[MOD 0.18] Orbital Ion Cannon 1.8.2

Topics and discussion about specific mods
mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 4439
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Orbital Ion Cannon 1.5.3

Post by mrvn »

Shouldn't ion canons fire at worms and hives in the radars always visible region? They seem to only fire on the outer scanned region for me.

Also it would be nice to be able to direct fire using circuits or (in combiantion with AAI mods) using AAI vehicles to scout out enemy bases and fire on them. Maybe a mobile radar vehicle and ion cannon controller building.

Sunnova
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Orbital Ion Cannon 1.5.3

Post by Sunnova »

I searched the topic first for this and didn't get a hit on stone, has anyone else noticed stone laying on the ground sometimes after the ion cannon fires?

Any command that can be used to pick it all up?

I see lots of it when running around where nests used to be.

Thanks for your time!

User avatar
Optera
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2807
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 6:41 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Orbital Ion Cannon 1.5.3

Post by Optera »

0.13.0: Destroying large stone rocks gives stone.
Ion cannon just happens to destroy some of those large rocks.

There are different mods to automatically pick up items on ground in range of logistics network. Leaving them laying around shouldn't have much impact on performance though.

Sunnova
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Orbital Ion Cannon 1.5.3

Post by Sunnova »

Optera wrote:
0.13.0: Destroying large stone rocks gives stone.
Ion cannon just happens to destroy some of those large rocks.

There are different mods to automatically pick up items on ground in range of logistics network. Leaving them laying around shouldn't have much impact on performance though.
Ok, thanks, I won't worry about it then :)

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 4439
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Orbital Ion Cannon 1.5.3

Post by mrvn »

charmead wrote:
Optera wrote:
0.13.0: Destroying large stone rocks gives stone.
Ion cannon just happens to destroy some of those large rocks.

There are different mods to automatically pick up items on ground in range of logistics network. Leaving them laying around shouldn't have much impact on performance though.
Ok, thanks, I won't worry about it then :)
Stone on the ground is not specific to the Ion Cannon. Every time a rock is destroyed it happens, even when aliens destroy it. Not with nukes though I think.

You can set your deconstruction planer to filter for "items on ground" and just deconstruct everywhere. The construction robots will then pick everything in range up. Running through and pressing f also works.

Performance wise they should be the same as anything else on the ground, like alien artifacts. In sandbox recently I had 600k alien artefacts on the ground with not much drain on the UPS. I think that came more from the live aliens and machines. Problem only came when I deconstructed them all and 30k construction bots started collecting them.

gunmaker
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Orbital Ion Cannon 1.5.3

Post by gunmaker »

can you modify this to work with the big brother mod? the automatic fire hasnt fired at all because the radar is larger range then default(i think thats the problem).

thanks if you can!

Sunnova
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Orbital Ion Cannon 1.5.3

Post by Sunnova »

I also use alien science mod and loot chest mod, so I modded loot chest to pick up the stone around the killed bugs, so now when the ion cannon kills the bugs and nests, lootchest mod gets the alien artificats and stone from the ground, I'm happy.

mrvn wrote:
Stone on the ground is not specific to the Ion Cannon. Every time a rock is destroyed it happens, even when aliens destroy it. Not with nukes though I think.

You can set your deconstruction planer to filter for "items on ground" and just deconstruct everywhere. The construction robots will then pick everything in range up. Running through and pressing f also works.

Performance wise they should be the same as anything else on the ground, like alien artifacts. In sandbox recently I had 600k alien artefacts on the ground with not much drain on the UPS. I think that came more from the live aliens and machines. Problem only came when I deconstructed them all and 30k construction bots started collecting them.

babbos
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 12:59 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Orbital Ion Cannon 1.5.3

Post by babbos »

I have disabled auto-targeting and it won't take effect on my game.

My problem is the constant alerts of the ion auto-targeting which ruins the game for me as the sound is very disruptive.

Please let me know how to disable auto-targeting or set the alarm sound to something more discreet.

