[MOD 0.12.0] endless resources

Topics and discussion about specific mods
User avatar
CorrettoSambuca
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 9:29 am
Contact:

Re: [0.11.1] endless resources

Post by CorrettoSambuca »

Awesome, I'll check it out!

Chronosfear
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 6:39 am
Contact:

Re: [0.11.1] endless resources

Post by Chronosfear »

Image

having that error with the newest factorio release.
hope the screen is some sort of help.

chronosfear

Tardan
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:00 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.1] endless resources

Post by Tardan »

Chronosfear wrote:Image

having that error with the newest factorio release.
hope the screen is some sort of help.

chronosfear
rename the zip file. new name: endless-resources_0.3.0.zip

Chronosfear
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 6:39 am
Contact:

Re: [0.11.1] endless resources

Post by Chronosfear »

So easy.
Will try.

Thank you very much.

LoSboccacc
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.1] endless resources

Post by LoSboccacc »

Sorry check wasn't there before and I didn't notice will fix it in the evening

User avatar
L0771
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 516
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 1:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.1] endless resources

Post by L0771 »

LoSboccacc wrote:Sorry check wasn't there before and I didn't notice will fix it in the evening
I suggest post links with more variables, example, i use this

Code: Select all

   data.raw.resource[k].minimum  = 50
   data.raw.resource[k].normal   = 350
Only an idea ;)

HarryNews
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.1] endless resources

Post by HarryNews »

HI.

So........
Just to make sure, all this mod does is make it so the spots that you can mine for ores will never run out?

kyranzor
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 499
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 4:52 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.1] endless resources

Post by kyranzor »

HarryNews wrote:HI.

So........
Just to make sure, all this mod does is make it so the spots that you can mine for ores will never run out?
It goes down to a minimum amount, like oil fields. The output will be less over time, until it's very slow output. It's kind of nice, means you can sort of limp along on an ore patch till you find a new one and your base doesn't grind to a complete halt like it would otherwise.

HarryNews
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.1] endless resources

Post by HarryNews »

kyranzor wrote:
HarryNews wrote:HI.

So........
Just to make sure, all this mod does is make it so the spots that you can mine for ores will never run out?
It goes down to a minimum amount, like oil fields. The output will be less over time, until it's very slow output. It's kind of nice, means you can sort of limp along on an ore patch till you find a new one and your base doesn't grind to a complete halt like it would otherwise.
But the ore patches will never stop giving ore, even if it is super slow, right?

Also, will this work on a world that is created before I download the mod?

I didn't even know that oil would slow down! I thought they would give me oil at ~4 per second forever! Ugg..... I'm such a noob. Why don't the tutorials tell you that sort of thing?

Degraine
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 10:49 am
Contact:

Re: [0.11.1] endless resources

Post by Degraine »

Clearly you've never played Dwarf Fortress.

The wiki is your friend, in this game. Even when half of it is probably out of date.

kyranzor
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 499
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 4:52 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.1] endless resources

Post by kyranzor »

Degraine wrote:Clearly you've never played Dwarf Fortress.

The wiki is your friend, in this game. Even when half of it is probably out of date.
Ah, good old DF. I still play Masterwork mod! It's sick.

And yes HarryNews the ore stays there and instead of disappearing when it reaches 0, it stays at a low value and gives less yield "forever".

HarryNews
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.1] endless resources

Post by HarryNews »

LoSboccacc wrote:minimum resources are 0.25 instead of 0.1, makes for one ore mined every 4 mining cycles on average (ui shows 0.3 sec, but yeld is 50% and mining time is 2, so you get 0.25sec).
I don't quite understand this bit. If the UI shows 0.3, and the yield is 50%, wouldn't that make it 0.15? and then if the mining time is 2, wouldn't you multiply it by the mining time to make it 0.3/sec again?

Am I missing something?

LoSboccacc
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.1] endless resources

Post by LoSboccacc »

Ui shows 0.3 because of rounding, real yield is 0.25, What I meant it's ignore the UI because this rounding in planning

Martc
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 8:20 am
Contact:

Re: [0.11.1] endless resources

Post by Martc »

I have few suggestions for you.

1) Rename data.lua to data-final-fixes.lua. This solve the issue with other mods, that are adding new resources. Like here https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... =25&t=8554

2) You code is too complicated, you can simply write this:

Code: Select all

for k, v in pairs(data.raw.resource) do
   v.infinite = true
   v.minimum  = 175
   v.normal   = 350
end
No need to access in data.raw.resource three times, when you are iterating thru it.

3) Most of the mod size is caused by .DS_Store, which seems to be some OS X system file. This isn't much problem, but only let you know that maybe unwanted file is there.

LoSboccacc
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.1] endless resources

Post by LoSboccacc »

1 will do

2 that doesn't work, tried in all combinations of lua iterators. No idea why

3 crap, didn't notice. will fix.

Thanks!!

Martc
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 8:20 am
Contact:

Re: [0.11.1] endless resources

Post by Martc »

ad 2) What exactly isn't working? I tried it and seems to be working. Maybe you tried it with ipairs instead of pairs.

LoSboccacc
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.1] endless resources

Post by LoSboccacc »

doesn't give any error, but then resources deplete normally :?

User avatar
FreeER
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1266
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:26 am
Contact:

Re: [0.11.1] endless resources

Post by FreeER »

LoSboccacc wrote:doesn't give any error, but then resources deplete normally :?
works for me.
btw, ipairs wouldn't have caused an error if you did accidentally use it, it simply wouldn't work :)

If nothing else (though it shouldn't be necessary) you could use

Code: Select all

for k, v in pairs(data.raw.resource) do
  v=data.raw.resource[k]
  v.infinite = true
  v.minimum  = 175
  v.normal   = 350
end

SirRichie
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 244
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 4:50 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.1] endless resources

Post by SirRichie »

Hi,
I really like the mod, but I may have some issue with it or I do not fully understand how it works:

As a test setup, I created a new game, and spawned two 2x2 patches of iron ore, one patch with amount=300 and the other patch with amount=20000.
Now that creates two patches with vastly differing yield (98% vs. ~2800%). I then put two burner drills on top of the patches, put their output into a chest and added coal to them.
The problem that I have is that the miners produce at exactly the same rate. When I hover over the miners, the one on the 98%-patch displays 0.7 ore/second, the other one 32 ore / second. But that number is wrong.

A second issue that I have is that the miner on the small patch soon drops to 0 ore per second. I am using the latest version (0.11.16), so not sure if that might cause the behavior. Any explanation/help is appreciated.

jgntrugytub
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 1:08 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.11.1] endless resources

Post by jgntrugytub »

Heya, got a question aswell.

Ive just tested a bit around and it seems it is irrelevant for a miner how many ressource patches are in its area in terms of output. But clearly a ressource miner with 25 exhausted tiles in its area should produce a lot more than a miner with just 1 tile in its area. Obv. that would mean every tile would produce far less output compared to the current version.

And its probably a lot harder to code, but is there any way to implement this?

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”