[MOD 0.13] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Topics and discussion about specific mods
User avatar
MiniMe943
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 5:24 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Big Bags 1.0.8

Post by MiniMe943 »

binbinhfr wrote:

Code: Select all

-- my_stack_offset = 100	-- multiply every stack size by 5 and add 100
--- my_stack_factor = 5  	

Oh! You have to have three dashes? Well, in that case, I can't code, and yes, it worked. Thanks. :)

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.X] Big Bags 1.0.8

Post by binbinhfr »

MiniMe943 wrote:
binbinhfr wrote:

Code: Select all

-- my_stack_offset = 100	-- multiply every stack size by 5 and add 100
--- my_stack_factor = 5  	

Oh! You have to have three dashes? Well, in that case, I can't code, and yes, it worked. Thanks. :)
ha ha, no the 3 dashes are too much, i was too quick.
with 2 dashes it works also ;)
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13.X] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by binbinhfr »

0.13 update
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

DarkHelmet
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 5:46 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13.X] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by DarkHelmet »

Thanks for the update!

I'm sure this can be filed under "First world problems", but changing the stack size by default bugs me. With the mod portal system the inconvenience of having to break a mod open to edit config.lua kind of annoying. I know there's no general purpose in-game mod configuration system without leveraging somebody else's config library and I've already got enough clutter on the main screen from mod so another button doesn't appeal either. I don't know if the game structure allows this, but could a research item to enable large stack sizes work? With such large stacks by default, chest explosions were very spectacular in 0.12. With 0.13 I've already seen an amusing number of people having inventory explosions on twitch streams when swapping armor and losing the bonus slots. Another possibility, split the mod into "Big Bags" and "Big Stacks" ?

FWIW there's a built in "force default logistics request size to 1" option in the base game now.
A guide to planning your factory's space requirements:
1) Figure out how much space you need, double it to be safe.
2) Wrong! There's never enough space.

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13.X] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by binbinhfr »

Hi, thanks for your return.

This update was just a quick fix to allow 0.13 compatibility. I have to do this for all my mods (a dozen...). Then I'll get into the details and see what I can do with new API features. From what I rapidly saw, some of your requests should be feasible. Be sure that I will have a look at them soon. For the moment, I have no other option for you than editing the config.lua...
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

DarkHelmet
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 5:46 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13.X] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by DarkHelmet »

I understand completely and I felt bad about asking for such a minor thing. However, the mod portal does increase the stakes for "just edit config.lua" type solutions, particularly when it is (or will be) tied to multiplayer.
A guide to planning your factory's space requirements:
1) Figure out how much space you need, double it to be safe.
2) Wrong! There's never enough space.

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13.X] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by binbinhfr »

Yes, the mod portal feature does not ease the customization of mods.

I had a look at the new API and stacksize is still not editable afterwards. It's in the game data. So no possibility to increase it optionaly using a techno research.
Same with default request size (which can now be set to 1 in the main menu).

Alas (for you :-) ), I am the main user of my mods and I developed this one to specifically gather all these features in one single mod. Other users liked it this way too... So I'm sorry but I won't suppress these features nor split the mod into sub-mods...

But if what you want is just a bigger inventory, I think that there are mods that just do this ("Larger Inventory").

The fact remains that "config.lua" approach will be hard to keep, and modders will have to think about it.
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

donkeybonner
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 2:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13.X] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by donkeybonner »

Im having this error:
Image
Anyone knows what it can be? and how to fix?

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13.X] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by binbinhfr »

You have to install factorio last version 0.13.1 . This last version of bigbags is following a fix / bug correction that was made between 0.13.0 and 0.13.1 .
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

donkeybonner
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 2:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13.X] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by donkeybonner »

binbinhfr wrote:You have to install factorio last version 0.13.1 . This last version of bigbags is following a fix / bug correction that was made between 0.13.0 and 0.13.1 .
Thanks! I thought steam would download the new versions automatically.

Lejving
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 12:56 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13.X] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by Lejving »

Hello! I've run into a problem and I'm not sure if it's BigBags or the original mod that it's interacting with that's at fault.

The mod runs a is_empty() call which turns out to be nil.

