[MOD 0.12.x] Roadworks 3.0 - Bridges!

Topics and discussion about specific mods
Rahjital
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 435
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 10:44 am
Contact:

[MOD 0.12.x] Roadworks 3.0 - Bridges!

Post by Rahjital »

Image

Name: RoadWorks
Description: Expands vehicle use through additional features.
Licence: LGPL
Version: 3.0.0
Last Release: 2-8-2015
Tested With Factorio: 0.12.2
Dependencies: Factorio 0.12.2
Tags: Roads, Bridges, Vehicles, Enhancement
Download Link: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/547 ... _3.0.0.zip
Licence
Summary
Added features
Images
Known issues
Changelog
Credits
Last edited by ssilk on Sat Aug 22, 2015 10:02 am, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: Changed title to match board rules http://www.factorioforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=89&t=947

Rahjital
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 435
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 10:44 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] Roadworks 3.0

Post by Rahjital »

So far the only feature the mod adds is bridges, no other features from previous versions of the game are in. This will eventually change, but I wanted to release the mod sooner due to how popular bridges are.

Also, interest check: Would anyone want me to reintroduce the old "limestone -> quicklime -> concrete" way of producing concrete? This would be an addon separate from the main mod, so that nobody is forced to change their production lines.

User avatar
berni1212
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:52 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] Roadworks 3.0

Post by berni1212 »

Yes More floors are good like Wood and stone and something like that
Sorry for my bad English ! i will not remove it !
WIP Test MODS
RailTanker [MP WIP]

User avatar
hitzu
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 530
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 5:55 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] Roadworks 3.0 - Bridges!

Post by hitzu »

Yay!
Awesome news. Thank you, Rahjital.

User avatar
cpy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 812
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:34 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] Roadworks 3.0 - Bridges!

Post by cpy »

I ported old roadworks script for faster speed when using fuel if you're interested. I cut all old code that was used for laying path. Might not be the best code ever, but it works and uses low CPU time.

User avatar
Xterminator
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 980
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 4:49 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] Roadworks 3.0 - Bridges!

Post by Xterminator »

On man this is awesome! I can now build a bridge across lakes and out a train on top of it. :D Will be so epic!

Not sure if this is possible, but what would be really cool is to have the bridge have guard rails when going over water, for visual effect and so you don't drive right off it. :D Would really love this.

Great work!
Image Image Image

Rahjital
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 435
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 10:44 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] Roadworks 3.0 - Bridges!

Post by Rahjital »

berni1212 wrote:Yes More floors are good like Wood and stone and something like that
I'll only add something if it actually serves a purpose in the game. I plan to reintroduce asphalt roads, but other than that I'm not sure if I'll add any more floors. Right now the focus is on bridges.
hitzu wrote:Yay!
Awesome news. Thank you, Rahjital.
And thank you for the bridge graphics! Without that, there would be no bridges, and most likely no Roadworks :)
cpy wrote:I ported old roadworks script for faster speed when using fuel if you're interested. I cut all old code that was used for laying path. Might not be the best code ever, but it works and uses low CPU time.
Thanks for the offer! I think I'll rewrite the script from scratch, though, since there's some additional car features I want to add and they would conflict with this script.
Xterminator wrote:On man this is awesome! I can now build a bridge across lakes and out a train on top of it. :D Will be so epic!

Not sure if this is possible, but what would be really cool is to have the bridge have guard rails when going over water, for visual effect and so you don't drive right off it. :D Would really love this.

Great work!
Thanks! Sadly rail bridges aren't quite in yet, but I'm working on them at the moment and they'll be in the next release, along with power pole bridges.

Yes, it would be possible, but I would need the graphics for it first. The current bridge graphics were made by Hitzu, not me, so you would have to ask him for it.

AlexTheNotsogreat
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x] Roadworks 3.0 - Bridges!

Post by AlexTheNotsogreat »

Seeing you have plans on asphalt, here is what I'm thinking for it.

Tar: A new "puddle" resource like oil, but pure black, and maybe make oil lighter in color to distinguish more.
Or just make it use oil, I guess...
10x Asphalt: Made with 5 concrete, 5 tar, and 2 stone, movement speed is 180%
Produces small amounts of pollution (Black coloring generates heat), but adds up quickly.

Hope this is good ;)

Rahjital
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 435
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 10:44 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Roadworks 3.0 - Bridges!

Post by Rahjital »

I want to keep the mod as vanilla-compatible as possible, so I don't think adding new resources will happen. Asphalt will most likely be made out of heavy oil, stone, and possibly sulfur. Making it generate pollution is a very interesting idea, though, I'll have to look at it further to see if it's possible to do.

Wyrm
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 3:56 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Roadworks 3.0 - Bridges!

Post by Wyrm »

Tar can have many sources. It can be made from petroleum, wood, or coal. All three of these are already available in the vanilla game.

