[MOD 0.15.0+] Big Brother 0.4.2 - Radar & Surveillance

Topics and discussion about specific mods
DarkHelmet
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 5:46 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.20+] Big Brother 0.2.3 - Radar & Surveillance

Post by DarkHelmet »

Choumiko wrote:This: https://github.com/Choumiko/FARL/commit ... 0714160cf2 should solve the issue with FARL and big poles, enjoy :D Gonna hold off with a new release until 0.13 hits though
Wow, that did not go well at all. I did a quick run and ended up with 'Can't place big power pole' and blinking, unpowered invisible entities that block construction and can't be removed. If I mouseover the invisible entities they have the little "+" that BigBrother adds to an upgraded pole, but the pole isn't there. It doesn't go away when the surveillance center is removed.

I'm going to revert to an old save and figure out how to reproduce, but figured it'd be an idea to leave this as a warning.

EDIT: There were orphaned 'big_brother-surveillance-small' entities left behind by the FARL run. Still investigating.
EDIT2: I have to tear down the Surveillance Center before doing a FARL run to stop the invisible entities being created.
A guide to planning your factory's space requirements:
1) Figure out how much space you need, double it to be safe.
2) Wrong! There's never enough space.

DarkHelmet
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 5:46 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.20+] Big Brother 0.2.3 - Radar & Surveillance

Post by DarkHelmet »

Here's what I have learned.

If a Surveillance Center has been deployed, FARL will break while deploying big electric poles, regardless of whether the patch to trigger the placement event is active or not. The manifestation of the failure is that FARL generates an error "Cannot place big electric pole" and Big_Brother's invisible surveillance entity is stranded, flashing.

If Surveillance-2 has been researched, merely tearing down the Surveillance Center is enough to stop FARL from breaking. However, without the FARL patch above, Big_Brother won't be aware of the big-electric-poles that FARL placed. The reset hack I posted above repairs that. Deploying a Center won't show the LOS from the new poles.

If the FARL patch above has been deployed, then Big_Brother will be aware of the new poles. Deploying a Center after a FARL run will correctly gain LOS from the new poles.

The FARL event trigger patch for big-power-pole does not cause any negative effects itself. It's the active Surveillance Center that was causing the problem I posted above.

TL;DR: The FARL event trigger patch is required, and any Surveillance Centers MUST be torn down before a FARL run.
A guide to planning your factory's space requirements:
1) Figure out how much space you need, double it to be safe.
2) Wrong! There's never enough space.

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1352
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.20+] Big Brother 0.2.3 - Radar & Surveillance

Post by Choumiko »

I wasn't able to reproduce it, but i guess you where in maintenance mode? FARL didn't create an event when it removed big electric poles, that's probably why the surveillance entity was left behind. And then FARL tried placing a big pole in that position again and failed.
Here's the FARL.lua that works for me with Surveillance 2 researched and a surveillance center active (in all FARL modes): https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Choum ... b/FARL.lua
If you still encounter problems feel free to report them in the FARL thread, since Big Brother can't be blamed :D

User avatar
Afforess
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 422
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 6:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.20+] Big Brother 0.2.3 - Radar & Surveillance

Post by Afforess »

The latest version of Big Brother for Factorio 0.13 was uploaded on the mod portal, and I plan to continue to support it there: https://mods.factorio.com/mods/Afforess/Big_Brother

Bizobinator
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.20+] Big Brother 0.2.3 - Radar & Surveillance

Post by Bizobinator »

Are there any plans to update the mod for 0.14?

User avatar
Afforess
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 422
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 6:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.20+] Big Brother 0.2.3 - Radar & Surveillance

Post by Afforess »

Bizobinator wrote:Are there any plans to update the mod for 0.14?
Yep.

Tron842
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 4:14 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.20+] Big Brother 0.2.3 - Radar & Surveillance

Post by Tron842 »

Hey, I was debating about getting into modding and a few test turned into a full extension. I was trying to add some of Bobs radars and went on from there. My knowledge of factorios and Lua's API is still quite poor so it may look like a disaster but as far as I know it works. Thanks for getting me more addicted to this game than I already was lol. (I was going to link to the mod but it won't let me. but you can find it in the factory mod portal with the name: Big Brother Bob's plugin)

Peter34
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1096
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.20+] Big Brother 0.2.3 - Radar & Surveillance

Post by Peter34 »

Is this mod going to get updated to 0.15?

User avatar
Afforess
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 422
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 6:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.20+] Big Brother 0.2.3 - Radar & Surveillance

Post by Afforess »

Peter34 wrote:Is this mod going to get updated to 0.15?
The update for 0.15 is out on the mod portal.

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3853
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15.0+] Big Brother 0.4.0 - Radar & Surveillance

Post by orzelek »

I have noticed something strange - after adding latest version to map all radars have red power sign blinking when in detailed info mode.
Any idea what might be causing this?

User avatar
Afforess
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 422
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 6:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15.0+] Big Brother 0.4.0 - Radar & Surveillance

Post by Afforess »

orzelek wrote:I have noticed something strange - after adding latest version to map all radars have red power sign blinking when in detailed info mode.
Any idea what might be causing this?
Yes - it was due to an invisible entity that is used to make blueprints work. I was making it require no power, and apparently the game treated it as if it was missing power instead. I've uploaded v0.4.1 which resolves this bug.

OhMods
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 7:48 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15.0+] Big Brother 0.4.2 - Radar & Surveillance

Post by OhMods »

I can't get deconstruction planner to work on the radars.

User avatar
Afforess
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 422
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 6:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15.0+] Big Brother 0.4.2 - Radar & Surveillance

Post by Afforess »

OhMods wrote:I can't get deconstruction planner to work on the radars.
This is a known issue with Factorio that I have discussed with Rseding, but there's no timeline for the changes to fix this.

fregate84
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 10:56 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15.0+] Big Brother 0.4.2 - Radar & Surveillance

Post by fregate84 »

Hello,


can you upgrade your mod to work with 16 version ?

User avatar
Afforess
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 422
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 6:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15.0+] Big Brother 0.4.2 - Radar & Surveillance

Post by Afforess »

fregate84 wrote:Hello,


can you upgrade your mod to work with 16 version ?
Yep, I am working on the 0.16 update now.

Peter34
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1096
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15.0+] Big Brother 0.4.2 - Radar & Surveillance

Post by Peter34 »

This mod does not seem to work as intended with 1.1. At all.

I started a 1.1 test game, mined, researched, teched up, the Radar buildings got bigger range as expected, and presumably also started scanning faster.

Then I decided to break up my base cluster of 9 Radars, by picking up 8 of them and moving them out to the far corners of my view range, 2 Radars per corner, placing them there with electrical power. Now they seem to have a very low range, and the Radar that's back at center base, which I did not pick up, seems to also have reverted to vanilla range.

They also consume only 300 kW each, whereas with a couple of Range and Speed upgrades they ought to consume something like 450 kW.

Right now I'm experimenting to see if inventing the next tech, Range tier 3, will cause them to re-set to their intended stats, including range and electricity consumption. After that I'll save, close down game client, load the same later today or tomorrow, see if that forces them to re-set to their proper enhanced stats. But as it's an expermental base, not a "proper" and efficient base, research is slow.

Peter34
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1096
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15.0+] Big Brother 0.4.2 - Radar & Surveillance

Post by Peter34 »

Saving, quitting Factorio, loading Factorio again, loading the save, restores the increased Radar range, and the increased Radar power consumption. I have no easy way to verify that increased scan speed works, but it's safe to assume.

Nevertheless, the mod has not been correctly updated, either to 1.1 or presumably to 1.0.

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”