[MOD 0.12.x] Science Overhaul Mod A.K.A Science Cost Tweaker

Topics and discussion about specific mods
Post Reply
UberWaffe
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 4:53 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Science Overhaul Mod A.K.A Science Cost Tweaker

Post by UberWaffe »

@OvermindDL1:
Good to hear!
I'd appreciate feedback at whatever point it is available. ;)

User avatar
SoulForge
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 6:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Science Overhaul Mod A.K.A Science Cost Tweaker

Post by SoulForge »

EDIT; Disregard. I fixed it.

OvermindDL1
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 6:12 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Science Overhaul Mod A.K.A Science Cost Tweaker

Post by OvermindDL1 »

UberWaffe wrote:@OvermindDL1:
Good to hear!
I'd appreciate feedback at whatever point it is available. ;)
No graphics yet for the dark blue science intermediates just to make sure?

UberWaffe
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 4:53 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Science Overhaul Mod A.K.A Science Cost Tweaker

Post by UberWaffe »

Nope, sorry.
Real life is currently slowing progress on the graphics quite severely.

ArchJudge
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2016 8:56 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Science Overhaul Mod A.K.A Science Cost Tweaker

Post by ArchJudge »

Just wanted to say that the name and description for the new science packs are enjoyable to read and an overall nice touch
I love the smell of concrete paving robots in the morning .... it smells like Factorio

OvermindDL1
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 6:12 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Science Overhaul Mod A.K.A Science Cost Tweaker

Post by OvermindDL1 »

UberWaffe wrote:Nope, sorry.
Real life is currently slowing progress on the graphics quite severely.
All good, just making sure I did not grab the git module wrong and you were using LFS for files or something. :-)
ArchJudge wrote:Just wanted to say that the name and description for the new science packs are enjoyable to read and an overall nice touch
Hehe, yes they are. ^.^

NoriSilverrage
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 1:19 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Science Overhaul Mod A.K.A Science Cost Tweaker

Post by NoriSilverrage »

Regarding the productivity limitations.
If you add a soft Bob library dependency you can add this:

Code: Select all

local resources = {
    "sct-t1-ironcore",
    "sct-t1-magnet-coils",
    "sct-t2-reaction-nodes",
    "sct-t2-instruments",
    "sct-t2-microcircuits",
    "sct-t2-micro-wafer",
    "sct-t2-wafer-stamp",
    "sct-t3-flash-fuel",
    "sct-t3-laser-foci",
    "sct-t3-laser-emitter",
    "sct-t3-femto-lasers",
    "sct-t3-atomic-sensors",
    "sct-t4-bioprocessor",
    "sct-t4-overclocker"
}
if bobmods.lib.add_productivity_limitations then
  bobmods.lib.add_productivity_limitations(resources)
end

User avatar
withers
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:54 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Science Overhaul Mod A.K.A Science Cost Tweaker

Post by withers »

Oh Mr Uberwaffe, will this be updated to work on .13?

hoho
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 675
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 11:23 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Science Overhaul Mod A.K.A Science Cost Tweaker

Post by hoho »

It already is. It' s on mod portal

User avatar
Xterminator
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 980
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 4:49 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Science Overhaul Mod A.K.A Science Cost Tweaker

Post by Xterminator »

I just updated on the mod portal but I get an error when I try to load up my save game from 0.12 that had this mod.

Here is the error:
Error while applying migration: ScienceCostTweaker Mod: ScienceCostTweaker_0.12.14.lua

Cannot execute command. Error: [string "for index, force in pairs(game.forces) do
..."]:5: attempt to index field 'advanced-research' (a nil value)

Anyone know what would cause this or how to possibly fix it? :) Thanks!
Image Image Image

UberWaffe
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 4:53 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Science Overhaul Mod A.K.A Science Cost Tweaker

Post by UberWaffe »

@Xterminator: Sorry about that. Should be fixed in the new version 0.13.1
Check the mod portal / ingame mod update to get the new version.

