Page 4 of 5

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] endless resources

Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2016 10:02 pm
by khift
zampa wrote:Hey guys, I just started using endless resources in a marathon game, figured it'd be fun to play through, but I just now noticed that the yield actually drops the longer you mine a specific patch, can I change it to somehow always have stardard yield (like a normal game) but JUST endless quantity... I spend a good amount of hours in this marathon game and it would suck to have to find new patches far away from my base...

Edit: I tried setting " data.raw.resource[k].minimum" to all kind of values between 10 and 10,000 (highest yield seem to be the lower number i go to (e.g. 10), but still fields seem to drop to a lower and lower yield rate. I just want to get 1 resource every cycle :/


So tl:dr:
Can I keep the yield the same, and just have limitless resources?
This is all I want as well. Mix this with rare, small desposits and you've got my ideal game.

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] endless resources

Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2016 10:55 pm
by SirRichie
If you want to prevent yield from dropping below 0, set minimum and normal to the same number.
If you already started a game, a safe number is 10.

[deleted]

Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 12:50 am
by SuperRoboWizard
[deleted]

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] endless resources

Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 2:23 am
by MasterBuilder
SuperRoboWizard wrote:Is there any way to set ores to a silly number like 1 million amount instead of making them like oil?
Something like this:

Code: Select all

for k, v in pairs(data.raw.resource) do
   data.raw.resource[k].minimum  = 1000000
   data.raw.resource[k].normal   = 1000000
end
Just beware that your oil wells will be ridiculously rich. Like 1000000% rich.

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] endless resources

Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 8:31 am
by SirRichie
MasterBuilder wrote:
SuperRoboWizard wrote:Is there any way to set ores to a silly number like 1 million amount instead of making them like oil?
Something like this:

Code: Select all

for k, v in pairs(data.raw.resource) do
   data.raw.resource[k].minimum  = 1000000
   data.raw.resource[k].normal   = 1000000
end
Just beware that your oil wells will be ridiculously rich. Like 1000000% rich.
You can exclude oil from this by checking for it (untested):

Code: Select all

for k, v in pairs(data.raw.resource) do
   if v.type == "solid" then
      data.raw.resource[k].minimum  = 1000000
      data.raw.resource[k].normal   = 1000000
   end
end

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] endless resources

Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 4:24 pm
by daniel34
The folder inside the zip is named endless-resources and not endless-resources_0.3.0, so people trying to extract it to use it will get an error:

Filename of the mod
C:/users/owner/appdata/roaming/factorio/mods/endless-resources
Doesn't match the expected endless-resources_0.3.0 (case sensitive)

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] endless resources

Posted: Sat Mar 19, 2016 3:54 pm
by Siegercz
Hey guys.
Isnt there a way to just set the ores values to be still ?

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] endless resources

Posted: Sat Mar 19, 2016 6:53 pm
by SirRichie
Here is how it works:

Ore generation is independent of the minimum and normal values.
If a miner mines the ore, the mined resource tile will have its amount reduced by 1.

If, however, the resource is set to infinite, then the amount will never drop below the minimum value.
Infinite resources have a yield value, which is basically a chance that mining (or drilling, in case of oil) the resource is successful. This yield percentage is calculated by comparing the actual amount (which you do not see directly) to the normal value of the resource.

For example:
Set iron-ore to minimum 100 and normal 500. Say the only resource tile under a miner has an amount of 1000.
Now the miner will output one iron ore each mining cycle until it has mined 500 iron ore. At this point, the yield value will slowly. E.g., after another 250 iron ores, the resource tile has an amount of 250, which means yield is 250 / 500 = 50%.
The yield keeps dropping for the next 150 ores, and has then reached 100, resulting in 100 / 500 = 20% yield. It will now stay at this value.

