[MOD 0.16] Upgrade planner

Topics and discussion about specific mods
Salty Wagyu
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 10:37 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Upgrade planner

Post by Salty Wagyu » Wed Nov 15, 2017 1:01 am

Trying to upgrade from medium electric pole to medium electric pole MK2 in bob's mod fails. Dragging over poles causes error shown in screenshot (entity to raise was not found), old poles get removed and ghosts of MK2 poles appear on the terrain
Attachments
Screenshot 2017-11-15 00.57.32.png
Screenshot 2017-11-15 00.57.32.png (2.19 MiB) Viewed 2716 times

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3621
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Upgrade planner

Post by Klonan » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:35 pm

Salty Wagyu wrote:Trying to upgrade from medium electric pole to medium electric pole MK2 in bob's mod fails. Dragging over poles causes error shown in screenshot (entity to raise was not found), old poles get removed and ghosts of MK2 poles appear on the terrain
I believe this is fixed in the next version of the mod (for 0.16)

rubensayshi
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:04 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Upgrade planner

Post by rubensayshi » Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:06 pm

automatically having it all upgraded feels so OP, wish it was possible with bots, but <3 regardless cuz it beats trying to look over all the belts and find the spots which you skipped when upgrading lol

d3x0r
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 8:56 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Upgrade planner

Post by d3x0r » Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:38 pm

rubensayshi wrote:automatically having it all upgraded feels so OP, wish it was possible with bots, but <3 regardless cuz it beats trying to look over all the belts and find the spots which you skipped when upgrading lol
It is, use shift-click-drag and it will replace via bots.

User avatar
Biker
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 10:01 pm
Contact:

BUG?

Post by Biker » Sat Nov 18, 2017 8:13 am

Hello Klonan,

Upgrading burner inserter to electric inserter causes the extra buffered fuel to not be refunded.

Thanks for mod updates, and the new GUI :)

**Tested in a new map with base, and this mod enabled only.
BEFORE upgrade planner drag: https://i.imgur.com/VQDVlOq.jpg
AFTER upgrade planner applied: https://i.imgur.com/iwoNNx8.jpg

BlackHat
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 9:45 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Upgrade planner

Post by BlackHat » Wed Nov 22, 2017 2:02 am

d3x0r wrote:
rubensayshi wrote:automatically having it all upgraded feels so OP, wish it was possible with bots, but <3 regardless cuz it beats trying to look over all the belts and find the spots which you skipped when upgrading lol
It is, use shift-click-drag and it will replace via bots.

Oh Wow, I was just coming here to also mention this. (Instant upgrade :( ) and wondering if this could be changed. I will have to try it out the next time I play.

Hmm in reading old comments, I see there was talk at one time of making a the default action (Instant or Bot) toggle-able, was this ever done?

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3621
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG?

Post by Klonan » Thu Nov 23, 2017 10:12 pm

Biker wrote:Hello Klonan,

Upgrading burner inserter to electric inserter causes the extra buffered fuel to not be refunded.

Thanks for mod updates, and the new GUI :)

**Tested in a new map with base, and this mod enabled only.
BEFORE upgrade planner drag: https://i.imgur.com/VQDVlOq.jpg
AFTER upgrade planner applied: https://i.imgur.com/iwoNNx8.jpg
Thanks for the report,

This should be fixed for the 0.16 version of the mod:

Hellrespawn
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:31 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Upgrade planner

Post by Hellrespawn » Tue Dec 19, 2017 7:00 pm

EDIT: Having done some research, it seems that raising on_player_mined_item will automatically return the "mined" stack to the player's inventory. If you then also call player.insert it will return it twice.

I don't know how often you check the mod portal discussions, so I'm posting it here too.

I was upgrading my yellow belts to red belts, and noticed that for every item replaced, I'm getting two back. I tried a few items and it includes belts, underground belts, splitters, inserters and presumably everything else. Items inside underground belts are properly returned and not duplicated. In fact, you can see it happening in that GIF you posted. You're getting two burner inserters in place of one regular inserter.

Night_Thastus
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 4:50 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Upgrade planner

Post by Night_Thastus » Thu Dec 21, 2017 2:55 pm

I'm also getting double items back in 0.16.x

What a bummer. :(

Hellrespawn
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:31 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Upgrade planner

Post by Hellrespawn » Thu Dec 21, 2017 5:44 pm

Well that was fast.

I made a quick hacky fix until Klonan has time to work on it himself. This should work for the common use cases (simply upgrading belts, inserters, etc).
Last edited by Hellrespawn on Thu Dec 21, 2017 6:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3621
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Upgrade planner

Post by Klonan » Thu Dec 21, 2017 5:49 pm

Hellrespawn wrote:EDIT: Having done some research, it seems that raising on_player_mined_item will automatically return the "mined" stack to the player's inventory. If you then also call player.insert it will return it twice.

I don't know how often you check the mod portal discussions, so I'm posting it here too.

