Page 1 of 3

[MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2016 5:28 pm
by DonovanHawkins
Type: Mod
Name: Map Labels
Description: Add labels to resources on the map
License: MIT
Version: 0.1.0
Release: 2016-03-27
Tested-With-Factorio-Version: 0.12.29
Category: Helper
Tags: User-Interface, Accessibility
Download-Url: http://www.cephira.com/Temp/MapLabels_0.1.0.zip
Long description
Known issues
Version history
License

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Posted: Sat May 07, 2016 10:06 am
by scherzeking
Nice Mod. However when I try to rename the ores it will not change anything.
When I edit your example:
--ResourceDisplayName[ "iron-ore" ] = "~Iron ore"
into this: ResourceDisplayName[ "iron-ore" ] = "~Eisen"
I do get a error before loading the game. And when I leave the first thing (ResourceDisplayName = {}) nothing will change.
help?

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Posted: Sat May 07, 2016 10:37 am
by Pandemoneus
scherzeking wrote:Nice Mod. However when I try to rename the ores it will not change anything.
When I edit your example:
--ResourceDisplayName[ "iron-ore" ] = "~Iron ore"
into this: ResourceDisplayName[ "iron-ore" ] = "~Eisen"
I do get a error before loading the game. And when I leave the first thing (ResourceDisplayName = {}) nothing will change.
help?
You have to leave the first line ResourceDisplayName = {} as it is. It declares and defines the variable ResourceDisplayName so you can fill it with stuff. An example file would look like this:

Code: Select all

ResourceDisplayName = {}

ResourceDisplayName["angels-fissure"] = "~Fissure"
ResourceDisplayName["angels-ore1"] = "~Saphirite"

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Posted: Sat May 07, 2016 12:22 pm
by steinio
:thumbs up:

Thanks to this mod i found uraninite at last.
Could you please change the button to a smaller one (maybe with an icon) ?

Edit: Is it possible to place the label a bit far from the ressource and make the train stop visible so i can use it?

Greetings steinio

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Posted: Mon May 09, 2016 10:42 am
by scherzeking
Pandemoneus wrote:
scherzeking wrote:Nice Mod. However when I try to rename the ores it will not change anything.
When I edit your example:
--ResourceDisplayName[ "iron-ore" ] = "~Iron ore"
into this: ResourceDisplayName[ "iron-ore" ] = "~Eisen"
I do get a error before loading the game. And when I leave the first thing (ResourceDisplayName = {}) nothing will change.
help?
You have to leave the first line ResourceDisplayName = {} as it is. It declares and defines the variable ResourceDisplayName so you can fill it with stuff. An example file would look like this:

Code: Select all

ResourceDisplayName = {}

ResourceDisplayName["angels-fissure"] = "~Fissure"
ResourceDisplayName["angels-ore1"] = "~Saphirite"
thx it works now ;)

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Posted: Fri May 27, 2016 6:53 pm
by drayath
Some config's for various mods.

Code: Select all

-- Yuki Ores
ResourceDisplayName[ "y-res1" ] = "Durotal"
ResourceDisplayName[ "y-res2" ] = "Nuatreel"

Code: Select all

-- Angel Refining Ores
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore1" ] = "Saphirite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore2" ] = "Jivolite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore3" ] = "Stiratite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore4" ] = "Crotinnium"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore5" ] = "Rubyte"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore6" ] = "Bobmonium"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-fissure" ] = "Fissure"

Code: Select all

-- Angel Infinite Ores  (suggest setting ResourceFieldSearchRadius=10 or higher if using this mod and RSO)
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-copper-ore" ] = "Infinite Copper"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-iron-ore" ] = "Infinite Iron"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-coal" ] = "Infinite Coal"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-stone" ] = "Infinite Stone"

ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-tin-ore" ] = "Infinite Tin"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-gold-ore" ] = "Infinite Gold"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-bauxite-ore" ] = "Infinite Aluminium"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-lead-ore" ] = "Infinite Lead"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-quartz" ] = "Infinite Silicon"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-rutile-ore" ] = "Infinite Titanium"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-tungsten-ore" ] = "Infinite Tungsten"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-zinc-ore" ] = "Infinite Zinc"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-nickel-ore" ] = "Infinite Nickel"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-gem-ore" ] = "Infinite Gem"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-sulfur" ] = "Infinite Sulfur"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-silver-ore" ] = "Infinite Silver"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-cobalt-ore" ] = "Infinite Cobalt"

ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore1" ] = "Infinite Saphirite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore2" ] = "Infinite Jivolite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore3" ] = "Infinite Stiratite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore4" ] = "Infinite Crotinnium"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore5" ] = "Infinite Rubyte "
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore6" ] = "Infinite Bobmonium"

ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-uraninite" ] = "Infinite Uraninite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-fluorite" ] = "Infinite Fluorite"

ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-y-res1" ] = "Infinite N4-Material Chunk"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-y-res2" ] = "Infinite F7-Material Chunk"

ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-uranium-ore" ] = "Infinite Uranium"

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2016 9:59 pm
by steinio
Thanks drayath.