Note that when a miner has access to multiple resource tiles (as it is usually the case) it decides for a tile, BEFORE testing the yield. Thus, a miner with only one resource tile with yield 100% will output more ore than a miner with 2 resource tiles (one at 200% the other at 50%). At least until the first miner's yield drops below 100% ;)

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] endless resources

Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2016 4:47 pm
by Karones
SirRichie wrote:Set iron-ore to minimum 100 and normal 500. Say the only resource tile under a miner has an amount of 1000.
Now the miner will output one iron ore each mining cycle until it has mined 500 iron ore. At this point, the yield value will slowly. E.g., after another 250 iron ores, the resource tile has an amount of 250, which means yield is 250 / 500 = 50%.
The yield keeps dropping for the next 150 ores, and has then reached 100, resulting in 100 / 500 = 20% yield. It will now stay at this value.
So to make it have a 100% yield forever, you just have to set the minimum equal or above the normal?

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] endless resources

Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2016 5:00 pm
by orzelek
Minimum and normal set to same value is 100%.
If you use some low value (10 for both) then initial amounts will be in high %-ages, if you use big ones(1000) then most of initial values might be below 100% on spawn.

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] endless resources

Posted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 5:46 pm
by sibe94
This is my first try to mod something in factorio and im not sure what i do wrong:

I dont want to set resources to infinity, i tried to set everything to a high amount. I added this:

Code: Select all

for k, v in pairs(data.raw.resource) do
   data.raw.resource[k].minimum  = 1000000
   data.raw.resource[k].normal   = 1000000
   data.raw.resource[k].amount   = 1000000
end
But when i reload my game all amounts are still on their old number. What am i doing wrong?

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] endless resources

Posted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 5:48 pm
by orzelek
To make resource effectively endless you'd need to take above mod and change it to have normal and minimum amount for resource to same small amount like 10/10.
Already spawned resources have their amount set so they won't increase. There is no amount property in prototype.

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] endless resources

Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 5:58 pm
by NumbpaD
Can you please do this mod work bith bob's mod ore?

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] endless resources

Posted: Sun Apr 24, 2016 8:00 pm
by seanfc
Hello,

May i ask what's assign for the Variable K and V, I just wan't to understand what it's holding

K = ? (IS IT ORE)
V = ? (IS IT OIL)

for k, v in pairs(data.raw.resource)
do

data.raw.resource[k].infinite = true

data.raw.resource[k].minimum = 100

data.raw.resource[k].normal = 500


end



Many Thank's

Best Regard's
Lee Wi Tat
Malaysian Gamer

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] endless resources

Posted: Sun Apr 24, 2016 9:12 pm
by seanfc
hello,

I have change the Syntax (Program Grammar) hope it help, but I still can't understand the K, V Variable what's it assign for.

for k, v in pairs(data.raw.resource) do
v.infinite = true
v.minimum = 175
v.normal = 350
end

Many Thank's

Best Regard's
Lee Wi Tat
Malaysian Gamer

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] endless resources

Posted: Mon Apr 25, 2016 11:30 am
by TheOnlyJacky
When ever i try to launch the game after installing this it wont work. Please help :shock:

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] endless resources

Posted: Tue Apr 26, 2016 5:15 pm
by seanfc
for windows 7 the folder is in C:\Users\user\AppData\Roaming look for the name Factorio folder then open it put the endless-resources zip file into the mod folder it will run. hope it help


make sure you download the endless-resource zip file.

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] endless resources

Posted: Tue May 03, 2016 9:04 am
by Xorpherion
Hello!
I just stumbled upon the problem, that the endless resources mod doesn't work with the 5dim mod ores out of the box. The problem is the loading order. I solved this by adding a dependency to "5dim_ores" in the info.json of the endless mod resource. Additionally i changed the name of the data.lua to data-final-fixes.lua.
The dependency change makes sure the endless resources mod is loaded after the 5dim ores mod. The file name change from data.lua to data-final-fixes.lua is needed because the 5dim ores mod loads its ores in the data-update.lua file which is executed after all data.lua files. Thus i used the data-final-fixes.lua filename to make sure the endless resources mod is loaded last :-) Hope this helps someone. Good luck and happy automation!

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] endless resources

Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 11:53 am
by Ubertwink
I am trying to update this mod to 0.13, but I can't find the place where the required game version is specified. Changing the dependancies to 0.13 does not help.
Image

Re: [MOD 0.12.0] endless resources

Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 12:03 pm
by Ubertwink
Nvm, here is the updated mod:
endless-resources_0.3.1.zip
(794 Bytes) Downloaded 776 times
Topic may be moved to 0.13 mods.