[MOD 0.12.x] Assembler Light

Topics and discussion about specific mods
Post Reply
obstinate
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 7:25 am
Contact:

[MOD 0.12.x] Assembler Light

Post by obstinate »

Type: Mod
Name: Assembler Light
Description: Adds a light to the front of active assemblers.
License: MIT License
Version: 0.0.1
Release: 2015-12-13
Tested-With-Factorio-Version: 0.12.20
Category: Convenience
Tags: graphic, utility
Download-Url: https://github.com/jaguilar/Factorio-As ... _0.0.2.zip
Website: https://github.com/jaguilar/Factorio-Assembler-Light
License
Long description
Pictures
Version history
Last edited by obstinate on Fri Apr 15, 2016 2:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12888
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Assembler Light

Post by ssilk »

Why is this in gameplay-changes?
Moved to non-changing. :)
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

BlackHat
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 9:45 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Assembler Light

Post by BlackHat »

I love this mod. But have one small issue.

IF you put Modules in it (ie Assembler 3 with 4 modules) it covers the indicator light.

Can the location of the light be tweaked to be a little lower so its not covered by the Modules when they are inserted?

Speadge
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Assembler Light

Post by Speadge »

whith having 4 modules i still see the light below the modules.

what do u expect? make a pic :)

BlackHat
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 9:45 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Assembler Light

Post by BlackHat »

Ok, with 4 modules only about 40-50% of the indicator light is covered. (making it harder to see)
BUT if you only put 3 Modules in it, it covers about 75% of the indicator light.

AND, if its 3 green Efficiency 3 modules, because of the similar color, I cant tell if its running unless I zoom way in to spot the edge of the indicator below the module.

My question remains, Can the indicator light be moved slightly so its not being covered by modules when they are inserted in the Assembly machines.

obstinate
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 7:25 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Assembler Light

Post by obstinate »

It could definitely be moved . . . but I'm a bit lazy to do it. If you want to take a crack at it, you can see how the lights are made on the factory sprites. Send me updated images and I'll put them in. :P

BlackHat
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 9:45 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Assembler Light

Post by BlackHat »

Oh, I was hoping the position could be adjust by tweaking some value in the lua file.

I did not realize the sprites would need to be rebuilt to adjust the location. :(

Oh will. Thanks for the info.

BlackHat
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 9:45 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Assembler Light

Post by BlackHat »

Ok, it did not make sense to me that you needed to change the sprites to adjust the position. and when I looked at the indicator light sprite, it did not look like you could move it.

So I started playing around with the values in the lua, trying to figure out what did what and restarting the game after every change. and found that it looks like

Code: Select all

shift = { .50, 1.0 }
is the variable that changes the position of the light.

By changing it from " .50, 1.0 " to " .75, 1.15 " for each of the 3 assemblers

Code: Select all

shift = { .75, 1.15 }
it relocated the light to the right and down.

(FIRST = Origional Location, SECOND = New Location, Third = New Location with Modules installed)
Post.jpg
Post.jpg (102.67 KiB) Viewed 17707 times

obstinate
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 7:25 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Assembler Light

Post by obstinate »

Sorry, I had totally forgotten that's how I did it. Since it's so easy to fix, I did so. I tagged release 0.0.2. I've tested it briefly on my own factorio and it seems to work fine. Please check the updated link. (Thanks for the contribution!)

SilentSean
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Assembler Light

Post by SilentSean »

Great mod, being able to see when assemblers are actually active makes some thing so much easier to diagnose

User avatar
Roktaal
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 6:42 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Assembler Light

Post by Roktaal »

By adding

Code: Select all

light = {intensity = 1, size = 6, shift = { .75, 1.15 }}
to the end of each, you can make it glow as well

Image

obstinate
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 7:25 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Assembler Light

Post by obstinate »

Fascinating. I'm not sure that's a good fit for this mod but it sure is nifty. Thanks for sharing.

Smoovious
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2016 12:14 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Assembler Light

Post by Smoovious »

If it is going to have a small light glow (and probably a smaller radius and not as bright... perhaps use a directional light like the head-/flash-light), perhaps make it more green to match the color of the assembler light.

-- Smoov

User avatar
Jackalope_Gaming
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Assembler Light

Post by Jackalope_Gaming »

Obstinate, I made a pull request for you on the Github that nearly halves the number of lines of code needed to make the mod work and would enable supporting other mods much more easily if you'd like.

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2633
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Assembler Light

Post by steinio »

Does this mod add an accu to the assemblers?

It would be ok, but just curious because i have 5MJ accu capacity without accus ;)
Image

Transport Belt Repair Man

View unread Posts

User avatar
Jackalope_Gaming
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Assembler Light

Post by Jackalope_Gaming »

Nope, this mod only adds an animation to the front of assemblers. No accumulators.

User avatar
Thomasnotused
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 9:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Assembler Light

Post by Thomasnotused »

I updated this to 0.14 because I got bored, enjoy!

https://www.dropbox.com/s/t84bgmjbbpde9 ... 3.zip?dl=1
I have no idea what I'm doing.

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”