Page 1 of 1

[MOD 0.12.11]ResourceCombinator 0.0.5

Posted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 10:15 pm
by Choumiko
Resource Combinator

Info:
  • Adds a combinator that outputs the amount of resources of the field it's placed on.
    Searches for crude oil in a 13x13 square, outputting following signals:
    Image
    From left to right:
    • Oil/minute including bonus from speed modules
    • Oil/minute without speed modules
    • Number of pumpjacks
    Pictures
    Thanks to drs9999 for making the Resource Monitor Mod. The resource field detection and overlay is taken from there.
  • Name: ResourceCombinator
  • Latest Release: v0.0.5, October 16, 2015
  • Factorio Version: 0.12.11
  • Download: ResourceCombinator 0.0.5
  • License: tbd
  • Website: github
Unlocks with the vanilla combinators. Update frequency is once every second (can be changed in control.lua line 7)
Version history

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.1

Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 3:03 pm
by cpw
Nice! I was thinking about building this myself too. Way to go! :)

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.1

Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 5:19 pm
by waduk
So, this mean we can actually integrated resource count on network ?
Wow,..just wow...

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.1

Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 11:49 pm
by ssilk
Fantastic improvement of the former idea and makes it now totally in the sense of the game.

How will it work with resources like oil? (yield, slowly depleting)? Fluid resources?
(these are inspirational questions :) )

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.1

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 3:13 pm
by Choumiko
ssilk wrote:Fantastic improvement of the former idea and makes it now totally in the sense of the game.

How will it work with resources like oil? (yield, slowly depleting)? Fluid resources?
(these are inspirational questions :) )
For now, like this:

Updated to 0.0.2
  • look for resource under combinator first, in neighbouring tiles if none found
  • search for oil wells in a 13x13 square around the combinator
  • outputs oil per 10seconds, number of oil spots as pumpjack signal
The 13x13 square is shown like the supply area of the electric poles. Note that it's oil per 10seconds, as the circuit network only supports integers. The combinator output may even be more precise than the tooltip of a pumpjack due to rounding (or maybe not :D )
Blueprinting a combinator only works if you blueprint the ghosted combinator (the item you place by hand is an electric pole which gets switched via script)
The pumpjack signal is the number of oilspots, not the actual amount of pumpjacks placed.

As always, open for suggestions :)

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.1

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 1:41 am
by Vin
Choumiko wrote:
ssilk wrote:Fantastic improvement of the former idea and makes it now totally in the sense of the game.

How will it work with resources like oil? (yield, slowly depleting)? Fluid resources?
(these are inspirational questions :) )
For now, like this:

Updated to 0.0.2
  • look for resource under combinator first, in neighbouring tiles if none found
  • search for oil wells in a 13x13 square around the combinator
  • outputs oil per 10seconds, number of oil spots as pumpjack signal
The 13x13 square is shown like the supply area of the electric poles. Note that it's oil per 10seconds, as the circuit network only supports integers. The combinator output may even be more precise than the tooltip of a pumpjack due to rounding (or maybe not :D )
Blueprinting a combinator only works if you blueprint the ghosted combinator (the item you place by hand is an electric pole which gets switched via script)
The pumpjack signal is the number of oilspots, not the actual amount of pumpjacks placed.

As always, open for suggestions :)
How does the output interact with modules and/or modded pumpjacks? Currently, effect sources won't update the expected output on a pumpjack, but modded pumpjacks with higher base mining power/speed will. Does the resource combinator work the same?

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.1

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 6:38 am
by Choumiko
Vin wrote:How does the output interact with modules and/or modded pumpjacks? Currently, effect sources won't update the expected output on a pumpjack, but modded pumpjacks with higher base mining power/speed will. Does the resource combinator work the same?
Right now it completely ignores pumpjacks/beacons. What it outputs is calculated by the amount a crude oil spot has. It's basically the oil/10s you'd get if all spots had a pumpjack on it.
I'll probably add/change it so that it works like the tooltip and maybe calc with modules/beacons too.

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.2

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 11:31 am
by Peter34
This mod looks better and better!