User avatar
Ranakastrasz
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2102
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:05 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Science Overhaul Mod A.K.A Science Cost Tweaker

Post by Ranakastrasz »

8.667 Error Util.cpp:57: Failed to load mod "ScienceCostTweaker 0.13.1"
__ScienceCostTweaker__/data-updates.lua:2: __ScienceCostTweaker__/tweaks/productivity-limitations.lua:46: attempt to index field 'lib' (a nil value)
My Mods:
Modular Armor Revamp - V16
Large Chests - V16
Agent Orange - V16
Flare - V16
Easy Refineries - V16

UberWaffe
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 4:53 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Science Overhaul Mod A.K.A Science Cost Tweaker

Post by UberWaffe »

@Ranakastrasz:
Seems I did not cater for the case where bobsmods is installed but bob's library is not.
Should be fixed in version 0.13.2

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3845
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Science Overhaul Mod A.K.A Science Cost Tweaker

Post by orzelek »

UberWaffe wrote:@Ranakastrasz:
Seems I did not cater for the case where bobsmods is installed but bob's library is not.
Should be fixed in version 0.13.2
But... bobmods requires the library and none of them work without it afaik?

User avatar
Ranakastrasz
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2102
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:05 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Science Overhaul Mod A.K.A Science Cost Tweaker

Post by Ranakastrasz »

UberWaffe wrote:@Ranakastrasz:
Seems I did not cater for the case where bobsmods is installed but bob's library is not.
Should be fixed in version 0.13.2
Did not use bobs mod
My Mods:
Modular Armor Revamp - V16
Large Chests - V16
Agent Orange - V16
Flare - V16
Easy Refineries - V16

aklesey1
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1838
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Science Overhaul Mod A.K.A Science Cost Tweaker

Post by aklesey1 »

Funny mod
Author will u update graphics for science pack 3 components?
Nickname on ModPortal - Naron79

UberWaffe
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 4:53 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Science Overhaul Mod A.K.A Science Cost Tweaker

Post by UberWaffe »

aklesey1 wrote:Funny mod
Author will u update graphics for science pack 3 components?
Do you mean the dark blue science packs from Bob's mods?

To be honest, I'm not really an artist, and I don't know what to make them.
So far all my 'graphics' is just bits and pieces of other graphics copied and pasted together.

Some help would be appreciated, even if it is only ideas as to what they should look like.

And yes, I am also being lazy on this. :oops:
I've been distracted with other games lately. (Notably Stellaris. Sidenote: Stellaris needs some tlc from the developer before I'd recommend buying it.)

Aubog007
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 6:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Science Overhaul Mod A.K.A Science Cost Tweaker

Post by Aubog007 »

Any chance for these to be updated to .14?

UberWaffe
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 4:53 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Science Overhaul Mod A.K.A Science Cost Tweaker

Post by UberWaffe »

I'm not sure how the mod portal handles versions for .13 and .14 both being uploaded.
So I planned on waiting until .14 is stable.

I'll take a look tomorrow if the mod portal handles the two versions correctly. If it does, I'll do a new version upload.

EDIT: It appears the mod portal cannot support two major game versions at once. viewtopic.php?f=189&t=31679
I.e. if I upload the mod for 0.14 everyone with the 0.13 version will break.

I should have some time tonight to create a 0.14 version and upload that as a zip in this thread, but the mod portal I'm going to leave as the 0.13 version until the 0.14 version is stable.

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3845
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.12.x] Science Overhaul Mod A.K.A Science Cost Tweaker

Post by orzelek »

Devs are fixing that game can't handle two mod versions in updater - portal can do it without problems.

And game had issues only when there were no dependencies at all I think - it worked correctly in other cases basing version on factorio_version from json file.
Only issue is figuring out how to version mod itself :D

Btw. Changing factorio_version seems to be enough to get the mod working again.

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”