Code: Select all

local ret, invent = pcall(silo.get_inventory, 5)
if ret and not invent.is_empty() then
     silo.launch_rocket()
end
Exact errorcode:

Code: Select all

Error while running hte event handler:
__ScoreExtended__/control.lua:198:attempt to index local 'invent' (a nil value)
Disabling Big Bags doesn't produce this error. So what I'm thinking is that Big Bags somehow makes inventory "empty" or just not exist anymore (and have created a new inventory that's somehow called differentely). Perhaps I'm just not understanding this correctly that might also be a possible way :)

Is this something that Big Bags can fix or is it ScoreExtendeds job?

Thanks for awesome mod anyhow.

CaptainRush
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 10:04 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13.X] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by CaptainRush »

You have to install factorio last version 0.13.1 . This last version of bigbags is following a fix / bug correction that was made between 0.13.0 and 0.13.1 .

thanks a lot dude, had the same problem, it works now. thx u saved the day....had to spent time with my wife if this didnt work :D

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.13.X] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by binbinhfr »

CaptainRush wrote:thanks a lot dude, had the same problem, it works now. thx u saved the day....had to spent time with my wife if this didnt work :D
Lejving wrote:Is this something that Big Bags can fix or is it ScoreExtendeds job?
Thanks for awesome mod anyhow.
You're both welcome ! Always happy to have enthousiast returns. :-)

For the problem of Lejving, as I maintain both mods, it's from the Score Extended side : something changed in factorio API, and I just published a correction, so go and see on the other post, or update mod ingame with portal.
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

DarkHelmet
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 5:46 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12+] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by DarkHelmet »

FWIW; I added a migration script for the robot technology renames for 0.13.

migrations/BigBags_1.0.8.json:

Code: Select all

{
  "technology":
  [
    ["logistic-robot-speed-4", "worker-robots-speed-4"],
    ["logistic-robot-storage-4", "worker-robots-storage-4"],
    ["logistic-robot-storage-5", "worker-robots-storage-5"]
  ]
}
A guide to planning your factory's space requirements:
1) Figure out how much space you need, double it to be safe.
2) Wrong! There's never enough space.

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12+] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by binbinhfr »

thx DarkHelmet !
I forgot these ones ;-)

I just corrected speed from 4 to 6 (6 is the tier I added)
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

Ambrotosa
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12+] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by Ambrotosa »

Hi,
Im having a bit of a problem i have big bags installed aswell as bob's mods and when i put on the power armor MK 5 my inventory turns down to 4 slots so im guessing the total inventory exceeds the inventory screen boarders so i end up with 4-5 slots
i then load the game without big bags and puts on bob's mods power armor MK5 and i then get the normal inventory size so im guessing there is something going on with your mod and bob's mod and its interaction with inventory size (max size)

this is for 0.13.x btw

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12+] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by binbinhfr »

Hi,

i tested with bobs and bigbags. Bob armor mk5 adds an extra 60 slots on main inventory (which become 230, with a scrollbar because the size exceeds the screen). With my lastest factorio 0.13.6, it works. And this scrollbar seems to show that there is no special limit on the size...

I can put the armor on and off and the main inventory slots change accordingly. Never saw this 4 slots bug. The problem should be with another mod interaction. Please send me your mod-list.json so that I can see what other mod could make a problem.
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

Ambrotosa
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12+] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by Ambrotosa »

current log mods loaded
http://paste.ee/p/2BM7A

modlist json
http://paste.ee/p/eTFSo

User avatar
binbinhfr
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12+] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by binbinhfr »

waoo you have quite alot of mods.
If you want to make a try, please disable all mods, except bobs and bigbags and see if there is still the problem. Because as I told you, for me, there is no problem with wearing / unwearing mk5 armor. Inventory size change from 170 to 230 and reverse...

Are you sure you have every last version of bob and bigbags and factorio ?
My mods on the Factorio Mod Portal :geek:

Ambrotosa
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12+] Big Bags - more space in your bags

Post by Ambrotosa »

as i said earlier when i have that mod list and then removed ur mod my inventory was fine.
i added ur mod and put on the mk5 armor and i end up with 5 inventory slots and all my inventory is on the ground.

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”