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.1

Posted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 8:49 pm
by Choumiko
Updated to 0.0.3
  • output oil/10secs as pumpjack signal for oil spots with pumpjack on it
  • # of oil spots as C-signal
  • use speed modifier of inserted modules
A bit of of a prerelease, since i'll probably drop the # of oil spots and oil/10seconds for oil spots without a pumpjack on them. I can't really think of a use for those. If you can think of one, let me know, else the next release will probably output:
  • crude oil signal: Amount of oil per 10 seconds (for crude oil with pumpjacks on it, including speed bonus from modules in the pumpjack)
  • pumpjack signal: # of pumpjacks (so you can calculate the average oil/s)
Anything else that could make sense?

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.3

Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 12:18 am
by waduk
Hey Choumiko, it's me again, asking noob question as usual.
I don't get it how read the value , see pic below.
v.0.0.3
Pic
Pumpjack Icon = Didn't have a clue what value is that. Number of multiplier plus pumpjack from modules ?
C Icon = Self explanatory, number of pumpjack in area that you stated that in the first post.
Crude oil icon = Didn't have a clue, adding/removing pumpjack/modules didn't change that value. Is this with/without modules value ?

Also, why use C signal icon ? I think it would makes sense if the C was replaced by the pumpjack icon and the current pumpjack icon were changed to "pumpjack icon with small modules" overlay.

Also, can you make it the calculation configurable ? I'd like to see the value /min. It doesn't matter if the update rate is every 1 min, not /10s. to reduce script-update.

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.3

Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 9:36 am
by Choumiko
waduk wrote:I think it would makes sense if the C was replaced by the pumpjack icon and the current pumpjack icon were changed to "pumpjack icon with small modules" overlay.
Also, can you make it the calculation configurable ? I'd like to see the value /min. It doesn't matter if the update rate is every 1 min, not /10s. to reduce script-update.
How about:
  • pumpjack signal: number of pumpjacks
  • crude oil: oil/min without speed bonus
  • crude oil with small modules: oil/min with speed bonus
Oil/min really seems better, since the production window also uses that. Update rate is already configurable in control.lua line 7

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.3

Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 10:12 am
by waduk
Choumiko wrote:
  • pumpjack signal: number of pumpjacks
  • crude oil: oil/min without speed bonus
  • crude oil with small modules: oil/min with speed bonus
Oil/min really seems better, since the production window also uses that. Update rate is already configurable in config.lua line 7
Yeah, that's better. OK, i see the config file, thanks for making it configurable.

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.3

Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:04 pm
by Choumiko
Updated to 0.0.4

Changes
  • outputs oil/minute instead of oil/10seconds
  • changed meaning of signals (again :D )
Image
From left to right:
  • Oil/minute including bonus from speed modules
  • Oil/minute without speed modules
  • Number of pumpjacks
It doesn't check for beacons with speed modules (yet), also speed bonus is only updated every 5 seconds.

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.4

Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:14 pm
by waduk
Thanks for the update and make /min calculation.
Can't test it since i accidentally delete my save file :roll:
But the good thing is i found a bug on new game.
Image

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.4

Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 4:52 pm
by Choumiko
waduk wrote:Can't test it since i accidentally delete my save file :roll:
Sounds bad :o

Add

Code: Select all

global.version = global.version or "0.0.1"
before line 26 and you should be good. I don't know what that "New game" thing is :D

Edit: updated the linked zip to fix the error

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.4

Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 9:33 pm
by waduk
Thanks, the error on new game is gone.
Yeah, i'm really sad about losing my save file (hundreds of hours playtime). :(
Technically it wasn't deleted, but i unknowingly overwrite the save file with other world. :?

Re: [MOD 0.12.6+]ResourceCombinator 0.0.3

Posted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 6:26 pm
by Choumiko
updated for Factorio 0.12.11 ResourceCombinator 0.0.5
You should only upgrade from 0.0.4, since i took the opportunity to remove old migration code

Re: [MOD 0.12.11]ResourceCombinator 0.0.5

Posted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 8:35 am
by Sacredd
Please upgrade for 14.x.
Or is there any other altenative mod?

Re: [MOD 0.12.11]ResourceCombinator 0.0.5

Posted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 11:41 am
by Brathahn

Re: [MOD 0.12.11]ResourceCombinator 0.0.5

Posted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 3:03 pm
by Sacredd
Brathahn wrote:Try YARM viewtopic.php?f=92&t=16698
Does YARM have some kind of resource combinator?