2-1 actually. For inserted 10 barrels of acid I get 19 barrels back, 20 barrels of sulfuric acid I get 39 back, etc.
Pony/Furfag avatar? Opinion discarded.

bentamago
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 8:07 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Vehicles: Miner

Post by bentamago » Sun Apr 22, 2018 9:10 am

Ironhair wrote:
bentamago wrote:Hello all,

I have an issue with the miners :


1. My miner is mining iron
2. It runs out of fuel
3. so i set up a coal way to supply the miner in coal
BUT instead of putting coal only in the fuel place, it puts it also in the stocking place of the miner, therefore, resulting in arms taking out of the miner also coal...

Is there a way of putting coal ONLY in the minner fuel place ?

Thanks for your help !
Use inventory sensor and put limits on the inserter.
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/Inventory%20Sensor
miner refuel.PNG
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

Hey, Thank you Ironhair.

I''m not sure i understand how to make it work. I tried, but the arm keeps filling the miner's stock with fuel.

Also, when i import your chain, it says :
Error importing this chain
Unknown virtual signal name -vehicle-miner-mk5-_-signal

What am i supposed to do ?

I'm not very familiar with the logical circuit unfortunately, but it seems i can't link the miner with a cable, so i can't put a limit on X product in the miner..
Sorry again, i'm lost !

User avatar
TexugoMaldito
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:25 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Vehicles: Miner

Post by TexugoMaldito » Tue May 08, 2018 11:10 pm

Hello,
im the author of the mod Heavy Tank (https://mods.factorio.com/mod/HeavyTank) and some people are having CTD using your Miner and my Tank mod, i suspect that is a problem with a custom class of fuel that my mod adds and crashes when running your scripts, can you take a look on this ?

Master-Guy
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 8:10 pm

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Vehicles: Miner

Post by Master-Guy » Sun May 27, 2018 8:16 pm

There is a small bug that causes some crashes when using Angel's resource mods.
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/aai-vehic ... 000aad5a83


On random spots, mining non-unlimited Saphirite and Bobmonium, perhaps on all resources, the following error appears:
Notice
Error while running event aai-vehicles-miner::on_tick(ID 0)
Resource amount has to be greater than 0.
stack traceback:
[]aai-vehicles-miner/control.lua:445: in function 'mine_resource'
[]aai-vehicles-miner/control.lua:524: in function 'mine_area'
[]aai-vehicles-miner/control.lua:655: in function <_aai-vehicles-miner__/control.lua:631>
Lines 444-446:

Code: Select all

if amount_remaining > 0 then
resource.amount = amount_remaining
else


Aparently it happens, because "resource.amount = amount_remaining" gets rounded down.
This means that if amount_remaining is a number between 0 and 1 (i.e. 0.95) it tries to set a 0, which then fails.


Replace

Code: Select all

if amount_remaining > 0 then
With

Code: Select all

if amount_remaining >= 1 then

armisius
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 4:06 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Vehicles: Miner

Post by armisius » Thu Jun 14, 2018 4:08 am

I have a question, How do you pick the trucks at the early stage? I need to get rid of some, but I don't want to shoot them to death. :'(

User avatar
Earendel
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 543
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 11:57 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Vehicles: Miner

Post by Earendel » Sat Jun 16, 2018 5:34 pm

armisius wrote:I have a question, How do you pick the trucks at the early stage? I need to get rid of some, but I don't want to shoot them to death. :'(
You need to switch the AI off. Select it with a Unit Remote Controller and you should see a power button for the selected unit.

DiRaven
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 7:00 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Vehicles: Miner

Post by DiRaven » Sat Jul 14, 2018 7:29 am

A spectacular mod and impressive amount of work!

Yet there is something that really bothers me. Miners are way too powerful. Is there any setting anywhere (other then hacking into the mod's source code) that will bring miners efficiency more in line with everything else? They are just too good to use anything else but them. Mobile, convenient, automateable and the mining power/speed in combination just make them plain better then everything else. I'm not sure if that's intended, but for those preferring a more balanced approach some kind of setting would be a very welcome thing.

User avatar
Earendel
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 543
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 11:57 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Vehicles: Miner

Post by Earendel » Thu Jul 19, 2018 12:33 am

DiRaven wrote:A spectacular mod and impressive amount of work!

Yet there is something that really bothers me. Miners are way too powerful. Is there any setting anywhere (other then hacking into the mod's source code) that will bring miners efficiency more in line with everything else? They are just too good to use anything else but them. Mobile, convenient, automateable and the mining power/speed in combination just make them plain better then everything else. I'm not sure if that's intended, but for those preferring a more balanced approach some kind of setting would be a very welcome thing.
No, but I can add a setting in the future. Given the number of mining structures that go into the recipe the mining speed should be balanced so if I add a setting it should apply to all mining equipment.

DiRaven
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 7:00 am

Re: [MOD 0.14] AAI Vehicles: Miner

Post by DiRaven » Wed Jul 25, 2018 5:58 pm

Earendel wrote:No, but I can add a setting in the future. Given the number of mining structures that go into the recipe the mining speed should be balanced so if I add a setting it should apply to all mining equipment.
Well to be honest one-time investement in resources is still not enough comparing to how powerful they are. But hey, may be it's just me. Or may be it was because I was trying them out without angels/bobs. Anyways, thank you for your hard work!

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”