Rahjital
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 435
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 10:44 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Roadworks 3.0 - Bridges!

Post by Rahjital »

Then I can just skip the step and have it made directly from oil ;)

Pippaf1
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 11:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Roadworks 3.0 - Bridges!

Post by Pippaf1 »

I have used this mod and it is great and a rail bridge would be nice but I would like to see a bridge that will take a conveyer belt. That would be exceedingly useful. Thank you for the fine work please keep it up.
Philippa
Transport Belt Repair Engineer

Watch what you wish for. You may just get it.

User avatar
jockeril
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 348
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 11:04 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Roadworks 3.0 - Bridges!

Post by jockeril »

Pippaf1 wrote:I have used this mod and it is great and a rail bridge would be nice but I would like to see a bridge that will take a conveyer belt. That would be exceedingly useful. Thank you for the fine work please keep it up.
a rail bridge would be nice, I agree. But putting other stuff - there's a landfill mod that lets you put ground tiles on water, and what you put on that is everything...

I think bridges shouldn't allow putting anything on them (other than what goes on roads & bridges in RL) - I also tried putting belts on them the first time I used the mod and thought it should be like that, but now that I've read your post, I thought a) there's already a mod for that & b) what's next, Maybe lamps for night-light and poles to power them ? chests ? assembly machines ? furnaces ? NO N-O NO. go to landfill mod - that's what it's for !
[request] RTL support please

My mods

Formally Hebrew translator for FARL & EvoGUI mods

join me on
- Twitter[@jockeril],
- Twitch.tv/jockeril,
- Youtube/jocker-il (or JoCKeR-iL)
- and steam !
Image

Zeeth_Kyrah
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Roadworks 3.0 - Bridges!

Post by Zeeth_Kyrah »

Honestly, I'd have the rail bridge be a second placeable structure. No transport belts, no machines, merely a foot/vehicle bridge and a rail bridge (combine a straight rail with a bridge tile). Anything else is unnecessary. I don't want to add yet another mod like Landfill no matter how good it is, I want to use THIS one. Real-world ridges have lamps, footpaths, streets, and rail track on them, and I'm only asking for one of those. Without rail or transport belts, there are only two ways to transport materials across the bridge: carry them across (which is nice but unreliable and extra work for the player in a game about AUTOMATION), or use a swarm of logistics robots. Why do I want 100 robots doing the work of 1 locomotive and 3 wagons?
Planned projects: Energy Crystals Plus, Minor Fluid Handling, Small electric furnaces
(high-energy materials and assembler, fluid void burner and small tank, tiny and slow furnaces with charcoal)

User avatar
jockeril
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 348
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 11:04 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Roadworks 3.0 - Bridges!

Post by jockeril »

I've just remembered another thing - There's a rail bridge mod !
[request] RTL support please

My mods

Formally Hebrew translator for FARL & EvoGUI mods

join me on
- Twitter[@jockeril],
- Twitch.tv/jockeril,
- Youtube/jocker-il (or JoCKeR-iL)
- and steam !
Image

Zeeth_Kyrah
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Roadworks 3.0 - Bridges!

Post by Zeeth_Kyrah »

jockeril wrote:I've just remembered another thing - There's a rail bridge mod !
That's awesome! Does it work on 0.12? Can I have two mods in one?
Planned projects: Energy Crystals Plus, Minor Fluid Handling, Small electric furnaces
(high-energy materials and assembler, fluid void burner and small tank, tiny and slow furnaces with charcoal)

User avatar
jockeril
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 348
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 11:04 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Roadworks 3.0 - Bridges!

Post by jockeril »

Zeeth_Kyrah wrote:
jockeril wrote:I've just remembered another thing - There's a rail bridge mod !
That's awesome! Does it work on 0.12? Can I have two mods in one?
Yes it works in 0.12 - it's just the addition of two items (with the ability to place over water) & one research, and yes - you can have both :)
[request] RTL support please

My mods

Formally Hebrew translator for FARL & EvoGUI mods

join me on
- Twitter[@jockeril],
- Twitch.tv/jockeril,
- Youtube/jocker-il (or JoCKeR-iL)
- and steam !
Image

kinnom
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 704
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 4:20 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Roadworks 3.0 - Bridges!

Post by kinnom »

can you update this to 0.12.11+
no yes yes no yes no yes yes

gmyx
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 1:39 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Roadworks 3.0 - Bridges!

Post by gmyx »

kinnom wrote:can you update this to 0.12.11+
Here you are: A working 0.12.21 version!

Unofficial v3.0.1
https://www.dropbox.com/s/bd76egh6vnk2e ... 1.zip?dl=0

Fix for 0.12.11+ compatibility.

User avatar
UntouchedWagons
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 6:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Roadworks 3.0 - Bridges!

Post by UntouchedWagons »

I wish I could place rails on these.

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”