I don't want to disable the mod altogether, awesome work!

Supercheese
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2015 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Orbital Ion Cannon 1.5.3

Post by Supercheese »

babbos wrote:I have disabled auto-targeting and it won't take effect on my game.

My problem is the constant alerts of the ion auto-targeting which ruins the game for me as the sound is very disruptive.

Please let me know how to disable auto-targeting or set the alarm sound to something more discreet.

I don't want to disable the mod altogether, awesome work!
You can disable the klaxon sound in the mod options menu under the Per Player tab rather than the Startup tab shown here:

Image

Unchecking the "Play Klaxon" option in the Per Player tab will mute the klaxon.

Mr Mental
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 9:17 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Orbital Ion Cannon 1.5.3

Post by Mr Mental »

While using Big Brother mod, Te ion cannon wont target anything that has been scanned, But will target those that are currently being scanned or that have just been scanned, Could there be a fix for the cannons to target from say closest to a placaeble marker/Contrll station ( THis could replace the targeting system ) Or even a Radar Vehicle ?

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 4439
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Orbital Ion Cannon 1.5.3

Post by mrvn »

Mr Mental wrote:While using Big Brother mod, Te ion cannon wont target anything that has been scanned, But will target those that are currently being scanned or that have just been scanned, Could there be a fix for the cannons to target from say closest to a placaeble marker/Contrll station ( THis could replace the targeting system ) Or even a Radar Vehicle ?
Like you have some anti-targeting marker and you place them where you don't want the cannon to shoot. Everywhere else would be fair game?

The marker should have enough reach to build an alien farm. So the marker has to be far enough from the aliens so they don't destroy it but still cover the aliens so they don't get destroyed too.

Sunnova
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Orbital Ion Cannon 1.5.3

Post by Sunnova »

Supercheese,

in the .16 version of factorio, this call no longer works, remote.call("silo_script", "update_gui"), the devs removed the update_gui from the remote.add_interface("silo_script", section in the silo_script.

Without that code, I launched 4 Orbital Ion Cannon's, and the Rocket silo stats shows

Satellite:
Orbital Ion Cannon: 4
Orbital Ion Cannon: 4
Orbital Ion Cannon: 4
Orbital Ion Cannon: 4
Last edited by Sunnova on Sat Dec 16, 2017 3:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Germanfragger
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2017 2:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Orbital Ion Cannon 1.5.3

Post by Germanfragger »

Is it Possible to implement an option (in the GUI for example) to enable/disable the Auto-Targeting?

and has it been ported to 0.16 yet? for some reason i cant find it anywere!

xeln4g4
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2016 2:42 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Orbital Ion Cannon 1.5.3

Post by xeln4g4 »

IMPORTANT NOTE: This is for 0.15.40, haven't installed 0.16.X yet
Germanfragger wrote:Is it Possible to implement an option (in the GUI for example) to enable/disable the Auto-Targeting?

and has it been ported to 0.16 yet? for some reason i cant find it anywere!
Attachments
Autotargetingdisable.jpg
Autotargetingdisable.jpg (315.8 KiB) Viewed 4250 times

wurststulle
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 3:26 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Orbital Ion Cannon 1.5.3

Post by wurststulle »

@Sunnova is your version working in general? do you mind uploading it?

Sunnova
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Orbital Ion Cannon 1.5.3

Post by Sunnova »

wurststulle wrote:@Sunnova is your version working in general? do you mind uploading it?
It's working just fine, no problems that I have found so far, but I would only upload it if Supercheese gives the ok to do so.

wurststulle
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 3:26 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Orbital Ion Cannon 1.5.3

Post by wurststulle »

thanks, maybe you can open a pullrequest on github?

i tried to remove the remote.call line but its not fixing the problem for me. i am stuck with th error "error while loading prototype "crosshairs": key radius not found". unfortunately i have no experience writing lua code or factorio mods

Sunnova
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Orbital Ion Cannon 1.5.3

Post by Sunnova »

wurststulle wrote:thanks, maybe you can open a pullrequest on github?

i tried to remove the remote.call line but its not fixing the problem for me. i am stuck with th error "error while loading prototype "crosshairs": key radius not found". unfortunately i have no experience writing lua code or factorio mods
I think this is all the changes I made to get it to work. Sorry if I missed something.

