[MOD 0.13] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Topics and discussion about specific mods
Post Reply
User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by binbinhfr »

Hi,

it seems that 5dim was not updated to factorio 0.14, so I cannot test it anymore.
But if you want to unactivate some technos from bigbags, you can edit data.lua file
and comment corresponding lines beginning with "add_technos".

example :

Code: Select all

-- add_technos("worker-robots-storage",4,8,false)
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

RhymLV
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 12:49 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by RhymLV »

Is there a way to display the expanded four row quick bar as two rows with 20 slots per row instead of four rows with 10 slots per row?

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by binbinhfr »

RhymLV wrote:Is there a way to display the expanded four row quick bar as two rows with 20 slots per row instead of four rows with 10 slots per row?
I don't think so. Modders do not have control on this. It's a factorio hard limitation.
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

RhymLV
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 12:49 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by RhymLV »

binbinhfr wrote: I don't think so. Modders do not have control on this. It's a factorio hard limitation.
What a pity. The 3rd and 4th row goes under warehouse and inventory windows. Oh, well. It is not a real problem, just annoying. See attachment.
Attachments
Screenshot_1.png
Screenshot_1.png (3.82 MiB) Viewed 7045 times

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by binbinhfr »

Yes I know, I already asked once the devs for a change in the max height of the inventory (also to avoid covering the top bar) but they said it was not easy to change.
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

BlackHat
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 9:45 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by BlackHat »

First off I am still using the 0.13 version.

Pickstick:

Code: Select all

-- pickstick

func_techno = function(n,inc)
	return {
		icon = "__BigBags__/graphics/pickstick.png",
		icon_size = 128,
		effects =
		{
			{
				type = "character-build-distance",
				modifier = 12*n
			},
			{
				type = "character-item-drop-distance",
				modifier = 12*n
			},
			{
				type = "character-reach-distance",
				modifier = 12*n
			},
			-- {
				-- type = "character-item-pickup-distance",
				-- modifier = 12*n
			-- },
			{
				type = "character-resource-reach-distance",
				modifier = 12*n
			},
			{
				type = "character-loot-pickup-distance",
				modifier = 0.5
			},
		},
		unit =
		{
			count = 100+50*inc,
			ingredients = {},
			time = 30 + 10*inc
		},
		order = "c-k-n"..n,
	}
end

add_technos("pickstick",1,5,true)
As far as I can tell in game and the code... you start with Base reach (6) (and for the other base distances) and add 12 times the tech level?

So it goes L0=6, L1=18, L2=30, L3=42, L4=54, L5=66 Right? Or am I reading something wrong.

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by binbinhfr »

Hi, I do not support 0.13 anymore, you should update to 0.14.
Anyway, you are right, I add a +12 modifier at each level.
In 0.14 version, I do not add it to the "character-item-pickup-distance" to avoid sniffing too many items on the ground.
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

Sophalin
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 7:37 pm
Contact:

BigBag

Post by Sophalin »

merged with existing thread --daniel34

Hi there
I want to use some of the features of the BigBags mod:
I want only the bag and long stick research topics to be available.
I do not like the almost endless amount of space and staff in my inventory and chests.
How can I install or activate only some of the features?
Thnaks

kusuda_Aina
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 5:55 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by kusuda_Aina »

This mod is gorgeous until it f__k up the stack size, Jesus man.

IMHO this feature should be disabled at default and teach user to enable it by lua file editing,
what i have seen is this shxt is the most offensives changes which i have ever seen in the mods environment.

You shouls also warn the players which install this mod should notify that the stack size will be boost up,
your factory could be running like crazy because that is so much space in your chest and storage network now, that could be devastating to the saves.

Honestly increasing space slot in bags is gorgeous but changing stack size by default is doing too much, just saying.

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by binbinhfr »

sophalin, kusuda,

please update to 1.0.20 and edit the config.lua file to suit your needs, if you do not want all bigbags features.

to get default stack and mag size, you can use :
my_stack_offset = 0
my_stack_factor = 1
my_mag_offset = 0
my_mag_factor = 1
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

kusuda_Aina
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 5:55 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by kusuda_Aina »

binbinhfr wrote:sophalin, kusuda,

please update to 1.0.20 and edit the config.lua file to suit your needs, if you do not want all bigbags features.

to get default stack and mag size, you can use :
my_stack_offset = 0
my_stack_factor = 1
my_mag_offset = 0
my_mag_factor = 1
thanks man, i just changes this and everything goes well, thanks for the quick reply.

Sunnova
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by Sunnova »

I've been using add-loader version 0.0.8, and BigBags Mod, Version 1.0.18.

I've been using a stacksize of 6k in bigbags..

I use add-loader, to feed copper plate right into machines to make copper wire, which then uses addloader to feed right into the machine to make green circuits.

All has been fine till I decided to reduce the stacksize in Bigbags from 6k to 5k, hoping to get down to 1k in a few days if it all worked, to see if it would help with my fps/ups being so low.

After a while I decided to check the machines to see how they were doing, and saw that all the resource inputs in the machines being fed by loaders were far beyond the new 5k limit (75k in some cases), and still increasing. I had to remove the materials from all the machines I feed directly with the loaders to get the stack size to max out at the new 5k max, then all was fine.

This took a while as I feed a lot of machines from loaders and between machines using loaders, so I now know that when I do drop the stacksize again to a lower amount, I'll have to empty out all the machines once again being fed by loaders.

Not sure if anything can be done. Just though folks need to be warned of the problem between these two mods if they decide to reduce the stacksize from what they had to a lower amount. I'm not sure what would have happened if I had not noticed the issue.

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by binbinhfr »

I suppose it has to do with add-loader which is not checking if the stack size is changed... I am afraid there is nothing I can do on bigbags : I just change the global stack size parameter...
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

Sunnova
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by Sunnova »

binbinhfr wrote:I suppose it has to do with add-loader which is not checking if the stack size is changed... I am afraid there is nothing I can do on bigbags : I just change the global stack size parameter...
Thanks, I didn't think anything could be done from your mod, but thought folks should be warned. I don't see a forum post anywhere for the other mod or I would have warned there.

Thanks again for your time. :)

Nexela
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1828
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 11:09 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by Nexela »

It might be an issue with the loader implementation in Factorio. add-loader's code is related to loading from/to cargo wagons.

PN03
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:57 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by PN03 »

It seems like the stack size is universal so I don't know if this is even possible but is there a way to have the Big Bags stack size bonus only affect my inventory and tool-belt not any trains chests or inserter stacks?

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by binbinhfr »

after a check, item stack size is global : no way to separate your inventory stack size from other.
Only ammo, capsule and modules stacks are distinct numbers.
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

Sunnova
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by Sunnova »

I'm still working on reducing the stack size from 6k down to 1k. Some of my assembling machines still have 300k or more of items when they went nuts when I first went from 6k to 5k because of loaders. I'm down to 1k now for most things, including storage chests. I should have the rest done by this weekend.

My fps/ups went from 20/20 to around 54/54. Sometimes hitting 60/60.

So much better. :)

gum
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2016 11:58 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by gum »

if i'm hosting a server, do i need to modify the config file on the server or the client?

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3911
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by orzelek »

gum wrote:if i'm hosting a server, do i need to modify the config file on the server or the client?
You need to modify both - they need to be consistent.

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”