I was upgrading my yellow belts to red belts, and noticed that for every item replaced, I'm getting two back. I tried a few items and it includes belts, underground belts, splitters, inserters and presumably everything else. Items inside underground belts are properly returned and not duplicated. In fact, you can see it happening in that GIF you posted. You're getting two burner inserters in place of one regular inserter.
Thanks for the report

Should be fixed in 1.5.1

Salty Wagyu
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 10:37 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Upgrade planner

Post by Salty Wagyu » Thu Dec 21, 2017 5:59 pm

Hi, is there a fix for this issue?

It also said "Upgrade planner error - Entity to raise was not found" after swapping (and making a mess of) my belts:
Screenshot 2017-12-21 17.51.21.png
Screenshot 2017-12-21 17.51.21.png (991.08 KiB) Viewed 2459 times
Screenshot 2017-12-21 17.51.32.png
The result after dragging across the blue belts and undergrounds.
Screenshot 2017-12-21 17.51.32.png (983.68 KiB) Viewed 2459 times
Also can the UI be moved? Its fixed to the centre of the screen since 0.16 and mod update

Igie
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 9:36 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Upgrade planner

Post by Igie » Thu Dec 21, 2017 6:38 pm

Is it possible to fast replace wood? Can't place deconstruction planner near raw wood in GUI anymore

Suggestion:
If it's not already available, replacing blueprint on the left with the one on the right on the ground

Anhalter
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 12:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Upgrade planner

Post by Anhalter » Fri Dec 22, 2017 11:01 am

ok, sorry if this might be a stupid question, but i cant seem to be getting the mod to work in an existing game.
Do i have to start a new game or am i missing something?

Thanks in advance!

d3x0r
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 8:56 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Upgrade planner

Post by d3x0r » Wed Dec 27, 2017 12:08 pm

script.raise_event(defines.events.on_built_entity,{player_index = player.index, created_entity = new_item})


When the event is raised it doesn't have stack= This causes other mods to crash that are expecting a stack.

http://lua-api.factorio.com/0.16.7/even ... ilt_entity

created_entity :: LuaEntity
player_index :: uint
stack :: LuaItemStack

fred4106
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:30 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Upgrade planner

Post by fred4106 » Fri Dec 29, 2017 4:47 am

Hey, just finished a pull request that changes behavior on the upgrade blueprint button. The change lets it distinguish the difference between a blueprint and a blueprint book. In the case of a blueprint book, it will now cycle through and upgrade all blueprints contained in the blueprint book. Anyone who wants to try this version now can get a release here.

Also, I would recommend updating your mod portal page so it knows about your GitHub repo. This would let the mod portal display an additional tab "source" that leads to your repo.

wacs828
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 10:36 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Upgrade planner

Post by wacs828 » Sun Jan 07, 2018 1:44 pm

Salty Wagyu wrote:Also can the UI be moved? Its fixed to the centre of the screen since 0.16 and mod update
I am having the same issue as well, it seems the UI stays in the middle of the screen now.

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3621
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Upgrade planner

Post by Klonan » Sun Jan 07, 2018 3:39 pm

Salty Wagyu wrote:Hi, is there a fix for this issue?

It also said "Upgrade planner error - Entity to raise was not found" after swapping (and making a mess of) my belts:
Screenshot 2017-12-21 17.51.21.png
Screenshot 2017-12-21 17.51.32.png
Also can the UI be moved? Its fixed to the centre of the screen since 0.16 and mod update
Can you provide a save game?

I tried to reproduce the problem, but it all worked fine for me
fred4106 wrote:Hey, just finished a pull request that changes behavior on the upgrade blueprint button. The change lets it distinguish the difference between a blueprint and a blueprint book. In the case of a blueprint book, it will now cycle through and upgrade all blueprints contained in the blueprint book. Anyone who wants to try this version now can get a release here.

Also, I would recommend updating your mod portal page so it knows about your GitHub repo. This would let the mod portal display an additional tab "source" that leads to your repo.
I added the blueprint book functionality in a different way, thanks for the suggestion and the PR
d3x0r wrote:script.raise_event(defines.events.on_built_entity,{player_index = player.index, created_entity = new_item})


When the event is raised it doesn't have stack= This causes other mods to crash that are expecting a stack.

http://lua-api.factorio.com/0.16.7/even ... ilt_entity

created_entity :: LuaEntity
player_index :: uint
stack :: LuaItemStack
Mods should be checking that event data they want to use is valid,
But in any case, I have added the stack to the raised event, thanks for the report

d3x0r
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 8:56 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.15] Upgrade planner

Post by d3x0r » Sun Jan 07, 2018 4:26 pm

Klonan wrote:Mods should be checking that event data they want to use is valid,
But in any case, I have added the stack to the raised event, thanks for the report
Yes :) they should, and do now... was just reporting the potential issue :)
And thanx. Although the other item information was sufficient in my case.

wvlad
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 215
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:55 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Upgrade planner

Post by wvlad » Tue Feb 13, 2018 8:53 pm

Hi, thanks for the mod. Can you make an option for normal mode to work only inside player reach range and all entities outside upgrade using robots?

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Nedreow