[0.13] FLAN - the mod formerly known as Wireless Networks

Topics and discussion about specific mods
Post Reply
GotLag
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 519
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

[0.13] FLAN - the mod formerly known as Wireless Networks

Post by GotLag »

Mod portal link
Thread for feedback and suggestions for Factorio LAN, formerly known as Wireless Networks.

Adds wireless antennas to send/receive circuit singles any distance (including to other surfaces, such as the inside of a Factorissimo factory). Each antenna can transmit/receive up to 5 signals, although this may increase depending on player feedback.

Each antenna requires 50 kW to run, and every tick 4 antennas are updated.

Example Setup


Known Issues
GUI removed pending rewrite, looking for a sane way to keep it sorted so the list doesn't shuffle every time values change

FLAN Version History
  • 1.0.0 - 2016/08/28 - 0.14 release. GUI removed pending rewrite, antennas now require 50 kW each, 5 antennas update each tick
  • 0.5.0 - 2016/08/20 - Renamed to FLAN, added network total display in GUI
Wireless Networks Version History
  • 0.4.1 - 2016/08/19 - Fixed Lua error when loading a save that didn't have Wireless Networks before
  • 0.4.0 - 2016/08/18 - Negative numbers are back!
  • 0.3.0 - 2016/08/17 - Now updates one mast per tick, with much better performance
  • 0.2.0 - 2016/08/15 - Performance improvement, changed back to updating every tick, fix for Lua error
  • 0.1.0 - 2016/08/14 - Initial test release
Last edited by GotLag on Thu Dec 22, 2016 2:57 am, edited 3 times in total.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5489
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: [0.13] FLAN - the mod formerly known as Wireless Networks

Post by Koub »

Just came here to say that I love the name of your mod, because in French, a flan is this :
Image
:mrgreen:
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

GotLag
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 519
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13] FLAN - the mod formerly known as Wireless Networks

Post by GotLag »

Have a closer look at the mod icon (and also the GUI icon in the screenshot above) 8-)

EmielRegis
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13] FLAN - the mod formerly known as Wireless Networks

Post by EmielRegis »

Hello. I like idea for mod but have no clue how to use it. Can you put a bit more detailed description?

aklesey1
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1807
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13] FLAN - the mod formerly known as Wireless Networks

Post by aklesey1 »

Hi Gotlag, what do u think about that that antennas connected directly among themselves, but didn't accept any signal. just if 2 or more antennas send an identical signal, then identical signals begin to develop, thus it is impossible to create difficult complex system, we have a limited quantity сторго the set signals from which we can choose, I mean why not to make function of the allocated networks where between antennas there will be an invisible communication

Just present that I have 4 boxes with coal and I need to transfer a zancheniye of each of boxes separately, and instead I to give to a and instead I will give the sum of values of coal from all 4 boxes this very inconveniently
If I had an opportunity to give to a signal any name, then such problem wouldn't be because I could produce signals almost in unlimited counts
Nickname on ModPortal - Naron79

Boldar
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13] FLAN - the mod formerly known as Wireless Networks

Post by Boldar »

What is the slider in the GUI for?
I am a bit unsure how to use this mod.

GotLag
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 519
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13] FLAN - the mod formerly known as Wireless Networks

Post by GotLag »

The slider is because it uses the constant combinator GUI. Choose a signal, ignore the slider as the amounts are set automatically.

Sedar
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 7:29 am
Contact:

0.15?

Post by Sedar »

Hello. Any chance to update that great mod on 0.15? Thank you. :)

GotLag
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 519
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13] FLAN - the mod formerly known as Wireless Networks

Post by GotLag »

I'm not doing it, sorry. I'm taking a break from Factorio at the moment, and there are serious performance problems in FLAN I just don't know how to solve to my satisfaction.

Namely:
  • Updating each tower every tick has ruinous performance costs, which get progressively worse the more towers are added
  • Spreading updates out (i.e. not updating every tower each tick) means that signals may be missed, or pulsed signals may persist for longer than they should

Sedar
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 7:29 am
Contact:

Re: [0.13] FLAN - the mod formerly known as Wireless Networks

Post by Sedar »

GotLag wrote:I'm not doing it, sorry. I'm taking a break from Factorio at the moment, and there are serious performance problems in FLAN I just don't know how to solve to my satisfaction.

Namely:
  • Updating each tower every tick has ruinous performance costs, which get progressively worse the more towers are added
  • Spreading updates out (i.e. not updating every tower each tick) means that signals may be missed, or pulsed signals may persist for longer than they should
Sure, take your time. You have already made a huge contribution to the development of the factorio mods. :)

And my two cents about performance costs and delay rate:
As for me this is no issue. I think anyone must understand that building real-time wireles network it is unreal. Even in real life, signal transmission over a radio channel introduces a significant delay. Thus, even a delay of 120-240 ticks should be ok. I plan to run it along with the factorismо2+crafting combinator mod to send an initial signal with the current task. Which is then processed by the internal network. So even 3-5 second delay is not a problem. And in fact I can not think of a realistic task requiring high response at large distances. ;)

upd: initial signal is turned on all time until condition(request) is true

Bylo
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 2:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13] FLAN - the mod formerly known as Wireless Networks

Post by Bylo »

Hello. Any chance to update that mod on 0.15? Thank you. :)

ksw_otaku
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2016 7:17 am
Contact:

Re: [0.13] FLAN - the mod formerly known as Wireless Networks

Post by ksw_otaku »

Greetings.
I try fix it myself:
- version "0.14" to "0.16" in info.json
- "icon =" to "icon_size = 32, icon =" in items.lua
- "combinator-led-arithmetic-west.png" to "hr-arithmetic-combinator-LED-W.png" in entities.lua

but it still not work:

"First argument must be a number, table or string.
stack traceback: FLAN/control.lua:106: in main chunk"

How to fix it?

GotLag
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 519
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13] FLAN - the mod formerly known as Wireless Networks

Post by GotLag »

There have been some API changes since 0.14, in the next few days I'll have a look into what it will take to update it to 0.16, and see if I can improve the performance a bit.

Bylo
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 2:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13] FLAN - the mod formerly known as Wireless Networks

Post by Bylo »

when upgrade to ver. 16.X? pls Pls PLS.

In EvoGUI on 10,000 "Y" grids connecting everything with red or green USB cable, means horror and wasting materials.

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]