Code: Select all


file info.json

changed from

  "factorio_version": "0.15",
  
changed to
  
  "factorio_version": "0.16",
 

------------------------------------

file control.lua

changed from

	if remote.interfaces["silo_script"] then
		remote.call("silo_script", "set_show_launched_without_satellite", false) -- FINALLY!
		remote.call("silo_script", "add_tracked_item", "orbital-ion-cannon")
		remote.call("silo_script", "update_gui")
	end

changed to

	if remote.interfaces["silo_script"] then
		remote.call("silo_script", "set_show_launched_without_satellite", false) -- FINALLY!
		if not global.IonCannonLaunched then
			remote.call("silo_script", "add_tracked_item", "orbital-ion-cannon")
		end
		-- remote.call("silo_script", "update_gui")
	end
	
changed all occurrences of the word
colspan= to column_count=

------------------------------------

file entities.lua	

changed from
ion_cannon_targeter.icon = "__Orbital Ion Cannon__/graphics/crosshairs.png"
ion_cannon_targeter.flags = {"placeable-neutral", "player-creation", "placeable-off-grid"}
ion_cannon_targeter.collision_mask = {}

changed to
ion_cannon_targeter.icon = "__Orbital Ion Cannon__/graphics/crosshairs.png"
ion_cannon_targeter.icon_size = 32
ion_cannon_targeter.flags = {"placeable-neutral", "player-creation", "placeable-off-grid"}
ion_cannon_targeter.collision_mask = {}

changed all occurrences of the word
perimeter to radius


------------------------------------

file items.lua	

changed from

		name = "orbital-ion-cannon",
		icon = "__Orbital Ion Cannon__/graphics/Icon.png",
		flags = {"goes-to-main-inventory"},
		
changed to	
		
		name = "orbital-ion-cannon",
		icon = "__Orbital Ion Cannon__/graphics/Icon.png",
		icon_size=32,
		flags = {"goes-to-main-inventory"},

changed from

		name = "ion-cannon-targeter",
		icon = "__Orbital Ion Cannon__/graphics/crosshairs.png",
		dark_background_icon = "__Orbital Ion Cannon__/graphics/crosshairs_darkBG.png",

changed to	

		name = "ion-cannon-targeter",
		icon = "__Orbital Ion Cannon__/graphics/crosshairs.png",
		icon_size=32,
		dark_background_icon = "__Orbital Ion Cannon__/graphics/crosshairs_darkBG.png",
		
------------------------------------
file styles.lua	

changed from

	type = "button_style",
	parent = "button_style",
	
changed to	

	type = "button_style",
	parent = "button",

Last edited by Sunnova on Thu Dec 28, 2017 8:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

wurststulle
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 3:26 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Orbital Ion Cannon 1.5.3

Post by wurststulle »

thanks for your help! seems to work partly. when i click on the icon at the top of the screen, the games craches:

Code: Select all

Error while running event Orbital Ion Cannon::on_gui_click (ID 1)
Key "column_count" not found in property tree at ROOT
stack traceback:
	__Orbital Ion Cannon__/control.lua:139: in function 'open_GUI'
	__Orbital Ion Cannon__/control.lua:222: in function <__Orbital Ion Cannon__/control.lua:218>
and i had to do this in entries.lua:

Code: Select all

						--{
						--	type = "create-entity",
						--	entity_name = "dead-tree",
						--	check_buildability = true
						--},

Sunnova
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Orbital Ion Cannon 1.5.3

Post by Sunnova »

Sorry about that, in control.lua, change all colspan= to column_count=

you should find it 4 times.

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”