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Posted: Sat Jun 11, 2016 7:46 pm
by steinio
Hello drayath,

sorry but you probably forgot the ~ sign like mentioned on the config.lua

Code: Select all

-- Preferred names for resources on map, or blank to hide (default is to replace non-alphanumeric characters with space, upper-case the first letter, and prepend a tilde)
so this would be te corrected version:

Code: Select all

-- Yuki Ores
ResourceDisplayName[ "y-res1" ] = "~Durotal"
ResourceDisplayName[ "y-res2" ] = "~Nuatreel"

-- Angel Refining Ores
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore1" ] = "~Saphirite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore2" ] = "~Jivolite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore3" ] = "~Stiratite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore4" ] = "~Crotinnium"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore5" ] = "~Rubyte"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-ore6" ] = "~Bobmonium"
ResourceDisplayName[ "angels-fissure" ] = "~Fissure"

-- Angel Infinite Ores  (suggest setting ResourceFieldSearchRadius=10 or higher if using this mod and RSO)
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-copper-ore" ] = "~Infinite Copper"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-iron-ore" ] = "~Infinite Iron"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-coal" ] = "~Infinite Coal"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-stone" ] = "~Infinite Stone"

ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-tin-ore" ] = "~Infinite Tin"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-gold-ore" ] = "~Infinite Gold"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-bauxite-ore" ] = "~Infinite Aluminium"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-lead-ore" ] = "~Infinite Lead"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-quartz" ] = "~Infinite Silicon"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-rutile-ore" ] = "~Infinite Titanium"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-tungsten-ore" ] = "~Infinite Tungsten"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-zinc-ore" ] = "~Infinite Zinc"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-nickel-ore" ] = "~Infinite Nickel"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-gem-ore" ] = "~Infinite Gem"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-sulfur" ] = "~Infinite Sulfur"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-silver-ore" ] = "~Infinite Silver"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-cobalt-ore" ] = "~Infinite Cobalt"

ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore1" ] = "~Infinite Saphirite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore2" ] = "~Infinite Jivolite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore3" ] = "~Infinite Stiratite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore4" ] = "~Infinite Crotinnium"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore5" ] = "~Infinite Rubyte "
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-angels-ore6" ] = "~Infinite Bobmonium"

ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-uraninite" ] = "~Infinite Uraninite"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-fluorite" ] = "~Infinite Fluorite"

ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-y-res1" ] = "~Infinite N4-Material Chunk"
ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-y-res2" ] = "~Infinite F7-Material Chunk"

ResourceDisplayName[ "infinite-uranium-ore" ] = "~Infinite Uranium"

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2016 10:46 am
by Ranakastrasz
Would be nice if each ore patch looked for nearby patches as well, within ~10 tiles, and merged them together, reducing number of icons.
Edit:
Also, would be preferable if it scanned the map gradually, rather than all at once, since it lags the game out.

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2016 3:11 pm
by maggi321
Very great mod! I guess it makes playing with many ores like in Bobs mod much more playable.

Is it possible to make the labels undestroyable by the natives?

Right now I sometimes get Alerts from biters destroying some of the resource labels, which is really annoying.

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 9:50 am
by PiggyWhiskey
maggi321 wrote:Very great mod! I guess it makes playing with many ores like in Bobs mod much more playable.

Is it possible to make the labels undestroyable by the natives?

Right now I sometimes get Alerts from biters destroying some of the resource labels, which is really annoying.
It definitely makes searching for ores with Bob's easier.

I've only noticed them attacking when I'm near them. Close enough to trigger path finding to the player.

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 4:23 pm
by Bizobinator
Are there any plans to update it for 0.13.1?

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 4:53 pm
by maggi321
I've created a 0.13.1 working version for personal purposes. I also changed the owner force of the invisible train stations to "neutral", which may remove the possibility of natives destroying it, but I didn't really have time to test it yet. I will share my version here, that other impatient people like me can use it, until the original author releases an update.

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 9:48 pm
by PiggyWhiskey
Has 0.13 been released already?

Didn't they say it would break most mods.

What changes did you make? Apart from changing it to neutral. (does that change work in 0.12?)

Edit: I'm an idiot. I forgot the releases go to beta in steam and from the website.
I was expecting my normal steam to update to 0.13 automatically

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Posted: Thu Jun 30, 2016 7:00 am
by maggi321
I only changed it to neutral and added the mandatory "factorio_version": "0.13.0" to the info.json file. I guess the change to neutral should also work in 0.12, but I didn't test it.

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Posted: Thu Jun 30, 2016 9:31 pm
by Ranakastrasz
You could add the invulnerable tag instead. Can't recall what its called.

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Posted: Thu Jun 30, 2016 9:34 pm
by orzelek
When spawning the tag you can set it's destructible flag to false - biters won't touch it.

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 5:26 pm
by steinio
maggi321 wrote:I've created a 0.13.1 working version for personal purposes. I also changed the owner force of the invisible train stations to "neutral", which may remove the possibility of natives destroying it, but I didn't really have time to test it yet. I will share my version here, that other impatient people like me can use it, until the original author releases an update.
Thank you.

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Posted: Mon Jul 04, 2016 10:25 am
by Templeo
When do you release a working version for 0.13 for the rest of us? :) or have i missed something ?



EDIT: silly me, never mind. Thank you alot maggi321! :) -though, can't seem to find the "Map Label button" ?

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Map Labels - Add labels to resources on the map

Posted: Mon Jul 04, 2016 5:44 pm
by ukezi
I also can't find the button. it is not in the upper left corner. I'm useing bob's modpack.
EDIT: the button appears in a new game. how ever it is not showing in an old one is a riddle to me.